Delivered Tulsa 23/3/44; 88BG Hunter 18/5/44; Dow Fd 29/5/44; Assigned 324BS/91BG [DF-F] Bassingbourn 15/6/44; 50+m lost engine en route Fassberg A/fd 4/4/45 with Edgar Moyer, on return crash landed base when u/c collapsed; repaired & transferred 600BS/398BG [N8-R] Nuthampstead; mission to French bridges 8/7/44 with Curtis Lovelace, Co-pilot: Bob Hart, Navigator: Bob Uhl, Bombardier: Alton Andrews, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Bob Rees, Radio Operator: Cliff Weatherwax, Ball turret gunner: Gerard Antaillia, Waist gunner: Phil Fritech,Tail gunner: Sam Miller (9 Returned to Duty); forced to bail out over Essex on return and crash landed Chelsworth, Suffolk; repaired and transferred 306BG 5/45. LITTLE MISS MISCHIEF.

- Werbung/Advertisement -

Details

“Little Miss Mischief” returned from Cologne on October 15th, 1944. She was one of the B-17 machines which carried out the second of three day attacks on this town. Your fuselage was knocked a hole and her ball tower at the aircraft belly so tears to pieces that it seemed incomprehensible as the gunner could survive.

Paul McDowell from Bebraska was the second pilot of the “Little Miss Mischief”. As far as he was concerned, she was much too slow. She suffered from a damage to a support surface, resulting from a recent use. A set of new engines, however, brought them back to the old battleground.

Mcdowell looked by his thick wind protection pane on October 15th, flying a longer use again than he kicked an oar pedal emptily. As well the board speaking traffic was cancelled, however Mcdowell still be, knew Copilot, Herman Balaban, what had happened. Sergeant James Hobbs, the ship’s mechanic, left his command post in the top turret and squeezed by the bomb bay past at the radio room into the back part of the machine. He returned with rigid eyes a while later. MoDowell heard something as: As him to behind large hole accepted to have a look ” there ” he noticed that the hole was large enough, a calf hindurchzuschieben. The bombardier followed to behind to examine damage around which more nearly and came back, excited because of oxygen deficiency. He hairy with intense words on this that everyone must immediately jump down. It thought new possibilities over to put up of the oxygen mask quickly.

The gunner of the right fuselage side, Glenn Staughter, had felt a blow below his feet. He had been swept away by his weapon and was found lying again. He looked on the earth deeply under the machine by a number of large, small and middle holes around him all around. Incapably think he observed confusedly that he was still available as a whole, how blood ran from his heavy boot. The mass of his heel of the left foot was to and the other garrison took care of him soon.

All thoughts on the use of bombs and Cologne had vanished, Mcdowell fought with his top-heavy machine. The gunner Ed Abdo was hemmed in in the ragged ball turret under the belly of the aircraft. Somebody shoved a sheet for him by a hole to protect him in front of the icy stream of air.

Mcdowell was in a height of 8,200 m and had to go to below quickly. He returned his co. pilot to bring some apart separate control cables under control. This seized, however, a wrong cable and “Little Miss Mischief” got even more top-heavy. Mcdowell fetched Balaban back and gave him the order to use the control column itself. He got on the way through the front part of the machine, the radioman room and the bomb shaft. Sign of the pilot should to the co. pilot distance empires which statement about this had to give whether the radioman changed measures to the good or bad which was carried out in the back part. Mcdowell finally seized the right cable and they trimmed the aircraft so into a stable flight situation at 205 km/h.

The heavy pressure on the control column eased and the situation was mastered; however, Mcdowell still had problems. In the back part only landing and to be more precise one it was natural “for number one” and Ed Abdo jammed this one let the large hole perfect. He was honor nervously as chirpy. Looking into the sky back on his seat around him he was about this in the clear one that light was already his deepest fear, however if she should break at the landing, he unite parachute on this back since the Fortress breaking from each other he would have the possibility of jumping down, he was self-supporting.

