The main difference between the E and F was that wide blade propellers were fitted to the new type that gave better performance. The F was made in greater numbers and had to be manufactured by three different companies; each factory had slight detail modifications. The source factory was listed by a suffix placed after the designation and block number: BO stood for Boeing, VE for Lookheed Vega and DL for Douglas. Thus, a plane with the designation B-17F-109 VE told you that it was made by Lookheed.

The B-17F’s arrived in England in August 1942 and were destined to fly throughout 1943. However by the summer of 1944 they were a rare sight on operational bases. The planes were subsequently re-modifed by the idividual bases to cope with the unique problems that com to light in air combat. The aircraft, designed and tested in warmer climes, had to cope with the extremly low temperatures and high humidity of altitude flight. Problems encountered in the first few missions: the brushes in the electrical generators frozen up, the ball turret would not rotate, guns jammed, there was blind spot in the forward zone of fire and the tail was very heavy.

“To find out at the beginning as us tried as one attacks the B-17 best, tried we bomb to and so on everything, even the bombers bombs. But we found out that the best tactics consisted in attacking her from the front and we used the 190s for it as end of ’43. The time at which you could shoot was very short since the approach-speed was very high. But, when you have hit the B-17 from the front, you have hit the cockpit or the engines mostly. There were only four 190s groups after this time which attacked from behind, which were called the “storm troops”. If the B-17 didn’t burn or the garrison didn’t jump down, then these 190s rammed the bombers at the tail unit or the rudder.”
Walter Krupinski

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-657-6304-24 / Meschke / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-657-6304-24 / Meschke / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Weak point

By November 1942, the Luftwaffe fighter pilots had realized that they could attack a B-17F head-on and be safe from return fire from the actual plane. The fitted 0.30-calibre michine gun in the plexiglass nose was ineffective so individual Bomber Groups decided to replace it with the more destructive 0.50-calibre guns. A nose gun installation kit was provided by 8th Air Force Service Command and the importance of a forward mounted turret on a B-17 was impressed upon the manufacturers. The work on converting the nose turret was very slow and could be only be carried on when the aircraft was free from combat commitments. It was not until May 1943 that B-17F’s with a factory fitted nose gun mount landed in Britain.

“The Germans got to the beginning of the war from the side or behind. But they got for a lot counter-intelligence fire at 25 to 30 B-17s. When they found out that the B-17 had less fire strength in the nose, they changed the tactics. You came in V formations of the front. For us it looked like a line, now and then, however, they came in the inverted V and we shot onto the middle which, however, wasn’t in range yet. At the next trace it was a normal V perhaps again and the middle was nearer than the outer positions. These came toward us with really high speed. You came with 400 miles and we flew 160 and fired her with her 20 mm cannons on the cockpits as soon as we were within range in the hope to meet something. One could see coming the 20 mm and one hoped that they didn’t meet. After the attack they shifted and came back. Only if they found a single machine, they were not effective from the front, they then came back from the side or behind. A machine at which one or two engines had failed was alone put on herself and the guys of the air force took their time to hit the fuel tanks on the two fuselage sides.”
Robert Davila, Pilot der USAAF

“At the beginning only the Fw 190 attacked the bombers and the Bf 109 only was used as escort. Most attacks were flown from the front. If the bombers noticed that the 190s came, they often flew a curve from 10 or 15 degrees. This made it hard to come flying up from the front again.”
Walter Krupinski

Several problems

The failure of the ball turret was of greater concern on the early models. Apart from the problem with retaion, the oxygen line, throat microphone, and flying suit heater cords all became tangled during normal combat operations. The gunner also feced the risk of running out of oxygen. The bottle contained insufficient oxygen for a normal mission and it was the job of the waist gunner to re-charge the ball turret cylinder but the valve often froze open and supply quickly emptied.

Other Problems included a leaking hydraulic unit, and a turret door that was prone to cracking. Getting out of the turret in an emergency was also a painfully slow procedure. The gunner had to hand-crank the turret in to the correct position, then lift himself out of the hatch and put on a parachute. Needless to say ball turret gunner was the least popular job amoung B-17 crews.

