B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-2979

B-17 #42-2979zoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Douglas

MACR: 3908

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-2979

Assigned 97BG Salina 29/11/42; transferred Biskra 21/1/43; Chateau-du-Rhumel 8/2/43; Pont-du-Fahs, Tun. 1/8/43; Depienne 15/8/43; transferred 49BS/2BG Massicault 14/11/43; Bizerte 2/12/43; Amendola 9/12/43; transferred 346BS/99BG Tortorella 28/3/44; {1m} transferred 815BS/483BG Tortorella 31/3/44; Missing in Action Nis, Yugo 16/4/44 with Ira Warburton, Burnette, Bueker, O’Brien (4 Killed in Action); Holcom, Jeffers, Brynjldsen, Cardone, Clos (6 Returned to Duty); flak damage. Missing Air Crew Report 3908.

Last updated: 29. November 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-2979 Details

The photo sometimes was assigned to B-17 42-5216. But I believe, that isn’t correct.

Eyewitness Statements to the loss of B-17F #42-2979

Planes were over target at 1119. Flak was moderate to heavy and extremely accurate. Plane 979, Lt. Warburton, pilot, was noticed trailing and losing altitude after rallying to the right after bomb release. At 1135, five members of the crew were seen to bail out by my tail gunner, Sgt. Reamer. I never saw the plane in distress until the formation circled waiting for 979. The plane was following the formation until the a point of approximately on the Yugoslavian Coast, according to Sgt. Reamer. Bail out occured approximately 45 miles due west of the alternate target, Nis, Yugoslavia.

2Lt. William W. Craddock
Navigator


The first tim I saw the ship it was about a mile behind us at about 8000 ft. altitude. We head just made a right hand turn off the target & the plane was goind in the same direction we were. About 10 minutes from the target they started bailing out. There were five chutes altogether. Immediately after that the ship started to gain altitude and the formation circled and he caught up with us but he couldn’t manage to stay with us. In a few minutes two men were seen in the waist throwing equipment overboard. I kept sight of them until we got to the coast of Yugoslavia and then a squadron of P-38’s came in and I lost sight of everything.

When the ship was close to our formation I noticed it had a large hole in the right wing behind Number 3 eingine.

Sgt. John G. Reamer
Tail Gunner


Werbung/Advertisement

I was riding in the nose of the ship 775 which was on the left wing of 029. Ship 979 was on the right wing of 029. When passing over the target, I noticed that 97 was still there but when we came out of the turn away from the target, it was no where to be seen. Soon after this the tail gunner called over the interphone saying, “A plane is failling in behind the formation so it mus be in trouble.”

About fifteen minutes after leaving the target five men chuted from the plane. The tail gunner, Sgt. Reamer, reported this as I could not see them. Out formation circled to let the plane catch up with us but it couldn’t keep up, Lt. Blank in 029 dropped back out of formation to act as an escort for the crippled ship. A little later several P-38’s started escorting 029 and 979. I last sight of both B-17’s and the P-38’s after we were cut over the Adriatic Ocean for about five minutes.

I noticed that 979 had its bombay door open and a large hole in the wing just behind engine No. 3.

2Lt. John M. Kissel

Source: MACR 3908

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-2979 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 2LT Ira T. Warburton KIA
CP 2LT James D. Burnette KIA
BOMB F/O Justin J. O'Brien KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT James T. Holcomb RTD
RO S/SGT Herbert W. Brynjldsen RTD
BT SGT David B. Jeffers RTD
WG SGT Walter T. Baines RTD
WG SGT Frank H. Clos RTD
TG SGT Joseph F. Cardone RTD

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-2979

B-17 #42-2979zoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Douglas

MACR: 3908

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-2979

Assigned 97BG Salina 29/11/42; transferred Biskra 21/1/43; Chateau-du-Rhumel 8/2/43; Pont-du-Fahs, Tun. 1/8/43; Depienne 15/8/43; transferred 49BS/2BG Massicault 14/11/43; Bizerte 2/12/43; Amendola 9/12/43; transferred 346BS/99BG Tortorella 28/3/44; {1m} transferred 815BS/483BG Tortorella 31/3/44; Missing in Action Nis, Yugo 16/4/44 with Ira Warburton, Burnette, Bueker, O’Brien (4 Killed in Action); Holcom, Jeffers, Brynjldsen, Cardone, Clos (6 Returned to Duty); flak damage. Missing Air Crew Report 3908.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 29. November 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-2979 Details

Das Foto und der Name wird u.a. auch der B-17 42-5216 zugewiesen. Ich glaube jedoch, dass dies nicht korrekt ist.