When they reached Bassingbourn, the ship’s mechanic worked hard to use the strings for trimming and the control cables in the fuselage. The gunner in the ball turret which had taken morphine had frozen to death half but still lived. His roll cost him only a small toe later.

Mcdowell got down her and the “Little Miss Mischief” rolled to the hangar. Colonel Frank Kamykowski of the 444th supply backwardation, however, thought nothing to waste aircraft for a while looke her future gloomy. A remaining rear part of an old still had olive green colored B-17 and he made up, two patched together. After completion of the repair work “Little Miss Mischief” contained parts of 13 different aircraft. Her front B-17G still built from one for the Vega plants in the mass with the Ser.Nr while: Her rear part passed 42-97880, was established for the Boeing plants in Seattle. “Little Miss Mischief” flew even another 14 or 15 missions which she altogether brought about to 50 missions before she had to make a emergency landing in Bassingbourn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Geschichte der B-17 #42-97880 / Little Miss Mischief

Delivered Tulsa 23/3/44; 88BG Hunter 18/5/44; Dow Fd 29/5/44; Assigned 324BS/91BG [DF-F] Bassingbourn 15/6/44; 50+m lost engine en route Fassberg A/fd 4/4/45 with Edgar Moyer, on return crash landed base when u/c collapsed; repaired & transferred 600BS/398BG [N8-R] Nuthampstead; mission to French bridges 8/7/44 with Curtis Lovelace, Co-pilot: Bob Hart, Navigator: Bob Uhl, Bombardier: Alton Andrews, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Bob Rees, Radio Operator: Cliff Weatherwax, Ball turret gunner: Gerard Antaillia, Waist gunner: Phil Fritech,Tail gunner: Sam Miller (9 Returned to Duty); forced to bail out over Essex on return and crash landed Chelsworth, Suffolk; repaired and transferred 306BG 5/45. LITTLE MISS MISCHIEF.

Details 42-97880 / Little Miss Mischief

„Little Miss Mischief“ kehrte am 15. Oktober 1944 von Köln zurück. Sie war eine von den B-17-Maschinen, die den zweiten von drei Tagesangriffen auf diese Stadt durchführte. Ihr Rumpf war durchschlagen und ihr Kugelturm am Flugzeugbauch so zerfetzt, dass es unbegreiflich schien, wie der Schütze überleben konnte.

Paul McDowell aus Bebraska war der zweite Pilot der „Little Miss Mischief“. Soweit es ihn betraf, war sie ihn viel zu langsam. Sie litt unter einem Schaden an einem Trägerflächenholm, herrührend von einem vergangegenen Einsatz. Ein Satz neuer Motoren brachte sie jedoch wieder annährend zum alten Gefechtswert.

Es schaute am 15. Oktober McDowell durch seine dicke Windschutzscheibe, wieder einen längeren Einsatz fliegend, als er ein Ruderpedal leer trat. Ebenso fiel der Bordsprechverkehr aus, jedoch weder McDowell noch sein Copilot, Herman Balaban, wussten, was passiert war. Sergeant James Hobbs, der Bordmechaniker, verließ seinen Gefechtsstand im oberen Turm und drückte sich durch den Bombenschacht vorbei am Funkraum in den hinteren Teil der Maschine. Eine Weile später kehrte er zurück mit starren Augen. MoDowell vernahm etwas wie: „Großes Loch da“ Als er nach hinten ging, nachzuschauen, stellte er fest, dass das Loch groß genug war, ein Kalb hindurchzuschieben. Der Bombenschütze ging nach hinten, um den Schaden näher zu untersuchen und kam, wegen Sauerstoffmangel, erregt zurück. Er behaarte mit heftigen Worten darauf, dass alle sofort abspringen müssten. Nach überstülpen der Sauerstoffmaske überlegte es rasch neue Möglichkeiten.

