B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-5949

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-5949

Manufacturer:
Lockheed/Vega

MACR: 767

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-5949

Delivered Long Beach 28/5/43; Cheyenne 7/6/43; Gd Isle 29/6/43; Dow 18/7/43; Assigned 419BS/301BG Oudna 13/8/43; Missing in Action {15m} Bolzano 25/9/43 with Ed Stapleton, Co-pilot: Robert G. Marner, Navigator: Max Doyle, Bombardier: Jim Fitzgerald, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Ed Gehrt, Radio Operator: Ray Wagner, Ball turret gunner: John Ball, Waist gunner: Oscar Daniels, Waist gunner: Teddy May,Tail gunner: John Dygnan (10 Killed in Action). Missing Air Crew Report 767.

Published: 14. July 2018 / Last updated: 20. June 2021

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-5949 Details

Statements to the loss of B-17 #42-5949

The last I saw of 42-5949 was on our way through the overcast. It was on our right wing for about three minutes and then I lost it entirely in the heady clouds.

T/Sgt. Henry S. Brenzo
Radio Operator


I last saw 42-5949 for about five minutes while we are in the overcast. When he was about 150 yards he flew from five o’clock to seven o’clock. It was my impression at this time that he saw us and turned away. I then lost sight of the plane.

While right about over Leghorn I once saw a B-17 flying through intense medium flak, but I was unable to distinguish the number of the plane. However when I last saw it it was headed northwest from Leghorn and seemed to be all right.

S/Sgt. Vincent S. Jakubczak
Tail Gunner


The last time I saw 42-5949 it was on your right wing. As soon as we hit the overcast he peeled off and disappeared in the clouds.

S/Sgt. Jerald E. Tate
Tail Gunner


Flying in position 13 in plane 42-30341, we were in constant visual contact with plane 42-5949, which was in position 12. After leaving the target, the formation entered a heavy cloud overcast. The last I saw of ’49’ it was diving down, though apparently in good condition and under control. We sighted no other plane after that until we were within 180 miles of the African coast.

S/Sgt. Solomon J. Cross
Radio Operator

Source: MACR 767

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-5949 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Edward F. Stapleton KIA
CP 2LT Robert George Marner KIA
BOMB 2LT Max E. Doyle KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Edward G. Gehrt KIA
RO SGT Raymond D. Wagner KIA
BT SGT Teddy E. Ray KIA
WG SGT Oscar J. R. Daniels KIA
WG SGT John S. Dygnan KIA
TG SGT John L. Ball KIA

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-5949

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 42-5949

Hersteller:
Lockheed/Vega

MACR: 767

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-5949

Delivered Long Beach 28/5/43; Cheyenne 7/6/43; Gd Isle 29/6/43; Dow 18/7/43; Assigned 419BS/301BG Oudna 13/8/43; Missing in Action {15m} Bolzano 25/9/43 with Ed Stapleton, Co-pilot: Robert G. Marner, Navigator: Max Doyle, Bombardier: Jim Fitzgerald, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Ed Gehrt, Radio Operator: Ray Wagner, Ball turret gunner: John Ball, Waist gunner: Oscar Daniels, Waist gunner: Teddy May,Tail gunner: John Dygnan (10 Killed in Action). Missing Air Crew Report 767.

Veröffentlicht: 20. Juni 2021 / Zuletzt aktualisiert: 20. Juni 2021

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-5949 Details

Berichte zum Verlust der B-17 42-5949

Das letzte, was ich von 42-5949 gesehen habe, war auf unserem Weg durch die Wolkendecke. Sie war etwa drei Minuten lang auf unserem rechten Flügel und dann verlor ich sie ganz in den dichten Wolken.

T/Sgt. Henry S. Brenzo
Funker


Ich habe 42-5949 zum letzten Mal für etwa fünf Minuten gesehen, während wir in der Bewölkung sind. Als er etwa 150 Meter entfernt war, flog er von fünf Uhr bis sieben Uhr. Ich hatte zu diesem Zeitpunkt den Eindruck, dass er uns sah und abdrehte. Ich habe dann das Flugzeug aus den Augen verloren.

Als ich ungefähr über Leghorn war, sah ich einmal eine B-17 durch intensive mittlere Flak fliegen, aber ich konnte die Nummer des Flugzeugs nicht erkennen. Als ich sie jedoch zuletzt sah, flog sie nordwestlich von Leghorn und schien in Ordnung zu sein.

S/Sgt. Vincent S. Jakubczak
Heckschütze


Als ich 42-5949 das letzte Mal sah, befand sie sich auf dem rechten Flügel. Sobald wir auf die Bewölkung trafen, schälte er sich ab und verschwand in den Wolken.

S/Sgt. Jerald E. Tate
Heckschütze


Wir flogen in Position 13 in Flugzeug 42-30341 und waren in ständigem Sichtkontakt mit Flugzeug 42-5949, das sich in Position 12 befand. Nach dem Verlassen des Ziels geriet die Formation in eine starke Wolkenbedeckung. Das letzte, was ich von ’49‘ sah, war, dass sie im Sturzflug war, obwohl sie offensichtlich in gutem Zustand und unter Kontrolle war. Danach sichteten wir kein anderes Flugzeug mehr, bis wir innerhalb von 180 Meilen vor der afrikanischen Küste waren.

S/Sgt. Solomon J. Cross
Funker

Quelle: MACR 767

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-5949 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Edward F. Stapleton KIA
CP 2LT Robert George Marner KIA
BOMB 2LT Max E. Doyle KIA
ENG/TT S/SGT Edward G. Gehrt KIA
RO SGT Raymond D. Wagner KIA
BT SGT Teddy E. Ray KIA
WG SGT Oscar J. R. Daniels KIA
WG SGT John S. Dygnan KIA
TG SGT John L. Ball KIA

Kommentar schreiben