B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts

B-17 #42-97890 /  L’il Satan aka Queen of Heartszoom_in

Source:
www.fold3.com

Manufacturer:
Lockheed/Vega

  • RCL: WA-U

MACR: 9364

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts

Delivered Tulsa 27/3/44; Kearney 22/5/44; Grenier 29/5/44; Assigned 524BS/379BG [WA-U] Kimbolton 12/6/44 LIL SATAN; returning from Toulouse flak hit blew off nose 25/6/44 with Karl Becker; Navigator: Bob Evans, Bombardier: Arthur Maataa (2 Killed in Action); Waist gunner: Joe Simoncini (Prisoner of War), force landed RAF Hunsdon, Herts; Missing in Action Magdeburg 28/9/44 with Chas Rutledge, Navigator: Stan Pain (2 Killed in Action); Co-pilot: Tom Martin, Bombardier: Dave Anderson, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Doyle Poling, Radio Operator: Ellis Pierson, Ball turret gunner: Cliff Rondou, Waist gunner: Arthur Green,Tail gunner: Kyle Brown (7 Prisoner of War); flak, crashed Niederdadleben, W of Magdeberg, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 9364. LIL SATAN aka QUEEN OF HEARTS.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts Details

Flak hit blew off nose on 25 June 1944. Navigator: Bob Evans, Bombardier: Arthur Maataa – 2 Killed in Action; Waist gunner: Joe Simoncini – Prisoner of War, force landed RAF Hunsdon, Herts. #42-97890 finally lost on 28. September 1944.

Crew on 25 June 1944

1Lt. Karl E. Becker – Pilot
2Lt. Patrick D. Rawls – Co-Pilot
2Lt. Robert W. Evans, Jr – Navigator (KIA)
2Lt. Arthur M. Maatta – Bombardier (KIA)
T/Sgt. Robert A. Smith – Radio Operator
T/Sgt. George M. Brittain – Engineer
S/Sgt. James A. Lalonde – Ball Turret Gunner
S/Sgt. Francis J. Phillips – Waist Gunner
S/Sgt. Joseph Simoncini – Tail Gunner (POW)
Maj. Alexander B. Andrews – Observer

Werbung/Advertisement

Consolidated report from crew interrogation of A/C 42-97890 after mission to Coulanges Sur Yonne on 25 June 1944 – MACR 6738

Over Paris, on their way back from the target, a burst of flak hit the nose of the aircraft directly. The nose was blown completely off and the metal section was mushrommed back. The Bombardier, Lt. Maata, had most of one leg blown off, the other leg fractured, one arm fractured, and serious internal injuries. Flak continued to hit them from then on. The whole aircraft vibrated tremendously. The Navigator, somewhat hard of hearings, baled out when the Pilot gave the order to prepare bail out. The tail gunner soon followed suit.

The Pilot and Co-Pilot remained right at their controls to keep the ship in the air. In the meantime, the bombardier crawled back to the escape hatch and was without oxygen. Major Andrews, who had gone back to the Pilot’s compartment just before the flak hit the nose because the Navigator was getting low on oxygen, tried to give him a bottle.

The Pilot, Lt. Becker, now turned away from his formation, to the right, in order to get away from the flak. #2 and #3 engines had been hit and were inoperational. The #2 prop wouldn’t feather and caused even more vibration in the aircraft.

Everyone thought they would have to bail out for sure. Every instrument in the cockpit had been knocked out except the rate of climb. Even the fuselage on the co-pilot’s side had been riddled with flak.

However, the crew was determined to get back to England if at all possible to save the bombardier’s life. Major Andrews and the Engineer, Brittain, finally managed to pull him back to the top turret. A terrific blast of cold air was coming through the plane so they tied him to the turret. Then they gave him morphine and tied a tourniquet around his bad leg and bandaged his outher wounds.