By May 1943, the US VIII Bomber Command had listed a dozen priorities for standard modifications: nose gun fittings, upper turret charging handles, armor plate protection for the pilot’s panel, more ammunitin for the gun in the radio room, an increase in the oxygen supply to all turrets, new radio antennae, Mark III IFF sets, a remote indicating compass and a life-raft realease. there was also a list of less important changes such as bullet proof glass in windows, re-locating waist gun sites for a better field of fire, fitting of GEE and changes to the oxygen system.

The cold conditions the aircraft operated in tended to freeze the bomb bay doors and the bomb shackles. In early missions this problem was overcome by one of the crew using a crow bar on on the frozen mechanism. Experienced crews would test the bomb bay door operation before they were on the bomb run.

Nothing could be done to stop the plane from being tail heavy but crews were warned about storing equipment and ammunition near the rear.

Another cause for condern was the ability of the waist gunners to inadvertently fire into the wing and tail. In July 1943 an electrical cut off system was fitted which automaticlly stopped the gun firing pins if the gun was aimed at any part of the plane.

One of the most important changes in the development of the B-17F was the addition of extra fuel tanks giving the plane another 1080 US gallons. effectively, this increased the B-17F’s range by 1000 miles and the operational radius doubled to 650 miles. The extra fuel units were called “Tokyo Tanks” (supposedly adding enough range so that a B-17 could get to Tokyo from a carrier in the Pacific) and were made up of nine rubber self-sealing cells placed betwenn of ribs of both wings. These long-range versions first appeared at English bases in May 1943.

- Werbung/Advertisement -

Random B-17s of this version and their fates

B-17 #42-30226 / Spook V

42-30226 / Spook V

95th Bomb Group 336th Bomb Squadron Lost by enemy aircraft

Delivered Cheyenne 30/4/43; Gore 14/5/43; Kearney 27/5/43; Tinker 1/6/43; Dow Fd 6/6/43; Assigned 336BS/95BG [ET-L] Horham 15/6/43; 36m, Missing in Action Frankfurt 29/1/44 with Jim Higgins, Navigator: Don Gallagher, Bombardier: Vern Archibald, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: John Lugg, Waist gunner: Bob Humphrey (5 Killed in Action); Co-pilot: Jim Munn, Radio Operator: Ray Garvey, Ball turret gunner: Austin Dulaney, Waist gunner: Gene Rountree,Tail gunner: Howard Thompson (5 Prisoner of War); enemy aircraft shot #1 engine out, crashed Lutrebois, three miles SE of Bastogne, Bel.; Missing Air Crew Report 2256. SPOOK #V (No. 5).

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-30149 / Spare Parts

42-30149 / Spare Parts

94th Bomb Group 333rd Bomb Squadron Lost by enemy aircraft

Delivered Cheyenne 17/4/43; Smoky Hill 24/4/43; Walla Walla 30/4/43; Smoky Hill 10/5/43; Dow Fd 25/5/43; Assigned 333BS/94BG [XM-A2] Earls Colne 27/5/43; Rougham 12/6/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 14/10/43 with Jim Mullinax, Co-pilot: Frank Peyton, Navigator: Maurice Fridrich, Bombardier: Jay Coberly, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Emil McCormick, Radio Operator: George Anderson, Ball turret gunner: Don Wilson, Waist gunner: Ellis Baxendall, Waist gunner: Harley Almon,Tail gunner: Curtis Brown (10 Prisoner of War); enemy aircraft, crashed Bamberg, near Wurzburg, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 790. SPARE PARTS.

