History of the B-17 #42-3040 / Miss Ouachita

Delivered Denver 23/1/43; 303BG Molesworth 11/4/43; transferred 369BS/306BG [WW-U] Thurleigh 17/4/43; transferred 323BS/91BG [OR-Q] Bassingbourn 23/8/43; Missing in Action 18m Gutersloh 22/2/44 with Spencer Osterbegg, Navigator: Morris Roy, Bombardier: George Zebrowski, Radio Operator: Harry Klem, Ball turret gunner: Sam Aldridge, Waist gunner: Clay Morningstar, Waist gunner: Alex Siatkowski,Tail gunner: Jay Milowski (8 Prisoner of War); Co-pilot: John Van Beran, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Lambert Brostrom (2 Killed in Action); shot down by Maj Heinz Baer, and crash landed near Bexten, N of Lingen, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 2457. MISS OUACHITA.

Details 42-3040 / Miss Ouachita

February 1944. Miss Ouachita, a B-17F had had an uneventful flight to Hanover, its target for that day. When the formation had settled into its bomb run the gunners noticed shinky flecks of metal high above them; the sure sign on immiment enemy fighter attack. Four German FW 190’s peeled away in an attacking dive. They were spotted by the top turret gunner who screamed out, “Fighters at 5 o’clock!” and began to fire his Browning machine guns. One of the FW 190’s fell away from attack, its engines spewing out oil and smoke.

“More fighters at 2’clock!” the co-pilot called out to alert all gunners, just before the whole lenght of the plane was raked with gunfire. Tail and waist guns were firing back wildly but the top turret remained ominously quiet. The operator had beed hit in the first strike. The FW 190’s continued to pound the B-17. The co-pilot, radio operator and left waist gunner were hit and the aircraft was crippled still 20 miles south of Hanover. It was obvious to the pilot that he couldn’t maintain bombing formation at 25,000 feet. He ordered the wounded members of the crew to bailed out at 23,000 feed knowing that they would receive prompt medical treatment and turned the plane for home. But he couldn’t maintain height. Miss Ouachita belly landed just short of the Dutch border. the crew survivors immediately tired to destroy the aircraft but they were arrested by the German Home Guard. The crew were eventually sent to POW camp.

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-666-6875-05 / Rothkopf / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-666-6875-05 / Rothkopf / CC-BY-SA 3.0 // via Wikimedia Commons

The crew of Miss Ouachita

2nd LT Spencer K Osterberg
John E. Van Beran
2nd LT George J. Zebrowski
2nd LT Morris J. Roy
S/SGT Samuel P Aldridge
T/SGT Lambert R. Bostrom
S/SGT Alexander W. Siatkowski
SGT Jay J. Milewski
T/SGT Harold Klem
S/SGT Clayton E. Morningstar

More details about “Miss Ouachita”
The B-17F Miss Ouachita s/n 42-3040 were built by Douglas with the cost of $357,655.00. She was assigned to the 91st Bomb Group; coded OR-Q. “Miss Qachita” was shot down by Heinz Bar.

- Werbung/Advertisement -

  1. von Paul D. Whalen am 27. April 2017 22:44 Uhr

    These ww2 photos and their details are very interesting to me, and I would hope that whoever is posting all of these wonderful pieces of history will continue in the future. Danke for all of the effort that you put into making these events available for all to see.

    Antworten

Leave a comment



** = Deine Email bleibt geheim / Your email will not published.

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-3040 / Miss Ouachita

B-17 #42-3040 / Miss Ouachitazoom_in

Quelle:
fold3.com

Hersteller:
Douglas

  • RCL: WW-U, OR-Q

MACR: 2457

Einsätze: 18

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-3040 / Miss Ouachita

Delivered Denver 23/1/43; 303BG Molesworth 11/4/43; transferred 369BS/306BG [WW-U] Thurleigh 17/4/43; transferred 323BS/91BG [OR-Q] Bassingbourn 23/8/43; Missing in Action 18m Gutersloh 22/2/44 with Spencer Osterbegg, Navigator: Morris Roy, Bombardier: George Zebrowski, Radio Operator: Harry Klem, Ball turret gunner: Sam Aldridge, Waist gunner: Clay Morningstar, Waist gunner: Alex Siatkowski,Tail gunner: Jay Milowski (8 Prisoner of War); Co-pilot: John Van Beran, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Lambert Brostrom (2 Killed in Action); shot down by Maj Heinz Baer, and crash landed near Bexten, N of Lingen, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 2457. MISS OUACHITA.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 4. Oktober 2019

