B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-102925

B-17 #42-102925zoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

MACR: 6517

Missions: 57

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-102925

Delivered Cheyenne 18/4/44; Hunter 2/5/44; Dow Fd 17/5/44; Assigned 347BS/99BG Tortorella 20/5/44; battle damaged {57m} Ploesti 9/7/44 with Fred Henry (Returned to Duty), Roberts, Fox, Johannaber, Salter, Scarborough, Triplett (348th), six bailed out; #3 engine on fire, but Henry, Peddycord, Wilkins, Meisel put it out and fly home; Salvaged 23/9/44; from repair 4/10/44, crashed on take off 9/12/44 and destoyed.

Last updated: 12. July 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-102925 Details

Photo: Ford J Lauer III via Facebook

Statements from MACR 6517

I was pilot of B-17G #102925 on 9 July 1944. We were 60 miles over the Danube river on the way to Ploesti, Rumania. The first indication of anything wrong was when someone called “Gas, no smoking.” The co-pilot was flying and was on command. Smoke started coming up from the floor and at the same time the co-pilot pointed to the feathering buttons. I didn’t know what was wrong nor which engine was causing the trouble if any and so delayed feathering. The co-pilot grabbed his escape kit, pushed the mixture on No. 3 off, put on his chute and left. I leaned over and saw it was No. 3 on fire. I feathered it, cut off the fuel shut-off and booster pumps and was about to prepare to get out after calling on interphone and getting no answer.

I thought the engineer and myself were the only ones left. At that time Sgt. Wilkins, the engineer, said to hold it. He beat the floorboards out and put out the fire there with an extinguisher. At that time I saw Lt. Peddycord, the navigator, in the dome. He hadn’t answered because he had become entangled in his cords trying to reach the fire with an extinguisher. Sgt. Meisel, the radio operator, appeared in the cockpit from the radio room. He had been on the way forward and hadn’t heard my call. With the fire out, Sgt. Wilkins took the place as co-pilot, Sgt. Meisel took the top turret and Lt. Peddycord gave us a heading back, though hindered because of missing maps. Within sight of the coast at 10000 feet, we ran into flak which we couldn’t seem to get out of. An oil line was out on the dead No. 3 engine. The rest of the trip was uneventful.

Frederick H. Henry
1Lt. Air Corps


I was aerial Engineer on B-17G #102925 on 9 July 1944. We were flying No. 4 position of the Squadron formation. We were probably 30 minutes from the target when I smelled gasoline fumes and at that time I heard the Navigator say “No smoking.” I saw smoke, then flames spurt from No. 3 engine. I shouted “No. 3 on fire.” and I guess the boys bailed out instantly. I thought the pilot, Lt. Frederick H. Henry, and I were the only ones left. Smoke was so thick in the cockpit I could not see the pilot. I had begged the boys to stay, but they did not hear me. The fire in the wing lasted about 10 minutes. Then we had a fire in the cockpit. I then saw that our Navigator, Lt. E. A. Peddycord, and Radio Operator S/Sgt. F. N. Meisel were still with us. I started fighting the fire in the cockpit and finally put it out in about 15 minutes. Everything went nicely from then on. I took the Co-Pilot’s place, switching off flying with Lt. Henry. Flying over Yugoslaviam we encountered flak for about 20 minutes. It was accurate, but we get only a few holes.

T/Sgt. Homer J. Wilkins


I was flying as first radio operator on B-17G #102925 on 9 July 1944. We were about one-half hour from the target which was Ploesti, Rumania, when the camera-man came running past me with his parachute one and went out the waist door. I wasn’t on interphone at the time and I didn’t know what was going on.

Meanwhile, the two waist gunners, the ball turret gunner, the tail gunner, co-pilot and bombardier also bailed out of the plane. I ran up to the cockpit to see if I could be of any help. It was then that I learned that our No. 3 engine had caught fire. The pilot thought I had bailed out, but when he saw me he hold me to man the top-turret in case we were attacked by fighters. I did this and coming back over Yugoslavia we ran into a lot of flak, but our pilot, Lt. F. H. Henry, used some excellent evasive action and we dodged it. We came on across the ocean, finally landing at our home base.

S/Sgt. Frederick N. Meisel

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-102925 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Frederick H. Henry RTD
CP 2LT Lloyd C. Roberts POW
BOMB 2LT Irving H. Fox POW
ENG/TT T/SGT Homer J. Wilkins RTD
RO S/SGT Frederick N. Meisel RTD
BT S/SGT Frank R. Salter POW
WG S/SGT Harlan H. Johannaber POW
WG S/SGT Bryan A. Scarborough POW
TG S/SGT Edwin M. Braswell POW
PHOTO SGT Thomas L. Triplett POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-102925

B-17 #42-102925zoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

MACR: 6517

Einsätze: 57

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-102925

Delivered Cheyenne 18/4/44; Hunter 2/5/44; Dow Fd 17/5/44; Assigned 347BS/99BG Tortorella 20/5/44; battle damaged {57m} Ploesti 9/7/44 with Fred Henry (Returned to Duty), Roberts, Fox, Johannaber, Salter, Scarborough, Triplett (348th), six bailed out; #3 engine on fire, but Henry, Peddycord, Wilkins, Meisel put it out and fly home; Salvaged 23/9/44; from repair 4/10/44, crashed on take off 9/12/44 and destoyed.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-102925 Details