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-30782 / Rationed Passion

42-30782 / Rationed Passion

306th Bomb Group 368th Bomb Squadron369th Bomb Squadron Lost by enemy aircraftLost by flak/aa-fire

Delivered Cheyenne 29/7/43; Gr Isle 8/8/43; Assigned 368BS/306BG [BO-O] Thurleigh; transferred 369BS; Missing in Action Oschersleben 11/1/44 with Bill Reed, Navigator: Ivan Glaze, Bombardier: Myron Dmochowski{Wounded in Action}, Ball turret gunner: Joe O’Connell,Tail gunner: Warren Cole (5 Prisoner of War), Co-pilot: Tom Brady, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Orian Owens**, Radio Operator: Chas Nichols**, Waist gunner: Albt Schaeffler, Waist gunner: John Gembrowski** (5KIA-**all shot after interrogation); enemy aircraft & flak hit set wing on fire, crashed Heegejanskamp, near Nijverdal, Hol. Missing Air Crew Report 1931.

B-17 #42-29956 / Vertical Shaft

42-29956 / Vertical Shaft

384th Bomb Group 544th Bomb Squadron Lost by enemy aircraft

Delivered Denver 17/3/43; Cheyenne 6/4/43; Sioux City 14/4/43; Kearney 4/5/43; Dow Fd 24/5/43; Assigned 544BS/384BG [SU-B] Grafton Underwood 29/5/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 17/8/43 with Jesse Hausenfluck, Co-pilot: Don MacKenzie (2 Killed in Action); Navigator: Chas Everson, Bombardier: Bob Kennedy, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: John Kilcourse, Radio Operator: John Kelly, Ball turret gunner: Jim Traylor, Waist gunner: Sebastian Buchari, Waist gunner: Tom Randolph,Tail gunner: John Blauer (8 Prisoner of War); enemy aircraft, crashed St Goarshausen, 18 miles SE of Koblenz, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 296. VERTICAL SHAFT.

B-17 #42-30117 / ПОЛЯРHAЯ ЗBEЗДA aka Polar Star

42-30117 / ПОЛЯРHAЯ ЗBEЗДA aka Polar Star

Delivered Cheyenne 13/4/43; Gore 21/4/43; Smoky Hill 22/4/43; Morrison 4/5/43; Assigned 12AF 31/5/43; Returned to the USA Bradley 4/7/44; Reconstruction Finance Corporation (sold for scrap metal in USA) Altus 9/10/45.

    Leave a comment



    ** = Deine Email bleibt geheim / Your email will not published.

Der Hauptunterschied zwischen den Typen E und F bestand in den breiteren Propellerblättern, mit denen der neue Typ ausgerüstet war und die ihm bessere Flugleistungen ermöglichten. Der F-Typ wurde in weitaus größeren Stückzahlen von drei verschiedenen Herstellern produziert. In jeder Fabrik wurden kleinere Veränderungen in den Details vorgenommen. Der Hersteller wurde in einer Nachsilbe verschlüsselt, die der Bezeichnung und der taktischen Geschwadernummer hinzugefügt wurde: BO stand für Boeing, VE für Lockheed Vega und DL für Douglas. Damit war klar, dass eine Maschine mit der Bezeichnung „B-17F-50 VE“ von Lockheed hergestellt worden war.

Die ersten B-17F kamen im August 1942 in England an und sollten während des gesamten Jahres 1943 eingesetzt werden. Im Sommer 1944 waren sie jedoch nur noch selten auf den Operationsbasen zu finden. Die Maschinen wurden wiederholt von den einzelnen Basen modifiziert, um mit den individuellen Problemen des Luftkampfes fertig zu werden. Die Flugzeuge, die unter wärmerem Klima konstruiert und getestet worden waren, mussten nun den niedrigen Temperaturen und der hohen Luftfeuchtigkeit bei ihren Einsätzen angepasst werden: Die Bürsten in den Elektrogeneratoren froren fest, der Kugelturm drehte sich nicht, die Maschinengewehre blockierten, das Verteidigungsfeuer besaß einen toten Winkel am Bug der Maschine und das Heck war viel zu schwer.

