“Without the B-17, we might have lost the war”
General Carl Spaatz

The B-17 Flying Fortress remains a legend in the history of the Second World War. It was the bomber that struck deep into occupied Europe, in daylight, taking on the might of the Luftwaffe, braving the ferocious German flak defenses. It was the bomber that could hit precision targets from five miles up then return home, sometimes with massive structural damage. It was the bomber that held ten flyboys, many still teenagers, and bound them into a though fighting unit.

Memphis Belle Crew // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

Memphis Belle Crew // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

“Had to be taken off in a B-17 like with a Greyhound bus or a fully loaded truck, you had your bombs, your fuel and your ammunition. You have very wound the thing and tried to keep it there. The cockpit was the worst place to see something up there since you could see only straight ahead and this was it. You could not look around or look to below. You have more information of the navigator or bombardier got who sat in the plexiglass nose.

I have always felt sorry for the navigator or the bombarider. In the cockpit we had armor platings under the seat and in the back and a little to the sides but everything what had this one around himself, was plexiglass. They were there where they could be met by the bullets. Both engines of a wing had failed far home away over France once. We had to take her propellers to feathered position so that the propellers didn’t rotate like windmill vanes and made the flat sheets to us more slowly. We took the gas of the two remaining engines back. With two dead engines on a side flying gets exhausting since the weight of the bleak side the B-17 moved down. We were busy high and the aircraft to think busy, this wing at flying so that we didn’t think at all that it could fall away. You have watched all engines, checked the oleograph all the time, the turns per minute, particularly when you were met by anti-aircraft gun. The B-17 was easy to fly. I have flown a B-24 for a couple of hours and it was right work. You really thought the B-17 had stably and simply to be flown “the thing flies himself'”
USAAF Pilot Officer Robert Davila

- Werbung/Advertisement -

The development

B-17Es at Boeing Plant // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

B-17Es at Boeing Plant // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]


Commissioned by the US Army Air Force, her specifications were those of a “battleship of the skies”; a multi-engined bomber capable of 200 to 250 mph at 10,000 feet with a cruising speed of 170 to 200 mph, a range of 6 to 10 hours and a service ceiling of 25,000 feed. Some designers of the Boeing Airplane Company proved something like vision by not deciding as usual in favor of two but in favor of four jet engines. Even if they wanted to reach more height thus primarily over the aim area they also caused so anyway that Boeing Model 299 turned fundamentally bigger than the outlines of the competition this out. The work on the drawing-board started on June 18th, 1934.

When newspaper reporters were first shown the Model 299 in Boeing’s Seattle factory on 16th July 1935, the aircraft simply took their breath away.

“A regular fortress”, one of them said, “a fortress with wings!”

The Boeing Airplane Company lieked the name used in the headlines, so decided to register it as a trade mark. “The Flying Fortress” was born.

The first flight

Les Tower led the prototype to Boeing Field for a successful first flight on July 28th, 1935. Main purpose of the new bomber was the defense of the United States an invasion fleet through. When the thirteen pre-mass-production aircrafts in the US Army air corps arrived got her the model number YB-17. Y stood for the evaluation, B for bomber and 17 for the seventeenth bomber design, that the USAAC had accepted. It was a fighter plane which surpassed all demanded features for speed, range, path speed and bomb load.

“Hitler has built a fortress around Europe but he has forgotten the roof!”
Franklin Delano Roosevelt

President Roosevelt’s realization that involvement in a war in Europe could not be avoided, combined with the bombers good press, ensured that it was not long before the first orders were placed with Boeing for the production of the turbo-equipped B-17B’s. Luckily, the B-17 had one more feature: its adaptability to further development. Thirty-nine B-17Bs were delivered to USAAC when the war broke out in Europe 1939, followed by thirty-eight B-17Cs and forty-two B-17Ds; new improved designs that could give 323 mph top speed at 25,000 feet. In 1941, the RAF were sent twenty B-17Cs and Bomber Command designated Them Foortress Is.

