B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen

B-17 #42-97214 / Carolina Queenzoom_in

Source:
fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: GD-B

MACR: 5181

Missions: 2

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen

Delivered Cheyenne 8/2/44; Kearney 27/2/44; Grenier 8/3/44; Assigned 534BS/381BG [GD-B] Ridgewell 25/3/44; Missing in Action 2m Berlin 24/5/44 with John Wardencki, Co-pilot: Chas Dayton, Navigator: Willard Blackfield, Bombardier: Bill Morrison, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Warren Backelin, Radio Operator: Bob Miller, Ball turret gunner: Chas Anderson, Waist gunner: George Elliott,Tail gunner: Harry Telzerow (9 Killed in Action); mid air coll, crashed Gratze, 17 miles NE of Berlin, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 5181. CAROLINA QUEEN.

Published: 12. June 2018 / Last updated: 3. June 2021

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen Details

Original image caption:
Better Late Than Never – Five hours after the other ships in the group had returned from a bombing mission over Oldenburg, Germany. April 8, 1944, the Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress “Carolina Queen” piloted by Lt. Leslie A. Bond (Note by admin, probably Leslie E. Bond), came sliding home in a flawless belly landing. Unable to lower the ship’s wheels to normal landing position, Lt. Bond was compelled to circle about until what is believed to be the first successful tool-passing job in the ETO was accomplished. Lt. Col. Conway S. Hall, deputy group commander, piloted the Fortress from which special tools used to jettison “Carolina Queen’s” ball turret, were passed by cable to a crewman standing in the radio hatch of the latter ship. Patterned after successful aerial refueling stunts of old endurance fliers the wartime version enacted. With tools so unusually provided, “Carolina Queen” ball turret was able to loosened and finally dropped over the English Channel. Lt. Bond returned to base and brought his hip in for a perfect tobaggan landing, made easier on both pilot and plane by absence of obstructing fuselage straining under turret. Only damage was bent propeller and skinned undercarriage and it will be in the air very shortly.

Werbung/Advertisement

About the loss of B-17 #42-97214 / Carolina Queen

Probably mid-air-collision with B-17 #42-31291 during an attack of German fighter planes.

Statements of Eyewitnesses from MACR 5181

I certify that I, 2nd Lt John A. Martynick, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), was serving as Pilot on B-17G, 42-97238 during the afternoon of the 24 May 1944 and can report the following statement concerning aircraft B-17G, 42-97214.

On the 23rd of May 1944 during a raid on Berlin I was flying #2 position in the low squadron of the hight group. As the wing approached the target a number of fighters could be observed some distance ahead preparing for an attack. From my position in the formation the following was seen. Three to four lines of four fighters each made their way through a wing ahead continueing on through our lead squadron. While engaging this formation, ship 42-31291 was seen to explode and a second or so later, ship 42-97214 met the same fate.

My personal opinion of what happened is that both planes exploded due to enemy fire.

2Lt. John A. Martynick


I certify that I, 1st Lt Charles E. Ackerman, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), was serving as Pilot on B-17G, 42-32049 during the afternoon of the 24 May 1944 and can report the following statement concerning aircraft B-17G, 42-97214.

On the 24 May 1944 I was flying lead in the low squadron of the high group. Eight enemy aircraft made a pass at the high group just after bombs away. The number three aircraft in the lead squadron of the hight group was crippled by a 20 mm shell. As it settled back through the formation it lowered on the number three aircraft in the second element of the same squadron causing an explosion and total destruction of both aircraft and crew.

This observation was [unreadable word in MACR] at the time but further accounts from other witnesses thoroughly substantiate this view.

1Lt. Charles E. Ackerman


I certify that I, 1st Lt John W. Williams, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), was serving as Pilot on B-17G, 42-97174 during the afternoon of the 24 May 1944 and can report the following statement concerning aircraft B-17G, 42-97214.

On the above mentioned date I was Pilot of aircraft B-17G 42-97174 flying in the Deputy Group Lead position when I saw another aircraft run into 1st Lt. John A. Wardencki, in aircraft B-17G 42-97217 and both ships blew up. As far as I know no one got out of Lt. Wardencki’s hip.

This happened just after we were turning off the target and enemy fighters had attacked us. However both ships seemed to be under control until the time they ran together.

1Lt John W. Williams

Werbung/Advertisement

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen

B-17 #42-97214 / Carolina Queenzoom_in

Quelle:
fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: GD-B

MACR: 5181

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen

Delivered Cheyenne 8/2/44; Kearney 27/2/44; Grenier 8/3/44; Assigned 534BS/381BG [GD-B] Ridgewell 25/3/44; Missing in Action 2m Berlin 24/5/44 with John Wardencki, Co-pilot: Chas Dayton, Navigator: Willard Blackfield, Bombardier: Bill Morrison, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Warren Backelin, Radio Operator: Bob Miller, Ball turret gunner: Chas Anderson, Waist gunner: George Elliott,Tail gunner: Harry Telzerow (9 Killed in Action); mid air coll, crashed Gratze, 17 miles NE of Berlin, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 5181. CAROLINA QUEEN.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 12. September 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97214 / Carolina Queen Details