- Werbung/Advertisement -

„Am Anfang, als wir herauszufinden versuchten, wie man die B-17 am besten angreift, versuchten wir alles, sogar die Bomber mit Bomben zu bombardieren und so weiter. Aber wir bekamen heraus, dass die beste Taktik darin bestand, sie von vorne anzugreifen, und wir verwendeten ab Ende ’43 die 190er dazu. Die Zeit, in der du schießen konntest, war sehr kurz, da die Annährungsgeschwindigkeit sehr hoch war. Aber wenn du die B-17 von vorne getroffen hast, hast du meistens das Cockpit oder die Motoren getroffen. Nach dieser Zeit gab es nur vier 190er Gruppen, die von hinten angriffen, die die „Sturmtruppen“ genannt wurden. Wenn die B-17 nicht brannte oder die Besatzung nicht absprang, dann rammten diese 190er die Bomber am Leitwerk oder dem Ruder.“
Walter Krupinski

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-657-6304-24 / Meschke / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-657-6304-24 / Meschke / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Schwachstelle

Bis November 1942 hatten die Piloten der deutschen Luftwaffe schnell herausgefunden, dass sie die B-17F direkt von vorn angreifen konnten, ohne dass sie Gegenfeuer befürchten mussten. Das 0,30- Kaliber-Maschinengewehr im Plexiglas-Bug der Maschine erwies sich als ineffektiv. Einzelne Geschwader ersetzten es durch ein 0,50-Kaliber-Maschinengewehr, das eine größere Durchschlagskraft hatte. Die US 8th Air Force bot einen Bausatz zur Installation eines Maschinengewehrs im Bug der Maschine an und verlangte von den Herstellern den Einbau eines vorwärtsgerichteten Turmes in der B-17. Die Arbeiten zum Umbau des Bugs der Maschine verliefen sehr langsam und konnten nur dann durchgeführt werden, wenn die Maschine nicht auf dem Einsatzplan stand. Die ersten Maschinen, die vom Hersteller mit einem Buggeschütz ausgerüstet waren, landeten erst im Mai 1943 in Großbritannien.

„Zu Anfang des Krieges kamen die Deutschen von der Seite oder von hinten. Aber bei 25 bis 30 B-17 bekamen sie eine Menge Abwehrfeuer. Als sie herausfanden, dass die B-17 weniger Feuerkraft in der Nase hatte, änderten sie die Taktik. Sie kamen in V-Formationen von vorne. Für uns sah es wie eine Linie aus, aber hin und wieder kamen sie im invertierten V und wir schossen auf die Mitte, die aber noch nicht in Reichweite war. Beim nächsten Anflug war es vielleicht wieder ein normales V und die Mitte war näher als die äußeren Positionen. Die kamen mit wirklich hoher Geschwindigkeit auf uns zu. Sie kamen mit 400 Meilen und wir flogen 160 und sobald wir in Reichweite waren, feuerten sie mit ihren 20mm-Kanonen auf die Cockpits, in der Hoffnung etwas zu treffen. Man konnte die 20mm kommen sehen und man hoffte, dass sie nicht trafen. Nach dem Angriff drehten sie und kamen wieder. Nur wenn sie eine einzelne Maschine fanden, griffen sie nicht von vorne an, dann kamen sie wieder von der Seite oder von hinten. Eine Maschine, bei der ein oder zwei Motoren ausgefallen waren, war auf sich allein gestellt und die Kerle von der Luftwaffe nahmen sich die Zeit, die Treibstofftanks an den beiden Rumpfseiten zu treffen.“
Robert Davila, Pilot der USAAF

„Am Anfang griffen nur die Fw 190 die Bomber an und die Bf 109 wurde nur als Eskorte eingesetzt. Die meisten Angriffe wurden von vorn geflogen. Wenn die Bomber merkten, dass die 190er kamen, flogen sie oft eine Kurve von 10 oder 15 Grad. Das machte es schwer, wieder von vorne anzufliegen.“
Walter Krupinski

Weitere Probleme

Der Ausfall des Kugelturms bereitete bei den früheren Modellen die größten Sorgen. Abgesehen von dem Problem mit der Rotation, verfingen sich die Leitung für die Sauerstoffzufuhr, das Kehlkopfmikrofon und die Fliegeranzugsheizung ständig – selbst bei normalen Kampfhandlungen. Den Schützen wurde oftmals auch der Sauerstoff knapp. Eine Sauerstofflasche enthielt nicht genügend Sauerstoff für eine Mission. Es war daher die Aufgabe des Rumpfschützen, die Sauerstofflasche des Kugelturmschützen zu wechseln. Durch den Frost rissen jedoch oft die Ventile, so dass die Sauerstoffzufuhr dann ganz zusammenbrach.