A group of B-17C Flying Fortresses awaiting delivery to Britain.

A group of B-17C Flying Fortresses awaiting delivery to Britain. // www.awm.gov.au [Public Domain]

Combat

Boeing eventually took note of any design faults in the erly types and produced, what was in effect, a completely new bomber, the B-17E, with its distinctive large tail fin and much improved firepower. The company built 512 B-17E’s and then progressed to the B-17F which was the first truly battle-ready Flying Fortress. The B-17F rolled off the production line in the summer of 1942 and Boeing were eventually to built 2,405 of them. The B-17F was to be the model that flew the US 8th Air Force daylight unescorted raids into Europe in 1943.

The next model, the B-17 G was the final development of the design. 8,680 B-17G’s were built. In total, Boeing managed to equip 108 squadrons of the 8th Air Force, 20 squadrons of the 15th Air Force in Italy and provided 200 B-17’s to be used by the RAF. Most of the men who had flown a B-17 knew, that it was a rigged plane.

It was calculated that the average life of a B-17 flown by the US 8th Air Force was 215 days: for 119 days the aircraft was non-operational, it was under repair for 49 days and flying missions for 47 days.

Such was the fury of aerial combat in the European theater of operations that it was notable if a B-17 survided 25 missions in its first year.

The first crew, who finished 25 combat missions in Europe was the crew of the “Memphis Belle”

The following table shows the outputs of the B 17 of the respective for manufacturer.

ModelFirst FlightBoeingDouglasVegaTOTAL
29928 .Jul 19351001
Y1B-1702. Dec 1936130013
Y1B-17A29. Apr 19381001
B-17B27. Jun 1939390039
B-17C21. Jul 1940380038
B-17D03. Feb 1941420042
B-17E05. Sep 194151200512
B-17F30. May 194223006055003405
B-17G21. May  19434035239522508680
Sum69813000275012731
Proportional54.8%23.6%21.6%100%

Post War

After the Second World War, many B-17 were taken off from their employment federations and by replaced their large big sister, the B-29 Superfortress. Most were sent back into the states and landed at the scrap iron place. But only few remained in the U. S. Air Force, where further use for them was. In addition, abroad the B-17 prospective customer found.

After the war was over in Europe, were of 31 Bomber Groups 2118 B-17s flown to the USA and put down by Arizona in a desert between 19th May 1945 to 9th June 1945, many were scrapped and only some were bought by private people or organizations. Whether B 17 stand today certainly there isn’t known to me.

B-17s at Kingman, Arizona

[Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons // B-17s at Kingman, Arizona

Few B-17 converted the U. S. Air Force and during the Korea war as transport aircraft for its struggle-high officers (VB-17G) and distress rescue airplanes (SB-17G/B-17H) and used these during the Korea war 1951-1953. These machines started usually from the airfields in Japan. In addition used in the 50’s superseded B-17 to atomic test purposes around to test like airplanes to an atomic pressure wave to react (see photo, MATS = US air transport command)

During the Second World War many B-17 landed more or less intact in the neutral countries such as Sweden. These used some B-17 during and after the war as transport aircrafts.

1948 succeeded to come it Israel into the possession of 3 B-17G. Two machines did not have cannons, which were tower holes openly or provisionally taken off, the navigation equipment was missing and nevertheless Cairo on the flight became to Israel bombarded. No machine was lost. But they all were unfortunately scrapped into the 50s.

USAAF S/NCivil-Registration
44-83753N5024N
44-83811N5014N
44-83842N7712M, interned in Portugal
44-83851N1098M

Between 1951 and 1955 Brazil arrived into the possession of 13 B-17. 5 was SB-17G and 6 RB-17G. They were assigned to the Forca Aerea Brasilia (FAB). All this B-17 was used for search and rescue missions or for photographic clearing-up. These machines were deactivated in late 60’s.

