B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97444

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-97444

Manufacturer:
Lockheed/Vega

MACR: 2392

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-97444

Delivered Denver 18/11/43; Kearney 27/11/43; Assigned 340BS/97BG Cerignola 14/12/43; Amendola 16/1/44; Missing in Action Anzio 17/2/44 with Joe Csupak, Kirkpatrick, Stats, D’Abbracci, Pearce, Maddin, Robbins, Mazza, Taylor, Shanahan; flak, crashed Anzio; Missing Air Crew Report 2392.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97444 Details

B17G #42-97444 took off from Amandola Air Field, Italy on a bombing mission over Anzio, Italy. They were hit by ground anti-aircraft fire. They were given the command to bail out, however only one parachute was seen by other planes in the area before B-17G #42-97444 exploded in mid-air.

Source: https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/56311854

The wrackage were found by Philippe Castellano in 27 meters of deep and 3 km north-west of Anzio Habour. The wreck is a complete wing and bomb bay. No nose and tail fuselage, rest is missing.

Philippe Castellano (http://www.aero-relic.org/):

  • The engine #1 and his wing part is breacking and missing by fisher net trailling action.
  • The engine #2 have disapear but his main landing gear with his wheel and his turbosupercharger still present at their original place but depressed by destruction at the bottom of the wing. It seem that the ship was badly hit by Flak shells in his #2 and #3 engines section.
  • The number 3 engine is the only one still in place but collapsed and is lying in horizontal position buried in the deep mud. Impossible of see if his big propeller is still under mug or not ? His turbosupercharger is destroyed and lie on the side. His landing gear is complete with his tire flat and torn with hole by Flak.
  • The engine mount (no engine) of the # 4 engine is in better shappe with his turbosupercharger still in his original position. Only one oxygen cylinder (for the crew) is seeing in the wing.
  • The bomb bay is complete and had lost his two doors. Inside still the attachs system in open position, no bombs’load.

Photos of the wreckage

Photo: Philippe Castellano
Photo: Philippe Castellano
Werbung/Advertisement

Eyewitness Statements from MACR 2392

I the undersigned was flying on aircraft number 437, in the 342nd Bomb Squadron (H), AAF. I saw the aircraft in question go into a vertical climb, and at the peak I saw a parachute leave the aircraft open. Before this the Radio operator on my ship saw another chute, which I saw a bit later. And as the aircraft went into a dive I saw four (4) more chutes came out open. The aircraft dove straight down until it was quite near the water, then it seemed to level off and burst into flames, and exploded. After it exploded I saw a white dot on or near the water that regambled a parachute. I am not certain of this though, as it was quite a distance from me by then.

Sgt. George W. Adams
Tail Gunner


I the undersigned was flying in aircraft number 436, of the 414th Bomb Squadron (H), AAF. I saw the aircraft in question first flying in level flight, and one chute opened near the rear of the ship. The aircraft then went turning into a dive, and into a loop. Then the second chute opened. As the aircraft started down in a dive, two more chutes opened it looked as though from the waist gunners positions. The plane had started smoking from the start of the dive, and then two more chutes openedm and I saw the aircraft catch fire, directly after one more chute opened number 2, and number 4 engine fell off, and the aircraft went into three pieces. A few seconds later it hit the water in three parts. The last chute was by them drifting toward land, but came down in the water.

Sgt. Roy Morris
Tail Gunner

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97444 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 2LT Joseph Csupak MIA
CP 2LT Jack B. Kirkpatrick KIA
BOMB F/O Armond E. D'Abbracci KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Homer A. Maddin POW
RO S/SGT Robert L. Robbins KIA
BT SGT John Mazza MIA
WG SGT James A. Shanahan MIA
WG S/SGT Wayne A. Pearce MIA
TG SGT Fred Taylor MIA

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97444

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-97444

Hersteller:
Lockheed/Vega

MACR: 2392

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-97444

Delivered Denver 18/11/43; Kearney 27/11/43; Assigned 340BS/97BG Cerignola 14/12/43; Amendola 16/1/44; Missing in Action Anzio 17/2/44 with Joe Csupak, Kirkpatrick, Stats, D’Abbracci, Pearce, Maddin, Robbins, Mazza, Taylor, Shanahan; flak, crashed Anzio; Missing Air Crew Report 2392.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97444 Details

B17G #42-97444 startet vom Luftstützpunkt Amandola in Italien zu einem Einzatz nach Anzio. Sie wurde von der Flak getroffen und das Signal zum Ausstieg wurde gegeben. Es wurde jedoch nur ein Fallschirm von anderen Flugzeugen gesehen, bevor die B-17 in der Luft explodierte.