Der MG-Schütze der rechten Rumpfseite, Glenn Staughter, hatte einen Schlag unter seinen Füßen gespürt. Er war dabei von seiner Waffe weggefegt worden und fand sich liegend wieder. Hierbei schaute er auf die Erde tief unter der Maschine durch eine Anzahl von großen, kleinen und mittleren Löchern rings um ihn herum. Unfähig zu glauben, dass er immer noch als Ganzes vorhanden war, beobachtete er verwirrt, wie Blut aus seinem schweren Stiefel rann. Die Masse seiner Ferse des linken Fußes war hin und die übrige Besatzung nahm sich bald seiner an.

Alle Gedanken über den Bombeneinsatz und Köln waren verflogen, McDowell kämpfte mit seiner kopflastigen Maschine. Im zerfetzten Kugelturm unter dem Bauch des Flugzeugs war der Schütze Ed Abdo eingekeilt. Irgendjemand schob ihm ein Laken durch ein Loch, um ihn vor den eisigen Luftstrom zu schützen.

McDowell befand sich in einer Höhe von 8.200 m und musste sich rasch nach unten begeben. Er sandte seinen Co-Piloten zurück, um einige auseinandergetrennte Steuerkabel unter Kontrolle zu bringen. Dieser ergriff jedoch ein falsches Kabel und „Little Miss Mischief“ wurde noch kopflastiger. McDowell holte Balaban zurück und gab ihm den Auftrag, den Steuerknüppel selbst zu bedienen. Er machte sich auf den Weg durch den vorderen Teil der Maschine, den Funkerraum und den Bombenschacht. Der Funker sollte Zeichen vom Piloten zum Co-Piloten weitereichen, die Aussage darüber zu geben hatte, ob Maßnahmen, die im hinteren Teil vorgenommen wurden, zum guten oder schlechten veränderte. McDowell ergriff schließlich das richtige Kabel und so trimmten sie das Flugzeug in eine stabile Fluglage bei 205 km/h.

Der schwere Druck auf dem Steuerknüppel ließ nach und die Situation war gemeistert; McDowell hatte jedoch immer noch Probleme. Das große Loch im hinteren Teil war natürlich „Nummer Eins“ und der eingeklemmte Ed Abdo ließ nur eine Landung, und zwar eine perfekte, zu. Er war ehr nervös als aufgekratzt. Zurück auf seinem Sitz, in den Himmel um ihn herum schauend, war er sich darüber im klaren, dass er bei einem Auseinanderbrechen der Fortress die Möglichkeit hätte, abzuspringen, da er bereits einen Fallschirm auf dem Rück trug – aber falls sie bei der Landung zerbrechen sollte – Feuer war immer seine größte Furcht.

Als sie Bassingbourn erreichten, arbeitete der Bordmechaniker hart daran, die Strippen zum Trimmen und die Steuerkabel im Rumpf zu bedienen. Der Schütze im Kugelturm, der Morphium eingenommen hatte, war halb erfroren, aber lebte noch. Seine Rolle kostete ihn später nur einen kleinen Zeh.

McDowell bekam sie herunter und die „Little Miss Mischief“ rollte zum Hangar. Für eine Weile schaute ihre Zukunft düster aus, jedoch Colonel Frank Kamykowski des 444. Versorgungs-Deports hielt nichts davon, Flugzeuge zu verschwenden. Er hatte noch ein restliches Hinterteil einer alten oliv-farbenen B-17 und entschied sich, beides zusammenzuflicken. Nach Abschluss der Reparaturarbeiten enthielt „Little Miss Mischief“ Teile von 13 verschiedenen Flugzeugen. Während ihr Vorderteil in der Masse noch aus einer bei den Vega-Werken gebauten B-17G mit der Ser.Nr: 42-97880 bestand, war ihr Hinterteil bei den Boeing-Werken in Seattle hergestellt. „Little Miss Mischief“ flog noch weitere 14 oder 15 Einsätze, die sie insgesamt auf 50 Einsätze brachte, bevor sie in Bassingbourn notlanden musste.

- Werbung/Advertisement -

    Leave a comment



    ** = Deine Email bleibt geheim / Your email will not published.