Original Bildunterschrift (aus dem Englischen):
Besser spät als nie – Fünf Stunden nachdem die anderen Flugzeuge der Gruppe von einem Bombenangriff über Oldenburg, Deutschland, zurückgekehrt waren. Am 8. April 1944 kam die von Lt. Leslie A. Bond gesteuerte Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress „Carolina Queen“ mit einer makellosen Bauchlandung nach Hause gerutscht. Da er nicht in der Lage war, die Räder des Flugzeuges in die normale Landeposition zu bringen, war Lt. Bond gezwungen, sich im Kreis zu drehen, bis die vermutlich erste erfolgreiche Werkzeugübergabe in der ETO abgeschlossen war. Lt. Col. Conway S. Hall, stellvertretender Gruppenkommandant, steuerte die Festung, von der aus Spezialwerkzeuge, die zum Abwerfen des Kugelturms der „Carolina Queen“ verwendet wurden, per Kabel zu einem Besatzungsmitglied geführt wurden, das in der Funkluke des Flugzeugs stand. Nach erfolgreichen Luftbetankungs-Stunts von alten Dauerfliegern wurde die Kriegsversion inszeniert. Mit so ungewöhnlich bereitgestelltem Werkzeug konnte sich der Kugelturm der „Carolina Queen“ lösen und schließlich über dem Ärmelkanal fallen gelassen werden. Lt. Bond kehrte zur Basis zurück und brachte seine B-17 für eine perfekte Bauchlandung ein, die sowohl für den Piloten als auch für das Flugzeug dadurch erleichtert wurde, dass sich der Rumpf unter dem Turm nicht verhedderte. Der einzige Schaden waren verbogene Propeller und ein gehäutetes Fahrwerk, und er wird sehr bald in der Luft sein.

Werbung/Advertisement

Verlust von B-17 #42-97214 / Carolina Queen

Vermutlich Kollision in der Luft mit B-17 #42-31291 bei einem Angriff deutscher Jagdflugzeuge.

Aussagen von Augenzeugen aus MACR 5181

Ich bestätige, dass ich, 2Lt John A. Martynick, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), am Nachmittag des 24. Mai 1944 als Pilot auf der B-17G, 42-97238 diente und kann die folgende Erklärung bezüglich des Flugzeugs B-17G, 42-97214, abgeben.

Am 23. Mai 1944 während eines Angriffs auf Berlin flog ich auf Position 2 im unteren Staffel der oberen Gruppe. Als sich das Geschwader dem Ziel näherte, konnte man in einiger Entfernung eine Reihe von Jägern beobachten, die sich auf einen Angriff vorbereiteten. Von meiner Position in der Formation aus sah man folgendes. Drei bis vier Reihen von je vier Jägern bahnten sich ihren Weg durch einen vorausliegenden Geschwader und setzten ihren Weg durch unser Führungsstaffel fort. Während des Angriffs auf diese Formation sah man, wie Flugzeug 42-31291 explodierte, und etwa eine Sekunde später erlitt B-17 42-97214 das gleiche Schicksal.

Meine persönliche Meinung zu den Geschehnissen ist, dass beide Flugzeuge durch feindliches Feuer getroffen worden sind und explodierten.

2Lt. John A. Martynick


Ich bestätige, dass ich, 1. Leutnant Charles E. Ackerman, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), während des Nachmittags des 24. Mai 1944 als Pilot auf der B-17G, 42-32049 diente und kann die folgende Erklärung bezüglich des Flugzeugs B-17G, 42-97214, abgeben.

Am 24. Mai 1944 flog ich an der Spitze der unteren Staffel der hohen Gruppe. Acht feindliche Flugzeuge flogen kurz nach dem Abwurf der Bomben an der hohen Gruppe vorbei. Das Flugzeug Nummer drei im Führungsstaffel der oberen Gruppe wurde durch eine 20 mm Granate getroffen. Als es sich durch die Formation zurücksetzte, senkte es sich auf das Flugzeug Nummer drei im zweiten Element desselben Staffel und verursachte eine Explosion und die totale Vernichtung von Flugzeug und Besatzung.

Diese Beobachtung war zu jener Zeit [unlesbares Wort im MACR], aber weitere Berichte anderer Zeugen untermauern diese Ansicht gründlich.

1Lt. Charles E. Ackerman


Ich bestätige, dass ich, 1st Lt John W. Williams, 534th Bombardment Squadron (H), 381st Bombardment Group (H), am Nachmittag des 24. Mai 1944 als Pilot auf der B-17G, 42-97174, diente und kann folgende Erklärung bezüglich des Flugzeugs B-17G, 42-97214, abgeben

An dem oben genannten Datum war ich Pilot des Flugzeugs B-17G 42-97174, das in der Position des stellvertretenden Gruppenleiters flog, als ich sah, wie ein weiteres Flugzeug in das Flugzeug B-17G 42-97217 des 1Lt. John A. Wardencki geriet und beide Flugzeuge explodierten. Soweit ich weiß, kam niemand aus der B-17 von Lt. Wardencki heraus.

Dies geschah kurz nachdem wir vom Ziel weg drehten und feindliche Jäger uns angegriffen hatten. Beide Flugzeuge schienen jedoch bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, als sie zusammenstießen, unter Kontrolle zu sein.

1Lt. John W. Williams

Werbung/Advertisement

Kommentar schreiben