Quelle: https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/56311854

Das Wrack wurde in 27 Metern Tiefe und ca. 3 km nordwestlich vom Hafen von Anzio von Philippe Castellano gefunden. Die Wrackteile bestehen aus einer Tragfläche, den Bombenschaucht und hinterer Rumpfbereich. Der Rest wurde bisher nicht gefunden.

Philippe Castellano (http://www.aero-relic.org/):

  • Das Triebwerk Nr. 1 und sein Flügelteil brechen und fehlen aufgrund einer Aktion zum Aufspüren des Fischernetzes.
  • Der Motor # 2 ist verschwunden, aber sein Hauptfahrwerk mit seinem Rad und seinem Turbolader befindet sich noch an seiner ursprünglichen Stelle, ist aber durch Zerstörung am unteren Ende des Flügels niedergedrückt. Es scheint, dass das Schiff von Flak-Granaten in seinen Motoren Nr. 2 und Nr. 3 schwer getroffen wurde.
  • Der Motor Nummer 3 ist der einzige, der noch vorhanden ist, aber zusammengebrochen ist und in horizontaler Position im tiefen Schlamm liegt. Unmöglich zu sehen, ob sein großer Propeller noch unter einem Becher ist oder nicht? Sein Turbolader ist zerstört und liegt auf der Seite. Sein Fahrwerk ist komplett mit seinem Reifen platt und zerrissen mit Loch von Flak.
  • Das Motorlager (kein Motor) des 4. Motors ist besser in Schuss, der Turbolader befindet sich noch in seiner ursprünglichen Position. Nur eine Sauerstoffflasche (für die Besatzung) ist im Flügel zu sehen.
  • Der Bombenschacht ist komplett und hatte seine beiden Türen verloren. Im Innern noch das Anbausystem in geöffneter Position, keine Bombenladung.

Fotos vom Wrack:

Foto: Philippe Castellano
Foto: Philippe Castellano
Werbung/Advertisement

Augenzeugenberichte aus MACR 2392

I der Unterzeichner flog mit dem Flugzeug Nummer 437, im 342. Bombengeschwader (H), AAF. Ich sah, wie das fragliche Flugzeug in einen vertikalen Steigflug überging, und auf dem Gipfel sah ich, wie ein Fallschirm das Flugzeug offen ließ. Davor sah der Funker auf meinem Schiff einen weiteren Fallschirm, den ich etwas später sah. Und als das Flugzeug in einen Sturzflug überging, sah ich vier (4) weitere Schirme offen herauskommen. Das Flugzeug tauchte gerade nach unten, bis es ganz nahe am Wasser war, dann schien es sich zu nivellieren, in Flammen aufzugehen und zu explodieren. Nachdem es explodiert war, sah ich einen weißen Punkt auf oder in der Nähe des Wassers, der einen Fallschirm wieder auffliegen ließ. Ich bin mir dessen jedoch nicht sicher, da er zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon ziemlich weit von mir entfernt war.

Sgt. George W. Adams
Heckschütze


Der Unterzeichner flog mit dem Flugzeug Nummer 436 des 414th Bomb Squadron (H), AAF. Ich sah das fragliche Flugzeug zuerst im Horizontalflug fliegen, und ein Fallschirm öffnete sich nahe dem Heck des Flugzeuges. Dann drehte sich das Flugzeug in einen Sturzflug und in einen Looping. Dann öffnete sich der zweite Fallschirm. Als das Flugzeug im Sturzflug startete, öffneten sich zwei weitere Schirme und es sah aus, als ob es von den Positionen der Rumpfschützen ausging. Das Flugzeug hatte von Beginn des Sturzfluges an zu rauchen begonnen, dann öffneten sich zwei weitere Schirme, und ich sah, wie das Flugzeug Feuer fing, direkt nachdem ein weiterer Schirm öffnete fiel Motor Nummer 2 , und Nummer 4 ab, und das Flugzeug zerfiel in drei Teile. Wenige Sekunden später traf es in drei Teilen auf das Wasser auf. Der letzte Fallschirm war von ihnen in Richtung Land getrieben, kam aber im Wasser herunter.

Sgt. Roy Morris
Heckschütze

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97444 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Joseph Csupak MIA
CP 2LT Jack B. Kirkpatrick KIA
BOMB F/O Armond E. D'Abbracci KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Homer A. Maddin POW
RO S/SGT Robert L. Robbins KIA
BT SGT John Mazza MIA
WG SGT James A. Shanahan MIA
WG S/SGT Wayne A. Pearce MIA
TG SGT Fred Taylor MIA

Kommentar schreiben