B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-29892

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-29892

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: FO-N

MACR: 1758

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-29892

Delivered: Cheyenne 6/3/43; Sioux City 18/3/43; Kearney 8/4/43; Bangor 14/4/43; Assigned: 527BS/379BG [FO-N] Kimbolton 22/4/43; MIA Bochum 25/6/43 Pilot: Doug Groom, Co-Pilot: Frank Pulaski, Radio Operator: Tom Lyons, Waist Gunner: Thaddeus Burzycki, Tail Gunner: Frank Mills (5KIA); Navigator: Art Belgium. meyer, Bombardier: Tom Mortenson, Engineer / Top Turret Gunner: Howie Brinkman, Waist Gunner: Ralph Weaver, Ball Turret Gunner: Jim Bowers (5POW); Enemy aircraft, crashed Neu Arenberg, four miles NW of Freisoythe, Germany. MACR 1758.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29892 Details

Statement by the Bombardier from MACR 1758

On 25 June 1943, we proceeded on a bombing mission to Hamburg, Germany, handicapped by a solid undercast. Several attempts were made to rendevous with other Groups and Wings in the formation. While somewhere in the area of Bremen, Germany, the lead Group of the Wing was sighted far to the Northeast. Following the Group and Squadron Leader, we attempted to join the lead Group. At this moment the lead Group, making a 180° turn began to flight back to England. While making our turn, it was my impression that the Pilot was having trouble keeping the plane in formation due the lack of speed. We then became a straggler. The last words to come over the interphone were the Pilot’s words to the Copilot, “Give her all you’ve got!”

Then cam a fighter attack from somewhere in the rear knocking the interphone out. To lighten the load and beeing over Germany territory, I opened the bomb bays and dropped the bombs. We then made two very steep dives of approximately 7000 ft each presumably to get into the cloud cover, upon which we had formerly agreed, if attacked or disabled. Several fighter attacks followed and upon leveling out after the second dive I entered the partly damaged Pilot’s compartment, the top having been blown off, and inquired if everything was under control. Due to the noise and rush of air conversation was impossible. The Asst. Engineer operating the top turret then informed me the plane was on fire and to get out. I pulled the emergency release for the nose hatch and the Navigator coming from the nose excitedly informed me, “The ship must be on fire”. I waited momentarily by the escape hatch for possible words from the Pilot, the Navigator and Asst. Engineer urging me to jump. I bailed out, seeing the plane pass over me, fire streaming from bomb bay to tail.

During our descent the Asst. Engineer and myself witnessed our plane burn in half and crash while a FW 190 flew figure eights around us. A German soldier came ridding up on a bicycle to take us prisoner upon landing. The Asst. Engineer and I were temporarily detained in a farmhouse where I helped to administer First Aid to him for bullet wounds in the legs. I then bribed, with American cigaretted, a searching party to take me to the scene of the crash where I saw four bodies of the crew, namely, Pilot, Ball Gunner, Engineer and one other burned beyond recognition.

Thomas S. Mortenson
1st Lt. A. C.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29892 Crew

PositionRankNameStatusNote
P1LTDouglas K. GroomKIA
CP2LTFrank T. PulaskiKIA
BOMB2LTThomas S. MortensonPOW
ENG/TTS/SGTHoward H. BrinkmanPOW
ROT/SGTThomas P. LyonsKIA
BTS/SGTFrank A. MillsKIA
WGS/SGTRalph E. WeaverPOW
WGSGTThaddeus Z. BurzyckiKIA
TGS/SGTJames C. BowersPOW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-29892

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-29892

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: FO-N

MACR: 1758

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-29892

Delivered: Cheyenne 6/3/43; Sioux City 18/3/43; Kearney 8/4/43; Bangor 14/4/43; Assigned: 527BS/379BG [FO-N] Kimbolton 22/4/43; MIA Bochum 25/6/43 Pilot: Doug Groom, Co-Pilot: Frank Pulaski, Radio Operator: Tom Lyons, Waist Gunner: Thaddeus Burzycki, Tail Gunner: Frank Mills (5KIA); Navigator: Art Belgium. meyer, Bombardier: Tom Mortenson, Engineer / Top Turret Gunner: Howie Brinkman, Waist Gunner: Ralph Weaver, Ball Turret Gunner: Jim Bowers (5POW); Enemy aircraft, crashed Neu Arenberg, four miles NW of Freisoythe, Germany. MACR 1758.

