The majority of three thousand officers and enlisted men in Eight Air Force heavy bomber crews tallied between 28 May and 5 June 1944 said their aircraft – be they B-17s or B-24s – were the best for the job. When separated into B-17 and B-24 crews, 92 percent of the surveyed B-17 crews said they had the best type of machine, compared with 76 percent of the polled B-24 crews who said they had the best type of aircraft. As the survey summary noted: “The proportion who are ‘sold’ on their own plane is… greater among B-17 crew members.”

The survey presented other conclusions about Eight Air Force crews and their two types of heavy bombers: “In both B-17 and B-24 crew, men who are convinced their type of ship is best are more likely than other men to express satisfaction with their jobs. In B-24 crews, the bombardiers, navigators and co-pilots appear somewhat less likely than other crew members to feel they have the best of airplane. In B-17 crews, men in the different crew positions do not differ appreciably in the appraisal they give their ship “The study emphasized that “B-17 and B-24 crews do not differ in their belief in the importance of the job they are doing”, and that the two types of crews did not differ “in their expressed willingness to take on another series of missions nor in the proportions who say they would sign up for combat flying if they were starting all over again.”

- Werbung/Advertisement -

Poll

Interestingly, in both B-17s and B-24s, co-pilots were the least likely to answer “yes” to the question, “Do you think you have the best type of airplane for the particular job which you have to do?” The 1944 survey drew no inference from this statistic, although a latter-day assessment might conclude that of all crew positions, only co-pilots have a built-in job dissatisfaction linked with their ambitions to become pilots. In the survey, the total sample of 3,000 crew men might yield only 100 to 200 in any one crew position for each type of bomber and the surveyors cautioned that this small sample “must be regarded as suggestive, rather than conclusive evidence of a real difference between crew positions existing in the total Eight air Force heavy bomber crews from which this cross-section sample was drawn.” By crew position, those who said: “yes” that theirs was the best type of airplane for the particular job they had to do produced the following numbers for the survey.

Co-PilotsEngineer
B-17 Crews88%B-17 Crews93%
B-24 Crews58%B-24 Crews91%
NavigatorsPilots, Radio Operators and Gunners
B-17 Crews93%B-17 Crews79%
B-24 Crews63%B-24 Crews92%
BombardiersMen in all crew positions combined
B-17 Crews93%B-17 Crews92%
B-24 Crews65%B-24 Crews76%

Pilots, radio operators and gunners were tallied together because, the survey said, they showed “no appreciable difference” in their responses to the question.

Engineers for both types of bombers posted high satisfaction rates. Again, while the 1944 survey did not endeavor to explain this phenomenon, an after-the-fact observation might conclude that engineers on both types of heavy bomber received intense technical training on their particular aircraft and were intimately familiar with its systems and functions, possibly generating a high degree of confidence as a result of this knowledge and training.

The markedly higher satisfaction rates expressed by B-17 navigators and bombardiers than their B-24 counterparts may be attributed to the generally roomier nose section in a B-17. For these crew members, working conditions were better in a Flying Fortress. an extreme example of this was the grafting of a complete B-17G nose to a B-24J in the US for evaluation. While the hybrid bomber had poor flying characteristics, an AAF evaluation commented favorably and probably wryly, on the improved working area for the navigator and bombardier in this particular B-24!

Interestingly, absent from the 1944 survey report was any suggestion that the surveyed crewmen thought either the B-17 or the B-24 was more combat-survivable than other type of bomber, although one B-24 crewman commented on cramped quarters in the nose impeding fast bailouts.

Statistics compiled by the AAF in 1944 showed a rising trend in the average number of sorties per month per crew assigned to operational groups in the Eight Air Force. In November 1943 (the first month of survey), the average number of sorties for the month for B-24 crews was about two; for B-17 crews the average was about 2.8 B-17 crew sortie rates remained higher than B-24 rates until April 1944, when Eight Air Force B-24 crews posted an average of seven sorties per month per crew, compared with the B-17 crews’ average somewhere near 6.6 sorties a month. By May 1944, the last month of the chart, B-24 crew sorties averaged around 8.3, while B-17 crew sorties averaged about 7.4, within the limitations of the graph. Clearly, the number of sorties was increasing for both types of bomber crew.

