B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol’ Swayback

B-17 #42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol’ Swaybackzoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: VE-E

MACR: 663

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol’ Swayback

Delivered Denver 12/2/43; Walker 23/2/43; Smoky Hill 28/3/43; Presque 8/4/43; Assigned 413BS/96BG Grafton Underwood 18/4/43 MOOR-FIDITE; Andrews Fd 13/5/43; Snetterton 12/6/43; transferred 532BS/381BG [VE-E] Ridgewell 16/7/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 17/8/43; enemy aircraft & flak KO’d #3, #4 feathered, crashed Ebrach, 18 miles SE of Schweinfurt, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 663. OL’ SWAYBACK.

Published: 14. May 2017 / Last updated: 24. May 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol’ Swayback Details

Statements from MACR 663

Over the target, A/C #42-29731 was hit by burst of flak between #3 and #4 engines. No 3 engine smoked violently and was feathered. No 4 engine began to smoke also and was feathered. The ship could not hold formation, so copilot waved to formation and ship pulled out of formation and flew a heading of about 220°, letting down. No fighters were in the vicinty at the time. Another ship from our wing which was also smoking, dropped down and the two ships flew together. A chute was later observed below, but I could not determine what ship it came from.

Marvin D. Lord
1st Lt., Air Corps


42-29731 was hit over target. #3 and #4 engines out. Five chutes seen. Another ship reported this A/C with #3 and #4 engines out went down in glong [sic] flide to 17000. When lost sight of. Another ship reported this A/C hit by flak and 8 chutes seen to come out. Another ship reported this A/C went down away below group with #3 and #4 engines out right over target. Two baled out. No fighters around him. Still another ship reported this A/C with #3 and #4 engines feathered, one smoking, on a 220° heading letting down gradually on a straight course. Yet another reported this A/C lost two engines over target and pulled out heading for Switzerland which it appeared he could make.

Don S. Williams
1st Lt. Air Corps
381st Bomb Group (H)

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol’ Swayback Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Leo P. Jarvis POW
CP 2LT Eugene E. Mancinelli POW
BOMB 2LT William D. Lockhart POW
ENG/TT T/SGT Harold W. Seymore POW
RO T/SGT Aythemonde R. Logan POW
BT S/SGT Charles L. Persinger POW
WG S/SGT Harry L. Stecher POW
WG S/SGT Herman E. Grossman POW
TG S/SGT Eugene E. Roehl POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol‘ Swayback

B-17 #42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol‘ Swaybackzoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: VE-E

MACR: 663

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol‘ Swayback

Delivered Denver 12/2/43; Walker 23/2/43; Smoky Hill 28/3/43; Presque 8/4/43; Assigned 413BS/96BG Grafton Underwood 18/4/43 MOOR-FIDITE; Andrews Fd 13/5/43; Snetterton 12/6/43; transferred 532BS/381BG [VE-E] Ridgewell 16/7/43; Missing in Action Schweinfurt 17/8/43; enemy aircraft & flak KO’d #3, #4 feathered, crashed Ebrach, 18 miles SE of Schweinfurt, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 663. OL‘ SWAYBACK.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 24. Mai 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol‘ Swayback Details

Statements from MACR 663

Über dem Ziel wurde das Flugzeug #42-29731 von der Flak zwischen den Triebwerken #3 und #4 getroffen. Triebwerk Nr. 3 qualmte heftig und wurde in Segelstellung gebracht. Das Triebwerk Nr. 4 begann ebenfalls zu rauchen und war ebenfalls in Segelstellung. Das Flugzeug konnte die Formation nicht halten, so dass der Kopilot zur Formation winkte und das Flugzeug aus der Formation zog und einen Kurs von etwa 220° flog, wobei es nachließ. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt befanden sich keine Jäger in der Nähe. Ein weiteres Flugzeug aus unserem Geschwader, das ebenfalls rauchte, stürzte ab, und die beiden Schiffe flogen zusammen. Später wurde unten ein Fallschirm beobachtet, aber ich konnte nicht feststellen, von welchem Schiff er kam.

Marvin D. Lord
1st Lt., Air Corps


42-29731 wurde über das Ziel hinaus getroffen. Triebwerke #3 und #4 ausgefallen. Fünf Fallschirme gesehen. Ein anderes Flugzeug meldete, dass dieses Flugzeug mit ausgefallenen Triebwerken Nr. 3 und Nr. 4 im Gleitflug auf 17000 abstürzte. Als es aus den Augen verloren wurde. Ein anderes Flugzeug meldete, dass dieses Flugzeugs von der Flak getroffen wurde und 8 Fallschirme zu sehen waren. Ein anderes Flugzeug meldete, dass dieses Flugzeug unter der Gruppe mit ausgefallenen Triebwerken Nr. 3 und Nr. 4 direkt über dem Ziel abstürzte. Zwei gingen zu Boden. Keine Jäger um ihn herum. Noch ein weiteres Flugzeug meldete dieses Flugzeug mit Triebwerken Nr. 3 und Nr. 4, eines rauchend, auf einem Kurs von 220°, das auf geradem Kurs allmählich nachließ. Wieder ein anderes meldete, dass dieses Flugzeug zwei Triebwerke über dem Ziel verlor und sich mit Kurs auf die Schweiz zurückzog, was ihm anscheinend gelang.

Don S. Williams
1st Lt. Air Corps
381st Bomb Group (H)

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29731 / Moore-Fidite aka Ol‘ Swayback Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Leo P. Jarvis POW
CP 2LT Eugene E. Mancinelli POW
BOMB 2LT William D. Lockhart POW
ENG/TT T/SGT Harold W. Seymore POW
RO T/SGT Aythemonde R. Logan POW
BT S/SGT Charles L. Persinger POW
WG S/SGT Harry L. Stecher POW
WG S/SGT Herman E. Grossman POW
TG S/SGT Eugene E. Roehl POW

Kommentar schreiben