B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

B-17 #42-30319 / Shirley our Girliezoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

MACR: 6310 / KSU/ME/KU: 1347

Missions: 53

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

Delivered Cheyenne 13/5/43; Gore 26/5/43; Smoky Hill 29/5/43; Morrison 8/6/43; Assigned 419BS/301BG St Donat 6/7/43; Oudna 6/8/43; transferred 49BS/2BG Massicault 7/10/43; {9m} 419BS/301BG Oudna 14/11/43; {44m} 414BS/97BG Amendola 10/5/44; Missing in Action Debrecen 2/6/44 with Alf Bond, Co-pilot: Warren DeVilbiss, Navigator: Bill Metz, Bombardier: Bob Schratwieser, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Chas Collum, Radio Operator: Bob Carberry, Ball turret gunner: – Sikion, Waist gunner: Walt Bazia, Waist gunner: Jim Whitty,Tail gunner: Ray May (9MIA); flak & exploded, crashed Debrecen; Missing Air Crew Report 6310.

Last updated: 9. October 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie Details

Eyewitness statements to the loss of B-17G 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

I the undersigned was flying as top turret gunner on aircraft #470, of the 342nd Bomb Squadron, when I saw A/C #319 pull out of formation. Before the A/C left formation I saw gas flowing back over the left wing from #2 engine. The pilot feathered #2 engine and pulled out of formation. He gradually fell behind and was loosing altitude. The next thing I saw was smoke coming out #2 engine and then the A/C turned as if it was going to return to base. While it was turning it exploded. Several mintutes later I saw three (3) chutes about 2,000 feet behind and slightly below where the aircraft exploded. All chutes had opened, as seemed in very good shape. All this happened after bombs away. The A/C was not hit by flak, as there was none over the entire area, and no enemy aircraft were in the vicinity. My estimate as to the probable cause is that either a gas cap came loose, or the fuel line broke at the engine and sparks from the superchargers or heat from the cylinders caused the combustion.

T/Sgt. William P. Rightmire


I the undersigned was flying as ball turret gunner on aircraft #470, of the 342nd Bomb Squadron. When aircraft #319, fell out of formation, and came back to level flight, just off our left wing, about 2000 feet below us. From my ball turret position it looked like as though #2 engine had been feathered. Smoke was coming out of #2 engine. The aircraft then exploded, I saw three (3) parachutes come out and the opened OK. I also saw three burning objects that could have been chutes. That was the last I saw of the aircraft.

Sgt. Billie Magby

Source: MACR 6310

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 2LT Alfred D. Bond KIA
CP F/O Warren E. DeVilbiss KIA
BOMB 2LT Robert B. Schratwieser KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Charles E. Collum POW
RO S/SGT Robert J. Carberry POW
BT SGT James J. Whitty KIA
WG SGT Walter F. Bazia KIA
WG S/SGT Austin J. Cronin POW
TG T/SGT Ray D. May, Jr. KIA
--- M/SGT John J. Sikina POW Crew Chief

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

B-17 #42-30319 / Shirley our Girliezoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

MACR: 6310 / KSU/ME/KU: 1347

Einsätze: 53

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

Delivered Cheyenne 13/5/43; Gore 26/5/43; Smoky Hill 29/5/43; Morrison 8/6/43; Assigned 419BS/301BG St Donat 6/7/43; Oudna 6/8/43; transferred 49BS/2BG Massicault 7/10/43; {9m} 419BS/301BG Oudna 14/11/43; {44m} 414BS/97BG Amendola 10/5/44; Missing in Action Debrecen 2/6/44 with Alf Bond, Co-pilot: Warren DeVilbiss, Navigator: Bill Metz, Bombardier: Bob Schratwieser, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Chas Collum, Radio Operator: Bob Carberry, Ball turret gunner: – Sikion, Waist gunner: Walt Bazia, Waist gunner: Jim Whitty,Tail gunner: Ray May (9MIA); flak & exploded, crashed Debrecen; Missing Air Crew Report 6310.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 9. Oktober 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie Details

Augenzeugenberichte über den Verlust der B-17G 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie

Ich, der Unterzeichner, flog als oberer Turmschütze des Flugzeugs Nr. 470 der 342. Bomberstaffel, als ich sah, wie das Flugzeug Nr. 319 aus der Formation herausflog. Bevor die B-17 die Formation verließ, sah ich Treibstoff über den linken Flügel vom Triebwerk Nr. 2 zurückströmen. Der Pilot setzte das Triebwerk Nr. 2 in Segelstellung und verließ die Formation. Er fiel allmählich zurück und verlor an Höhe. Das nächste, was ich sah, war Rauch, der aus dem Triebwerk Nr. 2 austrat, und dann drehte sich die B-17, als ob sie zur Basis zurückkehren würde. Während es sich drehte, explodierte es. Einige Minuten später sah ich drei (3) Fallschirme etwa 2000 Fuß hinter und etwas unterhalb der Stelle, an der das Flugzeug explodierte. Alle Schirme hatten sich geöffnet, was in sehr gutem Zustand zu sein schien. All dies geschah nach dem Abwurf der Bomben. Die B-17 wurde nicht von der Flak getroffen, da es über dem gesamten Gebiet keine Flak gab und keine feindlichen Flugzeuge in der Nähe waren. Meine Einschätzung der wahrscheinlichen Ursache ist, dass sich entweder ein Tankdeckel gelöst hat oder die Treibstoffleitung am Motor gebrochen ist und Funken von den Kompressoren oder Hitze von den Zylindern die Verbrennung verursacht haben.

T/Sgt. William P. Rightmire


Ich, der Unterzeichnete, flog als Kugelturmschütze auf dem Flugzeug Nr. 470 der 342. Bombenstaffel. Als Flugzeug Nr. 319 aus der Formation abstürzte und in die stabilen Fluglage zurückkehrte, befand es sich direkt an unserem linken Tragfläche, etwa 2000 Fuß unter uns. Von meiner Kugelturmposition aus sah es so aus, als ob das Triebwerk Nr. 2 in Segelstellung gebracht worden war. Aus dem Triebwerk Nr. 2 kam Rauch heraus. Dann explodierte das Flugzeug, ich sah drei (3) Fallschirme herauskommen und waren geöffnet. Ich sah auch drei brennende Objekte, die Fallschirme gewesen sein könnten. Das war das letzte, was ich von dem Flugzeug sah.

Sgt. Billie Magby

Quelle: MACR 6310

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-30319 / Shirley our Girlie Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Alfred D. Bond KIA
CP F/O Warren E. DeVilbiss KIA
BOMB 2LT Robert B. Schratwieser KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Charles E. Collum POW
RO S/SGT Robert J. Carberry POW
BT SGT James J. Whitty KIA
WG SGT Walter F. Bazia KIA
WG S/SGT Austin J. Cronin POW
TG T/SGT Ray D. May, Jr. KIA
--- M/SGT John J. Sikina POW Crew Chief

Kommentar schreiben