Foto: Ford J Lauer III via Facebook

Berichte aus dem MACR 6517

Am 9. Juli 1944 war ich Pilot der B-17G #102925. Wir waren 60 Meilen über die Donau auf dem Weg nach Ploesti, Rumänien. Das erste Anzeichen für einen Fehler war, als jemand „Treibstoff, kein Rauch“ rief. Der Co-Pilot flog und hatte das Kommando. Rauch stieg vom Boden auf, und gleichzeitig zeigte der Co-Pilot auf die Knöpfe für Segelstellung der Propeller. Ich wusste nicht, was falsch war und welcher Motor, wenn überhaupt, die Probleme verursachte, und verzögerte so die Segelstellung. Der Co-Pilot schnappte sich sein Notfallkit, schaltete das Gemisch an Triebwerk Nr. 3 ab, legte seinen Fallschirm an und ging. Ich beugte mich vor und sah, dass Nr. 3 in Flammen stand. Ich brachte es in Segelstellung, schnitt die Treibstoffzufuhr und die Zusatzpumpen ab und wollte mich gerade auf das Aussteigen vorbereiten, nachdem ich über die Sprechanlage angerufen hatte und keine Antwort erhielt.

Ich dachte, der Ingenieur und ich seien die einzigen, die noch übrig waren. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt sagte Sgt. Wilkins, der Ingenieur, ich solle warten. Er schlug die Bodenbretter aus und löschte das Feuer dort mit einem Feuerlöscher. Zu dieser Zeit sah ich Lt. Peddycord, den Navigator, in der Kuppel. Er hatte nicht geantwortet, weil er sich in seinen Seilen verfangen hatte, als er versuchte, das Feuer mit einem Feuerlöscher zu erreichen. Sgt. Meisel, der Funker, erschien aus dem Funkraum im Cockpit. Er war auf dem Weg nach vorne gewesen und hatte meinen Ruf nicht gehört. Nachdem das Feuer gelöscht war, nahm Sgt. Wilkins den Platz als Co-Pilot ein, Sgt. Meisel nahm den obersten Geschützturm ein, und Lt. Peddycord gab uns den Rückweg frei, obwohl wir wegen fehlender Karten daran gehindert wurden. In Sichtweite der Küste auf 10000 Fuß trafen wir auf eine Flak, der wir nicht mehr zu entkommen schienen. Am abgeschalteten Triebwerk Nr. 3 war eine Ölleitung defekt. Der Rest der Reise verlief ereignislos.

Frederick H. Henry
1LT. Air Corps


Ich war am 9. Juli 1944 Luftfahrtingenieur auf der B-17G #102925. Wir flogen die Position Nr. 4 der Geschwaderformation. Wir waren wahrscheinlich 30 Minuten vom Ziel entfernt, als ich Benzindämpfe roch und zu dieser Zeit hörte ich den Navigator sagen: „Nicht rauchen“. Ich sah Rauch, dann schossen Flammen aus dem Motor Nr. 3. Ich rief „Nr. 3 brennt“, und die Jungs sprangen wohl sofort ab. Ich dachte, der Pilot, Leutnant Frederick H. Henry, und ich wären die einzigen Überlebenden. Der Rauch im Cockpit war so dicht, dass ich den Piloten nicht sehen konnte. Ich hatte die Jungs angefleht, zu bleiben, aber sie hörten mich nicht. Das Feuer im Flügel dauerte etwa 10 Minuten. Dann hatten wir ein Feuer im Cockpit. Dann sah ich, dass unser Navigator, Lt. E. A. Peddycord, und der Funker S/Sgt. F. N. Meisel immer noch bei uns waren. Ich begann mit der Brandbekämpfung im Cockpit und löschte den Brand schliesslich nach etwa 15 Minuten. Von da an lief alles gut. Ich nahm den Platz des Co-Piloten ein und schaltete den Flug mit Lt. Henry ab. Beim Flug über Jugoslawien trafen wir etwa 20 Minuten lang auf Flakfeuer. Es war genau, aber wir bekamen nur ein paar Löcher.

T/Sgt. Homer J. Wilkins


Ich flog am 9. Juli 1944 als erster Funker auf der B-17G #102925. Wir waren etwa eine halbe Stunde vom Ziel Ploesti, Rumänien, entfernt, als der Kameramann mit seinem Fallschirm an mir vorbeirannte und durch die Hüfttür hinausging. Ich war zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht am Interphone, und ich wusste nicht, was vor sich ging.

Währenddessen sprangen auch die beiden Rumpfschützen, der Kugelturmschütze, der Heckschütze, der Co-Pilot und der Bombenschütze aus dem Flugzeug. Ich rannte zum Cockpit, um zu sehen, ob ich behilflich sein konnte. Da erfuhr ich, dass unser Triebwerk Nr. 3 Feuer gefangen hatte. Der Pilot dachte, ich sei abgesprungen, aber als er mich sah, sagte er mir, ich solle den obersten Geschützturm zu bemannen, falls wir von Jagdflugzeugen angegriffen würden. Ich tat dies, und als wir über Jugoslawien zurückkamen, trafen wir auf eine Menge Flak, aber unser Pilot, Lt. F. H. Henry, wandte ein ausgezeichnetes Ausweichmanöver an, und wir wichen ihm aus. Wir überquerten den Ozean und landeten schließlich auf unserer Heimatbasis.

S/Sgt. Frederick N. Meisel

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-102925 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Frederick H. Henry RTD
CP 2LT Lloyd C. Roberts POW
BOMB 2LT Irving H. Fox POW
ENG/TT T/SGT Homer J. Wilkins RTD
RO S/SGT Frederick N. Meisel RTD
BT S/SGT Frank R. Salter POW
WG S/SGT Harlan H. Johannaber POW
WG S/SGT Bryan A. Scarborough POW
TG S/SGT Edwin M. Braswell POW
PHOTO SGT Thomas L. Triplett POW

Kommentar schreiben