B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer

B-17 #42-30119 / Hunter’s Answerzoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

MACR: 414

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer

Delivered Cheyenne 14/4/43; Smoky Hill 22/4/43; Morrison 5/5/43; Warner Robins 10/5/43; Morrison 18/5/43; Assigned 346BS/99BG Navarin 14/6/43; Oudna 4/8/43; Tortorella 11/12/43; Missing in Action Foggia 22/7/43 with Frank Hunter, Dickell, Andrews, Creadon, Morris, Ishum, Smith (8 Killed in Action); Titus, Walker (2 Prisoner of War). Missing Air Crew Report 414. HUNTER’S ANSWER.

Published: 2. September 2018 / Last updated: 14. June 2021

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer Details

The B-17 in the picture has the name “Vicky”. In the records unfortunately no serial number for “Vicky” is known. In the tail the numbers 23011? are to be recognized well.

Using the principle of elimination, I conclude that “Vicky” must have serial number #42-30119. Which is also known as “Hunter’s Answer”.

The photos show the last moments of the B-17 #42-30119 “Vicky”.

Picture top left shows the B-17 “Vicky” having reached the target and drops its bombs. The top right picture shows the “Vicky” after it had been hit, with flames pouring from the rear of the inner starboard engine. In the lower left photo, the pilot is pulling the stricken ship from the formation, leaving a trail of smoke and flames. The final picture shows the breaking up of “Vicky”. Two members of the crew are to be seen parachuting downward.

Statements of eyewitnesses from MACR 414

I was second elemend leader of the formation in which aircraft 42-30119 was flying. We were just coming off of the target and making a turn, we were flying in a javelin-down position down and about half of the element was unsevered. I saw pursuit come in at 11’oclock, about 8 of them, it is my opinion that the aircraft was hit by their attack, causing a fire in number four engine. It appeared to me that the pilot lost control of the aircraft, it rolled over and I could see no doverage on the bottom part of the wing. I was told by a number of my crew that the wing collapsed and hit the tail section causing the aircraft disentegrate. Because of my position I did not see anyone hit the silk.

1Lt. Roger C. Lyon


I was flying as Ball Turret Gunner on aircraft … on July 22, 1943. We had just dropped our bombs and was leaving the target area when I noticed number 4 engine on aircraft number 42-30119 on fire. Apparently the aircraft had been hit by enemy anti-aircraft, causing the fire. Even though the aircraft was burning the pilot remained in position for approximately 2 minutes and then side slipped to the left trying to put out the fire. The right wing section broke off and flew back hitting the tail section, this causing the fuselage to break into. I saw three parachutes. Two were occupied by men of the down aircraft but third was fluttering in the air without an occupent. I watched the two men go down and saw they land on the coast about 15 miles from the target.

S/Sgt. George Leffingwell

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 2LT Frank Hamblin Hunter KIA
CP 1LT John C. Dickel, Jr. KIA
BOMB 2LT Jack D. Creeden KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Kenneth E. Titus POW
RO T/SGT Francis R. Morris KIA
BT S/SGT Elarey Jairus Isham KIA
WG S/SGT John J. Tenis KIA
WG SGT Arthur J. Smith KIA
TG S/SGT Louis E. Walker POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer

B-17 #42-30119 / Hunter’s Answerzoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

MACR: 414

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer

Delivered Cheyenne 14/4/43; Smoky Hill 22/4/43; Morrison 5/5/43; Warner Robins 10/5/43; Morrison 18/5/43; Assigned 346BS/99BG Navarin 14/6/43; Oudna 4/8/43; Tortorella 11/12/43; Missing in Action Foggia 22/7/43 with Frank Hunter, Dickell, Andrews, Creadon, Morris, Ishum, Smith (8 Killed in Action); Titus, Walker (2 Prisoner of War). Missing Air Crew Report 414. HUNTER’S ANSWER.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 14. Juni 2021

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer Details

Die B-17 im Bild trägt den Namen „Vicky“. In den Aufzeichnungen ist leider keine Seriennummer für „Vicky“ bekannt. Im Heck sind die Nummern 23011? gut zu erkennen.

Nach dem Ausschlussprinzip, komme ich zum Ergebnis, dass „Vicky“ die Seriennummer #42-30119 haben muss. Welches auch „Hunter’s Answer“ genannt wird.

Die Fotos zeigen die letzten Momente der B-17 #42-30119 „Vicky“.

Das Bild oben links zeigt die B-17 „Vicky“, die das Ziel erreicht hat und ihre Bomben abwirft. Das Bild oben rechts zeigt die „Vicky“ nach dem Treffer, wobei die Flammen von der Rückseite des inneren Steuerbordmotors ausströmen. Auf dem Foto unten links zieht der Pilot das getroffene Flugzeug aus der Formation und hinterlässt eine Rauch- und Flammenspur. Das letzte Bild zeigt das Auseinanderbrechen der „Vicky“. Zwei Besatzungsmitglieder sind beim Fallschirmspringen nach unten zu sehen.

Augenzeugenberichte aus MACR 414

Ich war der zweite Elemendführer der Formation, in der das Flugzeug 42-30119 flog. Wir kamen gerade vom Ziel ab und machten eine Kurve, wir flogen mit dem Speer nach unten, und etwa die Hälfte des Elements war unzertrennt. Ich sah die Verfolger um 11 Uhr kommen, etwa 8 von ihnen. Meiner Meinung nach wurde das Flugzeug von ihrem Angriff getroffen und verursachte einen Brand im Triebwerk Nummer vier. Es schien mir, dass der Pilot die Kontrolle über das Flugzeug verlor, es überschlug sich, und ich konnte keine Überdeckung im unteren Teil des Flügels erkennen. Ein Teil meiner Besatzung teilte mir mit, dass der Flügel zusammengebrochen sei und das Heckteil getroffen habe, wodurch sich das Flugzeug auflöste. Aufgrund meiner Position konnte ich nicht sehen, dass jemand das Seidentuch traf.

1Lt. Roger C. Lyon


Ich flog am 22. Juli 1943 als Ball Turret Gunner auf der B-17… am 22. Juli 1943. Wir hatten gerade unsere Bomben abgeworfen und waren dabei, das Zielgebiet zu verlassen, als ich bemerkte, dass der Motor Nummer 4 des Flugzeugs Nummer 42-30119 brannte. Anscheinend war das Flugzeug von feindlichen Flugzeugen getroffen worden, wodurch das Feuer ausgelöst wurde. Obwohl das Flugzeug brannte, blieb der Pilot etwa 2 Minuten lang in Position und rutschte dann nach links aus, als er versuchte, das Feuer zu löschen. Die rechte Tragfläche brach ab und flog zurück und traf das Heckteil, wodurch der Rumpf einbrach. Ich sah drei Fallschirme. Zwei waren mit Männern des abgeschossenen Flugzeugs besetzt, aber der dritte flatterte ohne Besatzung in der Luft. Ich beobachtete die beiden Männer beim Abstieg und sah, wie sie etwa 15 Meilen vom Ziel entfernt an der Küste landeten.

S/Sgt George Leffingwell

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30119 / Hunter’s Answer Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Frank Hamblin Hunter KIA
CP 1LT John C. Dickel, Jr. KIA
BOMB 2LT Jack D. Creeden KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Kenneth E. Titus POW
RO T/SGT Francis R. Morris KIA
BT S/SGT Elarey Jairus Isham KIA
WG S/SGT John J. Tenis KIA
WG SGT Arthur J. Smith KIA
TG S/SGT Louis E. Walker POW

Kommentar schreiben