FAB S/NUSAAF S/NComment
540044-836631968 Returned to the US.Displayed in Air Force Base Hill
540144-85567Retired from service in 1967
540244-85583Retired from service in 1968
540344-85602Retired from service in 1966
540444-85836Crash 1959
540543-39246Crash 1962
540643-39335Retired from service in 1966
540744-8891Retired from service in 1967
540844-83718Retired from service in 1968. Restored in a brasil air force museum.
540944-83764Crash 1964
541044-83378Retired from service in 1965
541144-85494Retired from service in 1968
44-85579Crash 1952

In February 1947 two B-17 arrived into the possession of the Dominican Republic. They survived until 1954.

Between 1947 and 1960 five SB-17G were with the Portuguese in the employment.

US general Eisenhower handed over to France the B-17F 42-30177 special transport for the French general M.P. Koenning. It was scrapped 1973.

Into the 60ern few B-17 were converted to fire-extinguishing airplanes, in order to fight forest fires.

Even if the B-17 could modify still so well and be used for tests, the B-17 was seen also gladly in the film world.

Beside several war documentations 1949 appeared the feature “Twelve O’Clock High” with the B-17 and with the famous actor Gregory Peck.

Beside smaller roles in “Tora! Tora! Tora!” and “1941, where please Hollywood” is got the B-17 1969 a larger role into the film “1000 of planes Raid”.

But the most beautiful photographs of the B-17 knows one in its youngest and most well-known film “Memphis Belle” to see.

„Ohne die B-17 hätten wir den Krieg vielleicht verloren“
General Carl Spaatz

Die B-17 Flying Fortress, war der berühmteste Bomber der Amerikaner im Zweiten Weltkrieg und wird immer eine Legende bleiben. Sie war bekannt dafür, große strukturelle Schäden erleiden zu können und manchmal mit einem, zwei oder gar drei zerschossenen Motoren noch sicher zurück zum Stützpunkt zu fliegen. Sie flog gezielte strategische Bombenangriffe auf feindliche Ziele und zerstörte diese mit verheerender Präzision. Sie flog ihre Einsätze stets bei Tageslicht und überzeugte selbst Kritiker dieser Taktik. Mit ihren 13 0.50 Kaliber MGs war sie sehr gefürchtet. Und sie war der Bomber, der zehn Flieger in sich aufnahm – viele von ihnen waren noch Teenager – und sie zu einer zähen Kampfeinheit verband.

Memphis Belle Crew // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

Memphis Belle Crew // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

„In einer B-17 abzuheben war wie mit einem Greyhound-Bus oder einem voll beladenen Laster abzuheben, du hattest deine Bomben, deinen Treibstoff und deine Munition. Du hast das Ding hochgekurbelt und versuchtest, es dort zu halten. Das Cockpit war der schlechteste Platz, um da oben etwas zu sehen, da du nur geradeaus sehen konntest, und das war’s. Du konntest dich nicht umschauen oder nach unten blicken. Du hast mehr Informationen von dem Navigator oder Bombenschützen erhalten, die da draußen in der Glaskuppel saßen.

Mir haben der Navigator oder der Bombenschütze immer leid getan. Im Cockpit hatten wir Panzerplatten unter dem Sitz und im Rücken und ein bisschen an den Seiten, aber alles, was die um sich herum hatten, war Plexiglas. Sie waren da, wo sie von den Geschossen getroffen werden konnten. Einmal waren beide Motoren eines Flügels über Frankreich ausgefallen, weit von Zuhause entfernt. Wir mussten ihre Luftschrauben in Segelstellung bringen, damit die Propeller nicht wie Windmühlenflügel rotierten, und die flachen Blätter machten uns langsamer. Wir nahmen das Gas von den zwei verbleibenden Motoren zurück. Mit zwei toten Motoren auf einer Seite wird das Fliegen anstrengend, da das Gewicht der toten Seite die B-17 runter zog. Wir waren so damit beschäftigt, den einen Flügel hoch und das Flugzeug am Fliegen zu halten, dass wir gar nicht darüber nachdachten, dass es abstürzen konnte. Du hast die ganze Zeit alle Motoren beobachtet, den öldruck überprüft, die Umdrehungen pro Minute, besonders dann, wenn du von Flak getroffen wurdest. Die B-17 war einfach zu fliegen. Ich habe ein paar Stunden lang eine B-24 geflogen und das war richtig Arbeit. Die B-17 war stabil und einfach zu fliegen, du dachtest wirklich ‚Das Ding fliegt von selbst'“
USAAF Pilot Officer Robert Davila