The debate over merits of B-17s versus B-24s began when the two airplanes were new and will linger long after publication of this volume. there is evidence to suggest the USAAF even fueled the controversy while trying to instill pride in each type of bomber crew. Some editions of the pilot’s manual for the B-17, when explaining go-around procedures for landings, accompany the text with a drawing of a crashed B-24 on the runway blocking the B-17’s intended landing. Similarly, the same section in some B-24 pilot manuals shows a crashed B-17 as the cause of the B-24’s go-around!

Die Mehrheit von drei tausend Offizieren und Männern in der 8. US Luftwaffe der schweren Bombermannschaften übereinstimmten zwischen 28. Mai und 5. Juni 1944 das ihr Flugzeug – diese sind B-17 oder B-24 – das beste für den Job sei. Getrennt in B-17 und B-24 Besatzungen, sagten 92 Prozent der Besatzungsmitgliedern B-17, dass sie das beste Flugzeug hatten, verglichen mit 76 Prozent der abgestimmten Besatzungsmitgliedern der B-24, die sagten, dass ihr Flugzeug, das beste sei. Wie die zusammengefasste Übersicht zeigte: „der Anteil, das auf ihr eigenes Flugzeug „verkauft“ werden, ist… unter den Crews der B-17 größer“.

Die Übersicht stellte andere Zusammenfassungen über 8. Luftwaffe Besatzungen und ihre zwei schweren Bombern dar: „In B-17 und B-24 Crews, Männer, die überzeugt, ihr Flugzeug sei das beste sind wahrscheinlicher als andere Männer, die mit ihren Job Zufrieden sind. In den B-24 Besatzungen sehen die Bombenschützen, die Navigatoren und die Kopiloten haben weniger das Gefühl, dass sie das beste Flugzeug haben, als andere Besatzungsmitglieder. Die Crews der B-17 in verschiedenen Positionen unterschieden sich nicht beträchtlich in der Beurteilung. „die Studie hob hervor“ Besatzungen der B-17 und B-24 nicht in ihrem Glauben an den Wert der Arbeit zu unterscheiden die sie „erledigen und dass der zwei Arten der Besatzungen“ sich nicht in ihrer ausgedrückten Bereitwilligkeit, auf einer anderen Reihe Missionen zu nehmen noch in den Anteilen unterschieden, die sie sagen, für Kampffliegern unterzeichnen würde, wenn sie noch mal beginnen.“

- Werbung/Advertisement -

Umfrage

Interessant in B-17 und in B-24, Kopiloten die wenig wahrscheinlich, auf die Frage „ja“ zu antworten, „denken sie, dass sie das beste Flugzeug für die Arbeite habe?“ Die Übersicht 1944 zeichnete keine Folgerung aus dieser Statistik, obgleich eine Einschätzung des letzten Tages feststellen konnte, dass von allen Positionen, nur Kopiloten eine Jobunzufriedenheit hatten, die mit ihrem Ehrgeiz verbunden wird, um Piloten zu werden. In der Übersicht konnte das Gesamtergebnis von 3.000 Mannschaft Männern nur 100 bis 200 in jeder möglicher Position einer Mannschaft für jede Art Bomber erbringen und die Gutachter warnten, dass diese kleine Umfrage „als andeutend betrachtet werden muss, stattdessen bringt schlüssiger Beweis eines realen Unterschiedes zwischen den Besatzungs-Positionen der gesamte 8. Luftwaffe schweren Bombermannschaften, von denen diese Querschnittsprobe gemacht hatten.“ Bei den Besatzungspositionen die „ja“ sagten, sie haben das beste Flugzeug für die Arbeit, die sie machen mussten, zeigen folgenden Zahlen in der Übersicht.