Augenzeugenaussagen zum Verlust der B-17F #42-2979

Die Flugzeuge waren mit 1119 über dem Ziel. Die Flak war mäßig bis schwer und extrem genau. Flugzeug 979, Lt. Warburton, Pilot, bemerkte einen Rückstand und Höhenverlust, nachdem es sich nach dem Bombenabwurf nach rechts gesammelt hatte. Um 1135 wurden fünf Besatzungsmitglieder von meinem Heckschützen, Sgt. Reamer, beim Abspringen gesehen. Ich sah das Flugzeug nie in Bedrängnis, bis die Formation kreiste und auf 979 wartete. Laut Sergeant Reamer folgte das Flugzeug der Formation bis zu einem Punkt ungefähr an der jugoslawischen Küste. Der Absprung erfolgte etwa 45 Meilen westlich des Ausweichziels Nis in Jugoslawien.

2Lt. William W. Craddock
Navigator


Als ich das Flugzeug zum ersten Mal sah, war es etwa eine Meile hinter uns auf einer Höhe von etwa 8000 ft. Wir flogen gerade mit der rechten Hand vom Ziel ab, und das Flugzeug flog in die gleiche Richtung wie wir. Etwa 10 Minuten vor dem Ziel begannen sie abzuspringen. Es gab insgesamt fünf Fallschirme. Unmittelbar danach begann das Flugzeug an Höhe zu gewinnen, und die Formation kreiste, und er holte uns ein, aber er konnte nicht bei uns bleiben. Innerhalb weniger Minuten wurden zwei Männer in der Taille gesehen, die Ausrüstung über Bord warfen. Ich behielt sie im Auge, bis wir die Küste Jugoslawiens erreichten, dann kam ein Geschwader von P-38 und ich verlor alles aus den Augen.

Als das Flugzeug in der Nähe unserer Formation war, bemerkte ich, dass es ein großes Loch im rechten Flügel hinter der Maschine Nummer 3 hatte.

Sgt. John G. Reamer
Heckschütze


Werbung/Advertisement

Ich befand mich im Bug der B-17 #775, das sich zur linken von der B-17 #029 befand. B-17 #979 befand sich zur rechten B-17 #029. Als ich das Ziel überflog, bemerkte ich, dass 97 immer noch da war, aber als wir aus der Kurve weg vom Ziel kamen, war es nirgendwo zu sehen. Bald darauf rief der Heckschütze über die Sprechanlage an und sagte: “Ein Flugzeug fällt hinter der Formation aus, es muss also in Schwierigkeiten sein.”

Etwa fünfzehn Minuten nach dem Verlassen des Ziels stiegen fünf Männer aus dem Flugzeug ab. Der Heckschütze, Sgt. Reamer, meldete dies, da ich sie nicht sehen konnte. Die Außenformation kreiste, damit das Flugzeug uns einholen konnte, aber es konnte nicht mithalten. 029 fiel Leutnant Blank aus der Formation zurück, um als Eskorte für das beschädigte Flugzeug zu fungieren. Etwas später begannen mehrere P-38, 029 und 979 zu eskortieren. Ich habe sowohl die B-17 als auch die P-38 zum letzten Mal gesehen, nachdem wir etwa fünf Minuten lang über dem Adriatischen Ozean abgeschnitten waren.

Ich bemerkte, dass die Bombenklappe der 979 offen war und ein großes Loch in der Tragfläche direkt hinter Triebwerk Nr. 3 hatte.

2Lt. John M. Kissel

Quelle: MACR 3908

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-2979 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Ira T. Warburton KIA
CP 2LT James D. Burnette KIA
BOMB F/O Justin J. O'Brien KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT James T. Holcomb RTD
RO S/SGT Herbert W. Brynjldsen RTD
BT SGT David B. Jeffers RTD
WG SGT Walter T. Baines RTD
WG SGT Frank H. Clos RTD
TG SGT Joseph F. Cardone RTD

Kommentar schreiben