- Werbung/Advertisement -

Die Entwicklung

B-17Es at Boeing Plant // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

B-17Es in der Boeing Produktionshalle // Wikipedia Commons [Public Domain]

Vom US Army Air Corps (USAAC) in Auftrag gegeben, sollte das neue Kampfflugzeug die Merkmale eines “Kriegsschiffs des Himmels“ haben. Das Luftkorps forderte die Entwicklung eines mehrmotorigen Bombers, der eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 320 Km/h bis 400 Km/h in 3000 m Höhe, eine Reisegeschwindigkeit von 270 Km/h bis 320 Km/h und eine Gipfelhöhe von 8000 m erreichen konnte, sowie in der Lage war, über eine Dauer von 6 bis 10 Stunden zu fliegen. Einige Konstrukteure der Boeing Airplane Company bewiesen so etwas wie Weitblick, indem sie sich nicht, wie üblich, für zwei, sondern für vier Triebwerke entschieden. Auch wenn sie damit in erster Linie mehr Höhe über dem Zielgebiet erreichen wollten, so bewirkten sie doch auch, dass das Boeing Modell 299 wesentlich größer ausfiel als die Entwürfe der Konkurrenz. Am 18. Juni 1934 begann die Arbeit am Reißbrett.

Als die Journalisten das Modell 299 am 16. Juli 1935 im Boeing-Werk in Seattle erstmals in Augenschein nahmen, blieb ihnen wahrhaftig die Luft weg.

„Eine wahre Festung!“ stellte einer von ihnen fest „Eine Festung mit Flügeln!“

Der Boeing Airplane Company gefiel der Name, der überall Schlagzeilen machte, und so entschied man sich, „The Flying Fortress“ als Markenzeichen zu übernehmen. Die Legende der „Fliegende Festung“ hatte begonnen.

Der Jungfernflug

Am 28. Juli 1935 führte Les Tower den Prototyp auf Boeing Field zu einem erfolgreichen Jungfernflug. Hauptzweck des neuen Bombers war die Verteidigung der Vereinigten Staaten durch einer Invasionsflotte. Als die dreizehn Vorserienflugzeuge im US Army Air Corps eintrafen, erhielten sie die Typenbezeichnung YB-17. Y stand für die Auswertung, B für Bomber und 17 für das siebzehnte Bomber-Design, dass das USAAC akzeptiert hatte. Es war ein Kampfflugzeug, das alle geforderten Merkmale für Geschwindigkeit, Reichweite, Steiggeschwindigkeit und Bombenlast übertraf.

„Hitler hat eine Festung um Europa gebaut, aber er hat das Dach vergessen!“
Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Die begeisterten Presseberichte und Präsident Roosevelts Erkenntnis, dass eine Beteiligung am Krieg in Europa nicht vermieden werden konnte, stellten sicher, dass in kürzester Zeit die ersten Aufträge für die Produktion der turbogeladenen B-17B im Boeing-Werk eingingen. Glücklicherweise hatte die B-17 ein zusätzliches Merkmal, das von Vorteil war, nämlich ihre Anpassungsfähigkeit an weitere Entwicklungen. Als 1939 der Krieg in Europa ausbrach, erhielt das USAAC eine Lieferung von 39 B-17B gefolgt von 38 B-17C und 42 B-17D, bei denen es sich um ein neues, verbessertes Design handelte, die eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 529 Km/h in 8000 m Höhe erreichen konnte. 1941 übernahm die Royal Air Force (RAF – Britische Luftwaffe) zwanzig B-17C, die vom Bomberkommando die Bezeichnung „Fortress I“ erhielten.

