B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 43-38148

B-17 #43-38148zoom_in

Source:
Ken Thompson [via Facebook]

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: XA-M

MACR: 12856

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 43-38148

Delivered Cheyenne 30/6/44; Kearney 11/7/44; Grenier 1/8/44; Assigned: 549BS/385BG [XA-W] Gt Ashfield 3/8/44; MIA Dresden 2/3/45 Pilot: Leon Tripp, Ed Gildea, Dan Machiewicz, Leon Deziel, Francis Wiemerslage, Bob McCaulay, Henrt Koshemina (7KIA); Elmer Batz, Dick Walters (2POW); Enemy aircraft, crashed Jueledorf, Germany. MACR 12856.

Last updated: 20. September 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-38148 Details

Eyewitness Statements from MACR 12856

Approximately 15 to 20 enemy aircraft made attacks from tail on low squadron. Aircraft 43-38148 was hit by enemy aircraft cannon fire and dove down into clouds out of control. No chutes were seen. Clouds were at about 18000 feet altitude. Some reports indicate that aircraft was on fire as it went into clouds.


The following is a statement of Edward L. Batz, Co-Pilot of B-17 43-38148

I regret to say that I cannot give any information about the rest of my crew; to the best of my knowledge they are dead. I saw only one member of the crew, Sergeant Richard J. Walters, and he was alive and well.

On 2 March 1945, our target was Dresden, Germany, we were at 25000 feet on our way to the target equidistant between Berlin and Leipsig [sic], German, when we were attacked by enemy fighters. There were several fires on the ship and the controls were evidently shot out, because the ship would not respond. The bail out order was given both by bell and by interphone. After the crew had ample time to get out, I went down to the nose escape hatch, finding the engineer sitting beside it because it was jammed. I reached over to pull the emergency release handle when the ship rolled over and blew up. The explosion knocked me unconcious. When I recovered I was falling free, I waited and pulled my chute. I was taken prisoner of war two hours later.

Edward L. Batz

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-38148 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Leon E. Tripp KIA
CP 2LT Edward L. Batz POW
ENG/TT SGT Daniel J. Machiewicz KIA
RO SGT Leon G. Daziel KIA
BT SGT Francis G. Wiemerslage KIA
WG SGT Robert J. McCaulay KIA
TG SGT Henry G. Koshemina KIA
TOG SGT Richard J. Walters POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 43-38148

B-17 #43-38148zoom_in

Quelle:
Ken Thompson [via Facebook]

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: XA-M

MACR: 12856

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 43-38148

Delivered Cheyenne 30/6/44; Kearney 11/7/44; Grenier 1/8/44; Assigned: 549BS/385BG [XA-W] Gt Ashfield 3/8/44; MIA Dresden 2/3/45 Pilot: Leon Tripp, Ed Gildea, Dan Machiewicz, Leon Deziel, Francis Wiemerslage, Bob McCaulay, Henrt Koshemina (7KIA); Elmer Batz, Dick Walters (2POW); Enemy aircraft, crashed Jueledorf, Germany. MACR 12856.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 20. September 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-38148 Details

Augenzeugenaussagen aus MACR 12856

Ungefähr 15 bis 20 feindliche Flugzeuge griffen das untere Staffel von hinten an. Flugzeug 43-38148 wurde vom Kanonenfeuer feindlicher Flugzeuge getroffen und tauchte außer Kontrolle in Wolken ab. Es wurden keine Fallschirme gesehen. Die Wolken befanden sich in etwa 18000 Fuß Höhe. Einige Berichte deuten darauf hin, dass das Flugzeug brannte, als es in die Wolken abstürzte.


Es folgt eine Erklärung von Edward L. Batz, Co-Pilot der B-17 43-38148

Über den Rest meiner Besatzung kann ich leider keine Auskunft geben; nach meinem besten Wissen sind sie tot. Ich sah nur ein Mitglied der Besatzung, Sergeant Richard J. Walters, und er war am Leben und wohlauf.

Am 2. März 1945 war unser Ziel Dresden, Deutschland, wir befanden uns in 25000 Fuß Höhe auf dem Weg zum Ziel in gleicher Entfernung zwischen Berlin und Leipsig [sic], Deutschland, als wir von feindlichen Jägern angegriffen wurden. Es gab mehrere Brände auf dem Flugzeug, und offensichtlich wurden die Steuerungen herausgeschossen, weil das Flugzeug nicht reagierte. Der Befehl zum Aussteigen wurde sowohl per Alarm als auch per Bordsprechanlage gegeben. Nachdem die Besatzung genügend Zeit zum Aussteigen hatte, ging ich zur vorderen Fluchtluke hinunter und fand den Ingenieur daneben sitzen, weil sie blockiert war. Ich griff hinüber, um den Notauslösegriff zu ziehen, als das Flugzeug umkippte und in die Luft flog. Die Explosion schlug mich bewusstlos. Als ich mich erholte, fiel ich frei, wartete und zog meinen Fallschirm. Zwei Stunden später wurde ich in Kriegsgefangenschaft genommen.

Edward L. Batz

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-38148 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Leon E. Tripp KIA
CP 2LT Edward L. Batz POW
ENG/TT SGT Daniel J. Machiewicz KIA
RO SGT Leon G. Daziel KIA
BT SGT Francis G. Wiemerslage KIA
WG SGT Robert J. McCaulay KIA
TG SGT Henry G. Koshemina KIA
TOG SGT Richard J. Walters POW

Kommentar schreiben