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-3040 / Miss Ouachita Details

Februar 1944. Die Miss Ouachita, eine B-17F, hatte sich auf einen ereignislosen Flug nach Aschersleben begeben – das Ziel des Tages. Als die Formation zum Angriff bereit war, entdeckten die Bordschützen glänzende Metallpunkte hoch über sich – ein sicheres Zeichen für einen bevorstehenden Sturzangriff. Wie erwartet schossen plötzlich vier deutsche Fw 190 im Sturzflug auf die Bomberkette herab. Der Bordschütze des oberen Waffenturms hatte sie entdeckt, rief „Jäger auf 5 Uhr!“ und eröffnete mit seinen Browning-Maschinengewehren das Feuer. Eine Fw 190 fiel daraufhin mit einem öl- und rauchspuckenden Motor ab.

„Mehr Jäger auf 2 Uhr!“ rief der Kopilot, um die Bordschützen zu warnen. Doch da wurde das Flugzeug auch schon der Länge nach mit Geschossen durchlöchert. Der Heck- und die Rumpfschützen feuerten zurück, doch der Bordschütze des oberen Waffenturms rührte sich nicht. Er war beim ersten Angriff ums Leben gekommen. Die Fw 190-Jäger setzten ihren Angriff auf die B-17 fort. Der Kopilot, Funker und linke Rumpfschütze wurden dabei verletzt. Das Flugzeug war noch 20 Meilen von Hannover entfernt und aktionsunfähig. Der Pilot war sich bewusst, dass er sich nicht mehr in der Bomberformation in einer Höhe von 25.000 Fuß. Er befahl den Verwundeten Besatzungsmitgliedern, in einer Höhe von 23.000 Fuß abzuspringen. Er wusste, dass sie eine sofortige medizinische Behandlung erhalten würden. Dann zog er die Maschine herum und machte sich auf den Weg zurück zum Heimatstützpunkt. Doch er konnte die Flughöhe nicht halten. „Miss Ouachita“ machte kurz vor der holländischen Grenze eine Bauchlandung. Die überlebenden der Besatzung hatten sofort versucht, das Flugzeug zu zerstören, doch wurden sie von der deutschen Bürgerwehr festgenommen und schließlich in ein Kriegsgefangenenlager gebracht.

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-666-6875-05 / Rothkopf / CC-BY-SA 3.0 [CC BY-SA 3.0 de (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/de/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Bundesarchiv, Bild 101I-666-6875-05 / Rothkopf / CC-BY-SA 3.0 // via Wikimedia Commons

Weitere Details zur „Miss Ouachita“
Die B-17F Miss Ouachita wurde von Douglas hergestellt und kostete damals $357,655.00. Sie diente bei der 91st Bomb Group in Bassingbourn unter dem Kennzeichen: OR – Q. Der Abschuss der Miss Ouachita geht auf das Konto von Oberstleutnant (zum Zeitpunkt des Abschusses Hauptmann) Heinz Bär.

Eine Andere Besatzung der Miss Ouachita, 1943.

Foto zugesandt von Ray E. Wood. Sein Vater Rurel R. Wood, MSgt. USAF/ret ist in der ersten Reihe, rechts.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-3040 / Miss Ouachita Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 2LT Spencer K. Osterberg POW
CP 2LT John E. Van Beran KIA
BOMB 2LT George J. Zebrowski POW
ENG/TT T/SGT Lambert Brostrom KIA
RO T/SGT Harold Klem POW
BT S/SGT Samuel P. Aldridge POW
WG S/SGT Clayton E. Morningstar POW
WG S/SGT Alexander W. Siatkowski POW
TG SGT Jay J. Milewski POW

Kommentar schreiben