Es gab weitere Probleme mit undichten Hydraulikleitungen und der Turmluke, die sehr leicht brach. Das Verlassen des Kugelturms in Notfällen war ein schmerzhaft langsamer Vorgang. Der Schütze musste dazu den Turm erst in die richtige Stellung kurbeln, sich selbst aus der Luke drücken und danach den Fallschirm anlegen. Es kam häufiger vor, dass die Turmklappen nach Kampfbeschädigungen klemmten und eine Bauchlandung den Tod des betreffenden Schützen bedeutet hätte. Das vorgeschriebene Verfahren für Bauchlandungen sah vor, den Schützen zu befreien, anschließend den kompletten Stand mit Spezialwerkzeug von der Zelle zu lösen und ihn abzuwerfen. Es muss wohl nicht erwähnt werden, dass der Kugelturmschütze den unbeliebtesten Job in der Besatzung der B-17 hatte.

Bis Mai 1943 hatte das VIII. US Bomberkommando eine Liste Dutzender von Standardmodifikationen für die Hersteller zusammengestellt: Buggeschützhalterung, Bewegungselemente für den oberen Geschützturm, eine Panzerung für die Steuerelemente des Piloten, mehr Munition für das Geschütz in der Funkkabine, eine bessere Sauerstoffversorgung für alle Türme, eine neue Funkantenne, Mark-III-IFF-Geräte, eine verbesserte Entfernungs- und Kompassanzeige sowie eine Rettungsfloß-Abwurfeinrichtung. Es gab weiterhin eine Liste zweitrangiger Veränderungen: kugelsichere Scheiben, eine Neuanordnung der Rumpfgeschütze für ein besseres Schussfeld, die Ausrüstung mit GEE sowie Veränderungen des allgemeinen Systems der Sauerstoffzufuhr.

Unter den kalten Bedingungen, in denen die Maschinen operieren mussten, froren oftmals die Bombenluken und -halterungen fest. Bei den ersten Einsätzen konnte dieses Problem nur mit dem Brecheisen behoben werden. Erfahrenere Besatzungen testeten die Bombenluken bereits vor dem eigentlichen Abwurf.

Es gab nichts, was die Hecklastigkeit der Maschine beheben konnte. Die Besatzungen wurden daher belehrt, weder Ausrüstungsgegenstände noch Munition im Heck der Maschine zu lagern.

Ein weiterer Grund zu Sorge war die Gefahr, dass die Rumpfschützen – wenn auch ungewollt – in die Tragflächen oder das Heck der eigenen Maschine schießen konnten. Im Juli 1943 wurde ein elektrischer Abschaltmechanismus eingebaut, der das Maschinengewehr automatisch blockierte, wenn der Schütze versehentlich auf Teile der eigenen Maschine zielte.

Eine der bedeutendsten Veränderungen in der Entwicklung der B-17F war die Ausstattung mit zusätzlichen Treibstofftanks, die der Maschine weitere 1.080 US-Gallonen Treibstoff zur Verfügung stellten. Dadurch konnte die Reichweite der B-17F um 1.000 Meilen erweitert werden, was der Maschine einen Operationsradius von 650 Meilen ermöglichte. Diese zusätzlichen Treibstoffbehälter wurden „Tokyo-Tanks“ genannt (wahrscheinlich deshalb, weil sie der Maschine genügend Treibstoff zur Verfügung stellten, um von einem Träger im Pazifik nach Tokio und zurück zu gelangen). Sie bestanden aus neun selbstschließenden Gummibehältern, die zwischen den Spannten beider Tragflächen angebracht waren. Diese Langstrecken-Version tauchte im Mai 1943 das erste mal auf britischen Basen auf.