Co-PilotenTechniker
B-17 Besatzungen88%B-17 Besatzungen93%
B-24 Besatzungen58%B-24 Besatzungen91%
NavigatorenPiloten, Funker und Schützen
B-17 Besatzungen93%B-17 Besatzungen79%
B-24 Besatzungen63%B-24 Besatzungen92%
BombenschützenIngesamt
B-17 Besatzungen93%B-17 Besatzungen92%
B-24 Besatzungen65%B-24 Besatzungen76%

Piloten, Funker und Schützen zählen zusammen, weil die Umfrage zeigte, dass sie keinen beträchtlichen Unterschied bei ihren Antworten auf zur Frage zeigte.

Die deutlich höhere Zufriedenheit, die von den B-17 Navigatoren und Bombenschützen ausgehen als ihr Gegenstück B-24 ausgedrückt wird, wird wahrscheinlich von dem geräumigerem vorderen Abschnitt in einer B-17 zugeschrieben. Für diese Crew-Mitglieder waren Arbeitsbedingungen in einer Flying Fortress besser. Ein extremes Beispiel von diesem war das montieren einer kompletten B-17G Nase zu einem B-24J in den USA zur Auswertung. Während der hybride Bomber schlechte Flugeigenschaften hatte, kommentierte eine AAF Auswertung vorteilhaft und vermutlich ironisch, den verbesserten Funktionsbereich für den Navigator und Bombenschützen in dieser bestimmte B-24!

Interessant aus Umfrage von 1944, war jeder mögliche Vorschlag abwesend, dass die befragten Mannschaftsmitglieder dachten, dass entweder die B-17 oder die B-24 mehr kampffähig waren als andere Bomber, obgleich ein Mannschaftsmitglied der B-24 sprach von dem engen Bug, das eine schnelle Rettungen behinderte.

Die Statistiken, die durch das AAF in 1944 zusammengestellt wurden, zeigten eine steigende Tendenz in der durchschnittlichen Zahl der Flugeinsätze pro Monat pro Mannschaft, die funktionsfähigen Gruppen in der 8. Luftwaffe zugewiesen wurde. Im November 1943 (der erste Monat der Umfrage), war die durchschnittliche Zahl der Flugeinsätze für den Monat für Mannschaften B-24 ungefähr zwei; für Mannschaften der B-17, lag der Durchschnitt ungefähr bei 2.8. Flugeinsätze der B-17 Crews war, blieb höher als de Rate der B-24 bis April 1944, als die 8. Luftwaffe B-24 Mannschaften einen Durchschnitt von sieben Flugeinsätze pro Monat pro Mannschaft bekannt gaben, irgendwo verglichen mit dem Durchschnitt der Mannschaften der B-17 die 6.6 Flugeinsätze pro Monat hatten. Bis zum Mai 1944, berechnete der letzte Monat des Diagramms, lag die Einsätze der B-24 Crew um 8.3, während die Einsätze der b-17 Crews ungefähr bei 7,4 lagen, innerhalb der Beschränkungen des Diagramms. Offenbar erhöhte sich die Zahl der Einsätze für Bombermannschaften.

Die Debatte über die Leistungen von B -17 gegen B -24 begann, als die zwei Flugzeuge neu waren und lange blieben. Es sind Beweise, um vorzuschlagen, dass die USAAF die Kontroverse sogar unterstützte, als es versuchte, stolz auf Besatzungen beider Bomber einzuflößen. Einige Ausgaben des Pilotenhandbuches der B-17, erklärt ihnen, wie sie das Verfahren beim Durchstarten während einer Landung durchführen sollten. Eine Zeichnung von einer bruchgelandeten B-24 auf der Startbahn, das die Landung der B-17 behindert, begleiten den Text. ähnlich zeigt der gleiche Abschnitt in den Pilotenhandbüchern der B-24 einer bruchgelandeten B-17 als die Ursache des Durchstartens einer B-24!

Anmerkung: Dieser Text wurde aus dem Englischen übersetzt und ist dadurch nicht leicht zu verstehen. Ich bitte daher um Verständnis. Ich werde den Text so bald wie möglich überarbeiten.