Im Kampfeinsatz

Nach und nach wurde Boeing jedoch gezwungen, sich mit den Designfehlern in ihren jüngsten Kampfflugzeugen zu befassen. Daraus ging dann ein vollkommen neuer Bomber, die B-17E, hervor, die sich durch ihre unverkennbare große Schwanzflosse und eine verbesserte Bewaffnung auszeichnete. So fuhr das Boeing-Werk mit dem Bau von 512 B-17E fort und entwickelte währenddessen eine neue Version des Bombers, die B-17F. Sie war die erste kampfbereite Flying Fortress, die im Sommer 1942 aus der Halle gerollt wurde. Boeing sollte später 3405 dieser Kampfflugzeuge bauen. Die US 8th Air Force setzte die B-17F bei Tagesluftangriffen ohne Geleitschutz über Europa ein.

Lucky Lady // http://www.americanairmuseum.com/media/19463 // CC-BY-NC 3.0

Lucky Lady // http://www.americanairmuseum.com/media/19463 // CC-BY-NC 3.0

Das darauffolgende Modell, die B-17G, war die endgültige Entwicklung des Designs, Insgesamt wurden 8680 Bomber dieses Typs gebaut. Boeing gelang es, 108 Geschwader der 8th Air Force und 20 Geschwader der 15th Air Force in Italien auszurüsten und die RAF mit 200 Bombern zu beliefern. Die meisten Piloten, die die B-17 jemals geflogen haben, wussten dass sie es mit einem widerstandsfähigen Kampfflugzeug zu tun hatten.

Die 8th Air Force schätzte die durchschnittliche Lebensdauer einer B-17 auf 215 Tage: Davon war der Bomber 119 Tage lang betriebsunfähig, über 49 Tage in Reparatur und nur 47 Tage im Einsatz.

Die Luftkämpfe auf den Kriegsschauplätzen waren derartig heftig, dass es als bemerkenswert betrachtet wurde, wenn eine B-17 in ihrem ersten Dienstjahr 25 Einsätze überlebte.

Die erste Besatzung die es schaffte 25 Einsätze unbeschadet zu überstehen, war die Besatzung der Memphis Belle.

Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die Produktionsmengen der B-17 von den jeweiligen Hersteller:

Modell Erstflug Boeing Douglas Vega TOTAL
299 28.07.1935 1 0 0 1
Y1B-17 02.12.1936 13 0 0 13
Y1B-17A 29.04.1938 1 0 0 1
B-17B 27.06.1939 39 0 0 39
B-17C 21.07.1940 38 0 0 38
B-17D 03.02.1941 42 0 0 42
B-17E 05.09.1941 512 0 0 512
B-17F 30.05.1942 2300 605 500 3405
B-17G 21.05.1943 4035 2395 2250 8680
Menge 6981 3000 2750 12731
Prozentual 54.8% 23.6% 21.6% 100%

Nachkriegszeit

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, wurden viele B-17 von ihren Einsatzverbänden abgezogen und durch ihre große Schwester, die B-29 Superfortress ersetzt. Die meisten wurden in die Staaten zurückgeschickt und landeten auf dem Schrottplatz. Doch nur wenige blieben in der US Air Force, wo sich weiterhin Verwendung für sie fand. Aber auch im Ausland fand die B-17 Interessenten.

Nachdem der Krieg in Europa beendet war, wurden von 31 Bomber Groups 2118 B-17 zwischen 19.05.1945 – 09.06.1945 in die USA geflogen und in einer Wüste von Arizona abgestellt, viele wurden verschrottet und nur wenige wurden von Privatleuten oder Organisationen gekauft. Ob da heute noch B-17 stehen ist mir nicht bekannt.