In the meantime, Lt. Becker had approached the Channel where tje weather was very bad, and he was steadily losing altitude. He and Rawls had a terrific time keeping their plane in the air. Lt. Becker was thoroughly determined by this time not to ditch. Arriving at the English coast, he had to let down through a thin layer of clouds. This required steady nerves to get through it, and he broke out over England with poor visibility. The Radio Operator had been sending out distress signals and fixes on their position. He could transmit but could not receive since flak had damaged the radio.

Lt. Becker headed for his home field, but seeing that he would not be able to make it, selected an RAF field about 30 miles away. The whole underside of the fuselage had been hit by flak and he was worried about the wheels coming down. However, the wheels came down OK and the flaps worked, but hydraulic system was shot out, and the brakes were inoperational. On the final approach the Engineer stood by to check the wheels manually.

Lt. Becker made a beautiful landing right on the end of the runway although one tire was puntured by flak. The had fired red flares and the RAF ambulance came right out. The Bombardier had died from lack of blood before landing.

The Navigator of the lead ship A/C Q-229 (Lt. Guy G. Heilman) Lead ship navigator fixed the time and place of the men bailing out at 2121 hours at Beauvais at 18000 feet.

Werbung/Advertisement

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts

B-17 #42-97890 /  L’il Satan aka Queen of Heartszoom_in

Quelle:
www.fold3.com

Hersteller:
Lockheed/Vega

  • RCL: WA-U

MACR: 9364

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts

Delivered Tulsa 27/3/44; Kearney 22/5/44; Grenier 29/5/44; Assigned 524BS/379BG [WA-U] Kimbolton 12/6/44 LIL SATAN; returning from Toulouse flak hit blew off nose 25/6/44 with Karl Becker; Navigator: Bob Evans, Bombardier: Arthur Maataa (2 Killed in Action); Waist gunner: Joe Simoncini (Prisoner of War), force landed RAF Hunsdon, Herts; Missing in Action Magdeburg 28/9/44 with Chas Rutledge, Navigator: Stan Pain (2 Killed in Action); Co-pilot: Tom Martin, Bombardier: Dave Anderson, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Doyle Poling, Radio Operator: Ellis Pierson, Ball turret gunner: Cliff Rondou, Waist gunner: Arthur Green,Tail gunner: Kyle Brown (7 Prisoner of War); flak, crashed Niederdadleben, W of Magdeberg, Ger; Missing Air Crew Report 9364. LIL SATAN aka QUEEN OF HEARTS.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 42-97890 / L’il Satan aka Queen of Hearts Details

Beim Einsatz am 25. Juni 1944 wurde der Bug von Flak weg geschossen. Navigator: Bob Evans, Bombenschütze: Arthur Maataa – 2 Killed in Action; Rumpfschütze: Joe Simoncini – Prisoner of War, force landed RAF Hunsdon, Herts. #42-97890 ging endgültig am 28. September 1944 verloren.

Besatzung am am 25. Juni 1944

1Lt. Karl E. Becker – Pilot
2Lt. Patrick D. Rawls – Co-Pilot
2Lt. Robert W. Evans, Jr – Navigator (KIA)
2Lt. Arthur M. Maatta – Bombardier (KIA)
T/Sgt. Robert A. Smith – Radio Operator
T/Sgt. George M. Brittain – Engineer
S/Sgt. James A. Lalonde – Ball Turret Gunner
S/Sgt. Francis J. Phillips – Waist Gunner
S/Sgt. Joseph Simoncini – Tail Gunner (POW)
Maj. Alexander B. Andrews – Observer

Werbung/Advertisement

Konsolidierter Bericht aus der Befragung der Besatzung von A/C 42-97890 nach der Mission in Coulanges Sur Yonne am 25. Juni 1944 – MACR 6738

Über Paris, auf dem Rückweg vom Ziel, traf ein Flakfeuerausbruch die Nase des Flugzeugs direkt. Die Nase wurde vollständig abgesprengt und der Metallteil wurde zurückgeschleudert. Der Bombenschütze, Leutnant Maata, hatte das meiste eines Beines abgesprengt, das andere Bein gebrochen, einen Arm gebrochen und schwere innere Verletzungen. Von da an wurden sie weiterhin von der Flak getroffen. Das ganze Flugzeug vibrierte gewaltig. Der Navigator, der etwas schwerhörig war, brach zusammen, als der Pilot den Befehl gab, den Absprung vorzubereiten. Der Heckschütze folgte bald darauf.

