B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah

B-17 #42-32109 / Mizpahzoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

MACR: 6901

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah

Delivered Cheyenne 24/1/44; MacDill 5/2/44; Morrison 9/3/44; Assigned 840BS/483BG Tortorella 13/3/44; Missing in Action Budapest 14/7/44 with 1Lt Ewald A Swanson, 2Lt Paul Berndt, Gramenzi, Simonelli, Hish, Bell, Kelley, Tucker (8 Prisoner of War); Henderson, Dudley (2 Killed in Action); flak, nose blown off, crashed Solt; Missing Air Crew Report 6901. MIZPAH.

Last updated: 9. August 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah Details

Eyewitness Statements from MACR 6901

Aircraft No. 42-32109 received a direct hit in the nose. The pilot had control of the ship for a few seconds while I saw him. The Bombardier was probably instantly killed. The Ball Turret Gunner of our ship (42-97792) observed five chutes.

2Lt. John M. Turturro


Aircraft No. 42-32109 was flying in number two position directly opposite my ship (42-97792). About two thirds of the way down the bomb run, the nose of 109 peeled up as though something had cut it off. It fell back over the cockpit. The ship nosed up into the air then settled back as though the pilot had control. Then he went out of my sight. The ship sustained a direct hit.

It was observed that five good chutes and one tattered chute came out of the plane. I doubt very much if eighter the Navigator or Bombardier werer alive after the burst.

2Lt. Dwayne L. Goodwin


Aircraft No. 42-32109 received a direct hit in the nose. The nose blew over the cockpit of the ship and I saw five chutes leaving the ship. The plane was covered with blood and the Navigator most likely jumped, but his chute was torn pretty bad. I didn’t see the ship as it was hit.

S/Sgt. Charles L. Stroll, Jr.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Edward A. Swanson POW
CP 2LT Paul Berndt POW
BOMB 2LT Kenneth W. Dudley KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Frank N. Gramenzi POW
RO T/SGT George J. Simonelli POW
BT S/SGT Arnold R. Kelley POW
WG S/SGT Dale R. Hish POW
WG S/SGT Wesley D. Tucker POW
TG S/SGT Charles W. Bell POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah

B-17 #42-32109 / Mizpahzoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

MACR: 6901

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah

Delivered Cheyenne 24/1/44; MacDill 5/2/44; Morrison 9/3/44; Assigned 840BS/483BG Tortorella 13/3/44; Missing in Action Budapest 14/7/44 with 1Lt Ewald A Swanson, 2Lt Paul Berndt, Gramenzi, Simonelli, Hish, Bell, Kelley, Tucker (8 Prisoner of War); Henderson, Dudley (2 Killed in Action); flak, nose blown off, crashed Solt; Missing Air Crew Report 6901. MIZPAH.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 9. August 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah Details

Augenzeugenberichte aus MACR 6901

Flugzeug Nr. 42-32109 erhielt einen direkten Treffer im Bug. Der Pilot hatte für einige Sekunden die Kontrolle über das Schiff, während ich ihn sah. Der Bombenschütze wurde wahrscheinlich sofort getötet. Der Kugelturmschütze unseres Flugzeuges (42-97792) beobachtete fünf Fallschirme.

2Lt. John M. Turturro


Flugzeug Nr. 42-32109 flog auf Position zwei direkt gegenüber meinem Flugzeug (42-97792). Auf etwa zwei Dritteln des Bombenabwurfs schälte sich die Nase der 109 auf, als hätte ihr etwas den Weg abgeschnitten. Sie fiel über das Cockpit zurück. Das Flugzeug zog nach oben und setzte sich dann zurück, als ob der Pilot die Kontrolle hätte. Dann ging er mir aus den Augen. Das Flugzeug erlitt einen direkten Treffer.

Es wurde beobachtet, dass fünf gute Schirme und ein zerfetzter Schirm aus dem Flugzeug kamen. Ich bezweifle sehr, dass der Navigator oder der Bombenschütze nach dem Treffer noch am Leben waren.

2Lt. Dwayne L. Goodwin


Flugzeug Nr. 42-32109 erhielt einen direkten Treffer im Bug. Der Bug wehte über das Cockpit des Flugzeuges und ich sah fünf Schirme das Flugzeug verlassen. Das Flugzeug war mit Blut bedeckt, und der Navigator sprang höchstwahrscheinlich, aber sein Fallschirm war ziemlich stark zerrissen. Ich habe das Flugzeug nicht gesehen, als es getroffen wurde.

S/Sgt. Charles L. Stroll, Jr.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-32109 / Mizpah Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Edward A. Swanson POW
CP 2LT Paul Berndt POW
BOMB 2LT Kenneth W. Dudley KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Frank N. Gramenzi POW
RO T/SGT George J. Simonelli POW
BT S/SGT Arnold R. Kelley POW
WG S/SGT Dale R. Hish POW
WG S/SGT Wesley D. Tucker POW
TG S/SGT Charles W. Bell POW

Kommentar schreiben