B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

B-17 #42-31188 / Dead Man’s Handzoom_in

Source:
www.447bg.com

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: M

MACR: 14180

Missions: 111

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

Delivered Cheyenne 30/9/43; Harvard 16/10/43; Assigned: 709BS/447BG Rattlesden 21/11/43; MIA Pirna (111m)19/4/45 Pilot: Bob Glazener, Ray Fortier, Ernie Purcifull, Seb Bucceri, Hobart Jarvis, Theo Ciemier, no wg ‘, Jim Burton (7POW); Harry Cramer (KIA); jet Enemy aircraft, crashed Dresden, Germany. MACR 14180. DEAD MAN’S HAND.(Last heavy bomber lost to e/a).

Last updated: 3. October 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand Details

42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand [via]

Eyewitness Statements to ths loss of B-17 #42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

The plane was on fire, and all attempts were made by me to extinguish the flames before leaving the ship, but as they could not be extinguished, all crew member bailed out. None were injured before bailing out. (The whole left wing was on fire.)

I was injured after I landed in the trees, nothing too serious, however, I did not receive any medical aid until I returned to the front lines on the morning of May 8, 1945, and again in the afternoon at a front line field hospital.

Robert F. Glazener
Pilot, B-17 #42-31188


Mor precise information as to Lt. Cramer’s whereabouts at the time of his death may be obtained from the knowledge of my position at the time. Since at the time, Chemnitz, Germany constituted the front lines, the entire crew bailed out between that city and Frieburg. I myself, since I was never taken prisoner, was hidden by German civilians in the little village of Haselbach, about 40 miles from Chemnitz. Lt. Cramer, then, would have bailed out nearer to that city, perhaps 15-20 miles due East.

I believe it is logical to assume that Lt. Cramer was killed by civilians, since our flight engineer was rather badly beaten up by them. Even in the very small village where I was hidden, persons were pointed out to me who had even gone in search of allied airmen for the explicit purpose of killing them.

Raymond E. Fortier
Navigator, B-17 #42-31188


At 5050N – 1335 E – 1225 hours at 19000 feet just after rally point 2 Me 262’s attacked the formation. They hit the high squadron only and made one attack. Came in from 7 o’clock – a little high and hit #3 man in the high squadron, aircraft 188 #1 engine caught on fire and crews report parts of engine or wing disinterating. Aircraft 188 went down at once – but apparently under control and crews report 3 chutes out and what they believed to be an attempt to make crash landing behind friendly lines.

Source: MACR 14180

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Robert F. Glazener POW
CP 2LT Harold Cramer KIA
ENG/TT SGT Sebastian Bucceri POW
RO SGT Hobart A. Jarvis POW
BT SGT Theodore S. Ciemier POW
TG SGT James W. Burton POW
TOG SGT Ernest L. Purcifull POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

B-17 #42-31188 / Dead Man’s Handzoom_in

Quelle:
www.447bg.com

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: M

MACR: 14180

Einsätze: 111

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

Delivered Cheyenne 30/9/43; Harvard 16/10/43; Assigned: 709BS/447BG Rattlesden 21/11/43; MIA Pirna (111m)19/4/45 Pilot: Bob Glazener, Ray Fortier, Ernie Purcifull, Seb Bucceri, Hobart Jarvis, Theo Ciemier, no wg ‚, Jim Burton (7POW); Harry Cramer (KIA); jet Enemy aircraft, crashed Dresden, Germany. MACR 14180. DEAD MAN’S HAND.(Last heavy bomber lost to e/a).

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 3. Oktober 2020

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand Details

42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand [via]

Aussagen von Augenzeugen zum Verlust der B-17 #42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand

Das Flugzeug stand in Flammen, und ich habe alle Versuche unternommen, die Flammen vor dem Verlassen des Schiffes zu löschen, aber da sie nicht gelöscht werden konnten, sind alle Besatzungsmitglieder abgesprungen. Niemand wurden verletzt, bevor sie aus dem Flugzeug sprangen. (Die gesamte linke Tragfläche stand in Flammen).

Ich wurde verletzt, nachdem ich in den Bäumen gelandet war, nichts allzu Schwerwiegendes, aber ich erhielt keine medizinische Hilfe, bis ich am Morgen des 8. Mai 1945 an die Front zurückkehrte und am Nachmittag erneut in einem Feldlazarett an der Front.

Robert F. Glazener
Pilot, B-17 #42-31188


Genauere Informationen über den Verbleib von Lt. Cramer zum Zeitpunkt seines Todes können aus dem Wissen um meine damalige Position gewonnen werden. Da zu dieser Zeit Chemnitz, Deutschland, die Frontlinie bildete, sprang die gesamte Besatzung zwischen dieser Stadt und Frieburg ab. Ich selbst wurde, da ich nie gefangen genommen wurde, von deutschen Zivilisten in dem kleinen Dorf Haselbach, etwa 40 Meilen von Chemnitz entfernt, versteckt. Lt. Cramer wäre also näher an dieser Stadt abgesprungen, vielleicht 15 bis 20 Meilen östlich von Chemnitz.

Ich glaube, es ist logisch anzunehmen, dass Lt. Cramer von Zivilisten getötet wurde, da unser Flugingenieur von ihnen ziemlich übel zusammengeschlagen wurde. Sogar in dem sehr kleinen Dorf, in dem ich versteckt war, wurden mir Personen gezeigt, die sich sogar auf die Suche nach alliierten Fliegern gemacht hatten, mit dem ausdrücklichen Ziel, sie zu töten.

Raymond E. Fortier
Navigator, B-17 #42-31188


Bei 5050N – 1335 E – 12:25 Uhr auf 19000 Fuß kurz nach dem Sammelpunkt 2 griffen Me 262’s die Formation an. Sie trafen nur die obere Staffel und griffen nur einmal an. Sie kamen von 7 Uhr herein – ein wenig hoch und trafen das dritte Flugzeug in der oberen Staffel, das Triebwerk Nr. 1 des Flugzeugs 188 fing Feuer und die Besatzungen berichten, dass Teile des Triebwerks oder der Tragfläche sich zerfielen. Flugzeug 188 stürzte sofort ab – aber anscheinend unter Kontrolle, und die Besatzungen berichten, dass 3 Fallschirme zu sehen sind und dass es sich ihrer Meinung nach um einen Versuch handelte, eine Bruchlandung hinter befreundeten Linien durchzuführen.

Quelle: MACR 14180

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-31188 / Dead Man’s Hand Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Robert F. Glazener POW
CP 2LT Harold Cramer KIA
ENG/TT SGT Sebastian Bucceri POW
RO SGT Hobart A. Jarvis POW
BT SGT Theodore S. Ciemier POW
TG SGT James W. Burton POW
TOG SGT Ernest L. Purcifull POW

Kommentar schreiben