Der Pilot und der Co-Pilot blieben direkt an ihren Steuerungen, um das Flugzeug in der Luft zu halten. In der Zwischenzeit kroch der Bombenschütze zur Notluke zurück und war ohne Sauerstoff. Major Andrews, der in den Pilotenraum zurückgegangen war, kurz bevor die Flak die Nase traf, weil dem Navigator der Sauerstoff knapp wurde, versuchte, ihm eine Flasche zu geben.

Der Pilot, Leutnant Becker, wandte sich nun von seiner Formation nach rechts ab, um der Flak zu entkommen. Die Triebwerke Nr. 2 und Nr. 3 waren getroffen worden und funktionsunfähig. Der Propeller Nr. 2 wollte nicht ausfedern und verursachte noch mehr Vibrationen im Flugzeug.

Alle dachten, sie müssten auf jeden Fall abspringen. Alle Instrumente im Cockpit waren außer der Steigrate ausgefallen. Sogar der Rumpf auf der Seite des Copiloten war von Flak durchlöchert worden.

Die Besatzung war jedoch entschlossen, nach England zurückzukehren, um dem Bombenschützen nach Möglichkeit das Leben zu retten. Major Andrews und dem Ingenieur Brittain gelang es schließlich, ihn wieder in den obersten Turm zu ziehen. Da ein gewaltiger Kaltluftstoß durch das Flugzeug kam, banden sie ihn am Turm fest. Dann gaben sie ihm Morphium und banden ihm einen Druckverband um sein schlimmes Bein und verbanden seine äußeren Wunden.

In der Zwischenzeit hatte sich Leutnant Becker dem Kanal genähert, wo das Wetter sehr schlecht war und er ständig an Höhe verlor. Er und Rawls hatten eine tolle Zeit, ihr Flugzeug in der Luft zu halten. Lt. Becker war zu diesem Zeitpunkt fest entschlossen, das Flugzeug nicht stehen zu lassen. Als er an der englischen Küste ankam, musste er durch eine dünne Wolkendecke abtauchen. Dies erforderte stetige Nerven, um durchzukommen, und er brach bei schlechter Sicht über England aus. Der Funker hatte Notsignale ausgesendet und ihre Position fixiert. Er konnte zwar senden, aber nicht empfangen, da die Flak das Funkgerät beschädigt hatte.

Leutnant Becker steuerte sein Heimatfeld an, aber da er sah, dass er es nicht schaffen würde, wählte er ein etwa 30 Meilen entferntes RAF-Feld aus. Die gesamte Unterseite des Rumpfes war von der Flak getroffen worden, und er war besorgt, dass die Räder abfallen könnten. Die Räder kamen zwar gut runter, und die Klappen funktionierten, aber das Hydrauliksystem war zerschossen, und die Bremsen funktionierten nicht. Beim Endanflug stand der Ingenieur bereit, um die Räder manuell zu überprüfen.

Leutnant Becker machte eine schöne Landung direkt auf dem Ende der Landebahn, obwohl ein Reifen von der Flak durchschlagen wurde. Sie hatten rote Leuchtraketen abgefeuert, und die RAF-Krankenwagen kamen sofort heraus. Der Bombenschütze war vor der Landung an Blutmangel gestorben.

Der Navigator des Führungsflugzeugs A/C Q-229 (Lt. Guy G. Heilman) legte Zeit und Ort des Aussteigens der Männer um 21:21 Uhr bei Beauvais auf einer Höhe von 18000 Fuß fest.

Werbung/Advertisement

Kommentar schreiben