Zufallsauswahl von B-17 dieser Version und ihre Schicksale

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-30216 / JONNIE

42-30216 / JONNIE

388th Bomb Group 563rd Bomb Squadron Abschuss durch Feindflugzeug

Delivered Cheyenne 29/4/43; Gore 9/5/43; Sioux City 10/5/43; Dow Fd 12/6/43; Assigned 563BS/388BG [–S] Knettishall 18/6/43; Missing in Action Oschersleben 28/7/43 with Ralph Swanson, Co-pilot: Harry Erickson, Navigator: Chas Bergheimer, Bombardier: Norvell Nystrom, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Phil Kinder, Radio Operator: Fred Ward, Ball turret gunner: Bob Shaw, Waist gunner: Dick Lambrecht, Waist gunner: Chas McMenamin,Tail gunner: Bill Deane (10 Prisoner of War); enemy aircraft, crashed Banteln, near Elze, S of Hanover, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 3128. JOHNNIE.

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-30708

42-30708

92nd Bomb Group 407th Bomb Squadron Abschuss durch Feindflugzeug

Delivered Denver 15/7/43; Gore 16/7/43; Kearney 8/8/43; Topeka 14/8/43; Scott 17/8/43; Assigned 407BS/92BG [PY-L/J] Alconbury 31/8/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 14/10/43 with Bill Byrne*, Radio Operator: John Carr*, Ball turret gunner: Tony Gerhard (3KIA-*bodies never recovered), Co-pilot: Clyde Fairchild, Navigator: Bob McCarthy, Bombardier: George Reynard, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Bob Fisher, Waist gunner: Ernie Raines, Waist gunner: Jack Pumphrey,Tail gunner: John Krupinski (7 Prisoner of War); enemy aircraft, crashed near Wurzburg, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 845.

B-17 #42-30242 / Lallah-V III aka Pappy’s Hellions

42-30242 / Lallah-V III aka Pappy’s Hellions

305th Bomb Group 364th Bomb Squadron Abschuss durch Feindflugzeug

Delivered Cheyenne 2/5/43; Gore 13/5/43; Smoky Hill 14/5/43; Dow Fd 30/5/43; Assigned 364BS/305BG [WF-N] Chelveston 10/6/43; fitted with H2S equipment in trials at Burtonwood, UK; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 14/10/43 with Ellsworth Kenyon, Co-pilot: Tom Davis, Navigator: John Cole, Bombardier: Joe Collins, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Finley Mercer, Ball turret gunner: Art Englehardt, Waist gunner: Dick Lewis, Waist gunner: Chas Green,Tail gunner: Walt Gottshall (9 Prisoner of War), Radio Operator: Russ Algren (KIA-chute caught fire); enemy aircraft, crashed four miles W of Duren, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 911. LALLAH V…-.

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-29952 / Sizzle

42-29952 / Sizzle

305th Bomb Group96th Bomb Group 364th Bomb Squadron Abschuss durch Feindflugzeug

Delivered Denver 17/3/43; Smoky Hill 5/4/43; Selfridge 21/4/43; Assigned 96BG Grafton Underwood 25/4/43; Andrews Fd 13/5/43; transferred 364BS/305BG [WF-J] Chelveston 31/5/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 14/10/43 with Doug Murdock, Navigator: John Manahan, Bombardier: John Miller, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Russ Kiggins, Waist gunner: Tony Dienes (5 Killed in Action), Co-pilot: Edwin Smith, Radio Operator: Thelma Wiggins, Ball turret gunner: John Lloyd, Waist gunner: Lester Levy,Tail gunner: Bill Menzies (5 Prisoner of War), enemy aircraft, crashed Bosseveldt, near Maastricht, Hol. Missing Air Crew Report 917. SIZZLE.

    Leave a comment



    ** = Deine Email bleibt geheim / Your email will not published.