B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-31857

B-17 #42-31857zoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

MACR: 5437 / KU: 1274

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-31857

Delivered Cheyenne 26/12/43; Lincoln 10/1/44; Savannah 13/1/44; Morrison 26/1/44; Assigned 340BS/97BG Amendola 28/1/44; Missing in Action Wollersdorf A/fd, Aus. 29/5/44 with Jacob Rosenberg, Kelley, Covington, Jones, Cooper, Gibson, Lavereaux, Ashe, Kalfsbeck, Meinecke; flak, crashed Ransdorf, Aus; Missing Air Crew Report 5437.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31857 Details

I the undersigned was flying as a ball turret gunner in aircraft #641, of the 341st Bomb Squadron, on the 29 May, 1944. I called to the pilot of our aircraft on the interphone that a B-17 was going down at 1001 o’clock. I looked in that direction and saw it was flying level, even though it had dropped from 2000 to 5000 feet. Either #1 or #2, engines was smoking pretty bad. I took my eyes off of the aircraft for a fraction of a minute, and when I looked back once more, I saw it going down in a spin, parts flying from everywhere. The aircraft blew apart at about 10000 feet, the biggest part I saw was a fraction from the wing. I saw one chute come out and open, that was all I saw.

Sgt. Stanley J. Kmiec
Ball Turret Gunner


I the undersigned was flying as a tail gunner in aircraft #464, of the 342nd Bomb Squadron. I saw an aircraft of our formation burst into flames on or near the left wing tip. We had just come off the target, and nearly out of the flak area. The aircraft suddenly went into a spin, the pilot regained control for a few seconds after falling about two thousand feet. He then seemed to lose control once again, and the aircraft again went into a dive, the left wing burning furiously. the left wing exploded and I observed three chutes come out of the aircraft, and they all opened. The aircraft then went out of my sight.

S/Sgt. James B. Jackson
Tail Gunner


I the undersigned was flying as a ball turret gunner on aircraft number 876, when we were just out of the flak area. I was looking around to see if everyone was OK, airplane number 857, was flying just below and behind us, and it looked as though #1 & #2 engines were just windmilling, but the left wing tip began to smoke and the aircraft dove down about 2000 feet and pulled up and was flying level once again. I could see gaas spraying from the left wing tip. The plane fell back then, and started down, the left wing tip was on fire and burned to the outboard motor, before the aircraft exploded. I then saw three chutes come out of the aircraft, and the all opened. That was the last I saw of the aircraft.

Sgt. Edward F. Gerardy
Ball Turret Gunner


Source: MACR 5437

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31857 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 2LT Jacob L. Rosenberg KIA
CP 2LT Hugh J. Kelley KIA
BOMB 2LT William C. Jones KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Frederick R. Cooper POW
RO S/SGT James R. Gibson KIA
BT S/SGT Hiram F. Kalfsbeek POW
WG SGT Robert Q. Ashe, Jr. KIA
WG SGT Lewis A. LaMoreux KIA
TG S/SGT Willie A. Meinecke POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-31857

B-17 #42-31857zoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

MACR: 5437 / KU: 1274

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-31857

Delivered Cheyenne 26/12/43; Lincoln 10/1/44; Savannah 13/1/44; Morrison 26/1/44; Assigned 340BS/97BG Amendola 28/1/44; Missing in Action Wollersdorf A/fd, Aus. 29/5/44 with Jacob Rosenberg, Kelley, Covington, Jones, Cooper, Gibson, Lavereaux, Ashe, Kalfsbeck, Meinecke; flak, crashed Ransdorf, Aus; Missing Air Crew Report 5437.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31857 Details

Ich, der Unterzeichnete, flog am 29. Mai 1944 als Kugelturmschütze im Flugzeug Nr. 641 des 341. Bombengeschwaders. Ich rief dem Piloten unserer Maschine über das Interphone an, dass eine B-17 auf 1001 Uhr abstürzen würde. Ich schaute in diese Richtung und sah, dass sie flach flog, obwohl sie von 2000 auf 5000 Fuß gesunken war. Entweder Nr. 1 oder Nr. 2, die Motoren qualmten ziemlich stark. Ich ließ das Flugzeug für den Bruchteil einer Minute aus den Augen, und als ich noch einmal zurückblickte, sah ich, wie es im Trudeln abstürzte und Teile von überall her flogen. Das Flugzeug flog in einer Höhe von etwa 10000 Fuß auseinander, der größte Teil, den ich sah, war ein Bruchteil des Flügels. Ich sah einen Fallschirm herauskommen und sich öffnen, das war alles, was ich sah.

Sgt. Stanley J. Kmiec
Kugelturmschütze


Der Unterzeichnete flog als Heckschütze im Flugzeug Nr. 464 des 342. Bombengeschwaders. Ich sah ein Flugzeug unserer Formation auf oder nahe der linken Flügelspitze in Flammen aufgehen. Wir hatten gerade das Ziel verlassen und waren fast aus dem Flakbereich herausgekommen. Das Flugzeug geriet plötzlich ins Trudeln, der Pilot erlangte nach einem Sturz aus etwa zweitausend Fuß für einige Sekunden die Kontrolle zurück. Dann schien er erneut die Kontrolle zu verlieren, und das Flugzeug geriet erneut in einen Sturzflug, wobei die linke Tragfläche wütend brannte. die linke Tragfläche explodierte, und ich beobachtete drei Fallschirme, die aus dem Flugzeug kamen, und sie öffneten sich alle. Dann verschwand das Flugzeug aus meinem Blickfeld.

S/Sgt. James B. Jackson
Heckschütze


Ich, der Unterzeichner, flog als Kugelturmschütze auf Flugzeug Nummer 876, als wir gerade aus dem Flakbereich heraus waren. Ich schaute mich um, um zu sehen, ob alle in Ordnung waren, Flugzeug Nummer 857 flog knapp unter uns und hinter uns, und es sah aus, als ob die Triebwerke Nr. 1 und Nr. 2 nur in Segelstellung waren, aber die linke Flügelspitze begann zu rauchen, und das Flugzeug tauchte etwa 2000 Fuß ab und zog wieder hoch und flog wieder waagerecht. Ich konnte sehen, wie Gas von der linken Flügelspitze sprühte. Die linke Flügelspitze stand in Flammen und brannte bis auf den Außenbordmotor ab, bevor das Flugzeug explodierte. Dann sah ich, wie drei Fallschirme aus dem Flugzeug kamen, und alle öffneten sich. Das war das letzte, was ich von dem Flugzeug sah.

Sgt. Edward F. Gerardy
Kugelturmschütze


Quelle: MACR 5437

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31857 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Jacob L. Rosenberg KIA
CP 2LT Hugh J. Kelley KIA
BOMB 2LT William C. Jones KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Frederick R. Cooper POW
RO S/SGT James R. Gibson KIA
BT S/SGT Hiram F. Kalfsbeek POW
WG SGT Robert Q. Ashe, Jr. KIA
WG SGT Lewis A. LaMoreux KIA
TG S/SGT Willie A. Meinecke POW

Kommentar schreiben