B-17 42-29892 Details

Aussage des Bombenschützen aus dem MACR 1758

Am 25. Juni 1943 begannen wir mit einem Bombenangriff auf Hamburg, Deutschland, das durch eine feste Wolkendecke behindert war. Es wurden mehrere Versuche unternommen, sich mit anderen Gruppen und Geschwader in der Formation zu treffen. Irgendwo in der Gegend von Bremen, Deutschland, wurde die Führungsgruppe des Geschwaders weit im Nordosten gesichtet. Nach dem Gruppen- und Geschwaderführer versuchten wir, uns der Führungsgruppe anzuschließen. In diesem Moment begann die Führungsgruppe mit einer 180°-Wendung den Rückflug nach England. Während wir die Wende machten, hatte ich den Eindruck, dass der Pilot aufgrund der fehlenden Geschwindigkeit Schwierigkeiten hatte, das Flugzeug in Formation zu halten. Wir wurden dann zum Nachzügler. Die letzten Worte, die über die Sprechanlage kamen, waren die Worte des Piloten an den Kopiloten: „Gib alles, was du hast!“

Dann kam ein Jäger von hinten und zuerstörten den Bordfunk. Um das Gewicht zu verringern öffnete ich die Bombenschächte und warf die Bomben ab. Dann machten wir zwei sehr steile Sprünge von jeweils etwa 7000 ft, vermutlich um in die Wolkendecke zu gelangen, auf die wir uns zuvor geeinigt hatten, falls wir angegriffen oder ausgeschaltet werden sollten. Es folgten mehrere Jagdflugzeugangriffe, und nach dem zweiten Sturzflug betrat ich dem zum Teil beschädigten Cockpit, dessen Oberteil abgesprengt worden war, und erkundigte mich, ob alles unter Kontrolle war. Wegen des Lärms und der Luftzug war eine Unterhaltung unmöglich. Der Asst-Ingenieur, der den oberen Turm bediente, informierte mich dann, dass das Flugzeug brannte und aussteigen sollte. Ich zog den Notauslöser für die Bugluke, und der Navigator, der aus der Nase kam, informierte mich aufgeregt: „Das Flugzeug brennt“. Ich wartete kurz an der Notausstiegsluke auf mögliche Worte des Piloten, des Navigators und des Asst-Ingenieurs, die mich zum Sprung drängten. Ich sprang ab, als ich sah, wie das Flugzeug über mich hinwegflog und das Feuer vom Bombenschacht zum Heck strömte.

Während unseres Abstiegs sahen der Asst. Ingenieur und ich, wie unser Flugzeug zur Hälfte verbrannte und abstürzte, während eine FW 190 mit einer Achterfigur um uns herumflog. Ein deutscher Soldat fuhr auf einem Fahrrad vor, um uns bei der Landung gefangenzunehmen. Der Asst-Ingenieur und ich wurden vorübergehend in einem Bauernhaus festgehalten, wo ich ihm bei der Ersten Hilfe für Schusswunden in den Beinen half. Dann bestach ich mit amerikanischer Zigarette einen Suchtrupp, der mich zur Absturzstelle brachte, wo ich vier Leichen der Besatzung sah, nämlich den Piloten, den Kugelschützen, den Ingenieur und eine weitere, die bis zur Unkenntlichkeit verbrannt waren.

Thomas S. Mortenson
1st Lt. A. C.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-29892 Crew

PositionRangNameStatusBemerkung
P1LTDouglas K. GroomKIA
CP2LTFrank T. PulaskiKIA
BOMB2LTThomas S. MortensonPOW
ENG/TTS/SGTHoward H. BrinkmanPOW
ROT/SGTThomas P. LyonsKIA
BTS/SGTFrank A. MillsKIA
WGS/SGTRalph E. WeaverPOW
WGSGTThaddeus Z. BurzyckiKIA
TGS/SGTJames C. BowersPOW

Kommentar schreiben