Die US Air Force haben wenige B-17 vor und während des Koreakrieges als Transportflugzeug für ihre ranghohen Offiziere (VB-17G) und Seenotrettungsflugzeuge (SB-17G/B-17H) umgebaut und diese während des Koreakrieges 1951-1953 eingesetzt. Diese Maschinen starteten meist von den Flugplätzen in Japan. Außerdem wurden in den 50er Jahren ausgemusterte B-17 zum Atomtestzwecken eingesetzt um zu erproben wie Flugzeuge auf eine atomare Druckwelle reagieren. (siehe Foto, MATS = US-Lufttransportkommando)

Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges landeten viele B-17 mehr oder weniger unbeschädigt in den neutralen Ländern wie Schweden. Diese benutzten einige B-17 während und nach dem Krieg als Transportflugzeuge.

1948 gelang es Israel in den Besitz von 3 B-17G zu kommen. Zwei Maschinen hatten keine Kanonen, die Turmlöcher waren offen oder provisorisch abgedeckt, die Navigationsausrüstung fehlte und trotzdem wurde Kairo auf dem Flug nach Israel bombardiert. Keine Maschine ging verloren. Doch leider wurden sie alle in den 50ern verschrottet.

USAAF S/N Zivile-Registrierung
44-83753 N5024N
44-83811 N5014N
44-83842 N7712M, interniert in Portugal
44-83851 N1098M

Zwischen 1951 und 1955 gelangte Brasilien in den Besitz von 13 B-17. 5 waren SB-17G und 6 RB-17G. Sie wurden zur Forca Aerea Brasilia (FAB) zugeteilt. All diese B-17 waren für Such- und Rettungseinsätze oder für fotografische Aufklärung eingesetzt. Diese Maschinen wurden bis in die späten 60er Jahren außer Dienst gestellt.

FAB S/N USAAF S/N Bemerkung
5400 44-83663 1968 in die Staaten zurückgekehrt. Ausgestellt auf Air Force Basis Hill
5401 44-85567 1967 außer Dienst gestellt
5402 44-85583 1968 außer Dienst gestellt
5403 44-85602 1966 außer Dienst gestellt
5404 44-85836 Crash 1959
5405 43-39246 Crash 1962
5406 43-39335 1966 außer Dienst gestellt
5407 44-8891 1967 außer Dienst gestellt
5408 44-83718 1968 außer Dienst gestellt. Wird in einem Brasilianischen Luftwaffen-Museum restauriert
5409 44-83764 Crash 1964
5410 44-83378 1965 außer Dienst gestellt
5411 44-85494 1968 außer Dienst gestellt
44-85579 Crash 1952

Im Februar 1947 gelangten zwei B-17 in den Besitz der Dominikanischen Republik. Sie überlebten bis 1954.

Zwischen 1947 und 1960 befanden sich 5 SB-17G bei dem Portugiesen im Einsatz

US General Eisenhower übergab Frankreich die B-17F 42-30177 für den speziellen Transport für den französischen General M.P. Koenning. Sie wurde 1973 verschrottet.

In den 60ern wurden wenige B-17 zu Feuerlöschflugzeugen umgebaut, um Waldbrände zu bekämpfen.

Auch wenn sich die B-17 noch so gut modifizieren und zu Tests verwenden ließ, wurde die B-17 auch gern in der Filmwelt gesehen.

Neben mehreren Kriegsdokumentationen erschien 1949 der Spielfilm „Der Kommandeur“ (Orig. „Twelve O’Clock High“) mit der B-17 und mit dem berühmten Schauspieler Gregory Peck.

Neben kleineren Rollen in „Tora ! Tora ! Tora !“ und „1941, Wo bitte ist Hollywood“ bekam die B-17 1969 eine größere Rolle in den Film „Alarmstart für Geschwader Bradock“ (Orig. „1000 Planes Raid“).

Doch die schönsten Aufnahmen von der B-17 kann man in ihrem jüngsten und bekanntesten Film „Memphis Belle“ sehen.

Jetzt, fast 60 Jahre nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, ist es immer noch nicht still geworden um die legendäre B-17 Flying Fortress. Sie ist weiterhin eines der Publikumslieblinge bei verschiedenen Airshows

Hoffentlich bleibt uns die legendäre B-17 Flying Fortress für lange Zeit erhalten!