B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 44-6546

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 44-6546

Manufacturer:
Douglas

MACR: 12366

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 44-6546

Delivered Hunter 4/9/44; Grenier 21/9/44; Assigned 20BS/2BG Amendola 3/10/44; transferred 32BS/301BG Lucera 29/10/44; Missing in Action Vienna 12/2/45 with Merrill Barnes, Co-pilot: Ward, Navigator: Edelen, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Harper, Radio Operator: Whitcombe, Ball turret gunner: Olis, Waist gunner: Thomas,Tail gunner: Elmer (8 Prisoner of War); Bombardier: Bowman, Waist gunner: Losh (2 Killed in Action); flak, crashed Tapolza; Missing Air Crew Report 12366.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6546 Details

From MACR 12366

I was flying Ball turret on A/C 44-6357 in the 21 position and saw 546 just after it started to peel out of formation and it was going into a spin. The outer leading edge of the left wing crumpled and caught fire and the plane continued down in a flat spin. I saw one chute open and just at 546 went into the clouds I thought another one opened, but I am not positive. Through breaks in the clouds, I saw the plane still in a spin. Through another opening I saw the plane hit the ground and black smoke rising up, but clouds immediately obscured my vision. I don’t think the men had a chance of survival unless some more chutes came out below the clouds.

S/Sgt. William C. Kilby


I was flying left waist gunner in A/C 44-6403 in 23 position. About ten minutes after the target, A/C 44-6546 seemed to have been hit hard in the left wing and gas could be seen leaking very badly. 546 started pulling out of the formation and the left wing started to roll up from the tip. The plane started into a slow roll and fire broke out. Two chutes were seen to open and possibly a third. The plane then went into the layer of clouds at about 10000 and that was the last I could observe. I doubt that the rest of the crew had much of a chance to get out of the plane unless they came out under the undercast.

S/Sgt. Richard A. Stumbaugh

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6546 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Merrill E. Barnes POW
CP 2LT Lawrence A. Ward POW
ENG/TT S/SGT Dale H. Harper POW
RO T/SGT David W. Whitcombe POW
BT S/SGT Edward S. Olie POW
WG S/SGT Athanasius P. Thomas POW
WG S/SGT Sanford E. Losh KIA
TG S/SGT Gael W. Elmer POW
TOG S/SGT Deveroux W. Bowman KIA

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 44-6546

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 44-6546

Hersteller:
Douglas

MACR: 12366

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 44-6546

Delivered Hunter 4/9/44; Grenier 21/9/44; Assigned 20BS/2BG Amendola 3/10/44; transferred 32BS/301BG Lucera 29/10/44; Missing in Action Vienna 12/2/45 with Merrill Barnes, Co-pilot: Ward, Navigator: Edelen, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Harper, Radio Operator: Whitcombe, Ball turret gunner: Olis, Waist gunner: Thomas,Tail gunner: Elmer (8 Prisoner of War); Bombardier: Bowman, Waist gunner: Losh (2 Killed in Action); flak, crashed Tapolza; Missing Air Crew Report 12366.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6546 Details

Aus dem MACR 12366

Ich flog als Kugelturm-Schütze in der B-17 44-6357 in der Position 21 und sah 546, kurz nachdem er sich aus der Formation zu lösen begann und ins Trudeln geriet. Die äußere Vorderkante des linken Flügels war verknickt und fing Feuer, und das Flugzeug setzte sich in einem flachen Trudeln nach unten fort. Ich sah, wie sich ein Schirm öffnete, und gerade als 546 in die Wolken ging, dachte ich, dass sich ein weiterer öffnen würde, aber ich bin mir nicht sicher. Durch Unterbrechungen in den Wolken sah ich, dass sich das Flugzeug noch immer im Trudeln befand. Durch eine weitere Öffnung sah ich das Flugzeug auf den Boden aufschlagen und schwarzen Rauch aufsteigen, aber die Wolken verdunkelten sofort meine Sicht. Ich glaube nicht, dass die Männer eine Überlebenschance hatten, wenn nicht noch ein paar weitere Fallschirme unter den Wolken herauskamen.

S/Sgt. William C. Kilby


Ich flog als linker Rumpfschütze in #44-6403 auf Position 23. Etwa zehn Minuten nach dem Ziel schien die #44-6546 im linken Flügel hart getroffen worden zu sein, und es war zu sehen, dass sehr viel Treibstoff austrat. 546 begann, sich aus der Formation herauszuziehen, und der linke Flügel begann, sich von der Spitze her aufzurollen. Das Flugzeug begann langsam zu rollen, und das Feuer brach aus. Zwei Fallschirme öffneten sich und möglicherweise ein dritter. Bei etwa 10.000 Fuß ging das Flugzeug dann in die Wolkenschicht hinein, und das war das letzte, was ich beobachten konnte. Ich bezweifle, dass der Rest der Besatzung eine große Chance hatte, das Flugzeug zu verlassen, es sei denn, sie kamen unter der Wolkendecke heraus.

S/Sgt. Richard A. Stumbaugh

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6546 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Merrill E. Barnes POW
CP 2LT Lawrence A. Ward POW
ENG/TT S/SGT Dale H. Harper POW
RO T/SGT David W. Whitcombe POW
BT S/SGT Edward S. Olie POW
WG S/SGT Athanasius P. Thomas POW
WG S/SGT Sanford E. Losh KIA
TG S/SGT Gael W. Elmer POW
TOG S/SGT Deveroux W. Bowman KIA

Kommentar schreiben