B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 43-37805

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 43-37805

Manufacturer:
Boeing

  • RCL: 4F-A

MACR: 7892 / KU: 2660

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 43-37805

Delivered Cheyenne 23/5/44; Hunter 3/6/44; Dow Fd 27/6/44; Assigned 837BS/487BG [4F-A] Lavenham 28/6/44; Missing in Action Berlin 6/8/44 with Jay Hatfield, Co-pilot: Clarry McGinn, ntg-John Taber, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Dick Conway, Radio Operator: Henry Ong, Ball turret gunner: Cecil Glover, Waist gunner: Chas Jamison,Tail gunner: Joe Kazmouz (8 Prisoner of War); Navigator: Ed Reichel (Killed in Action); flak KO’d #3, crashed Zeitz, N of Calbe-East rlwy st, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 7892.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-37805 Details

From MACR

The following account was written soon after being shot down and captured by the Germans on 6 August 1944; the account concealed during the time spend in Prison Camps; and may therefor be considered accurate:

6 August 1944: Early briefing; one hour delay before usual instrument take-off. Normal assembly above overcast. My position in formation: Deputy leader of High Group. Left England at 12000 feet, climbing over the North Sea to 20000 feet at Helgoland; 23000 feet at the German Coast. Light but accurate Flak from time to time. Two squadrons of ME 163’s (jet jobs) at 12 o’clock, high, about 45000 feet, which hung around but did not attack. Made I.P. on time (1231 hours) at 26100 feet. Observed solid wall of Flak over target, at least 10000 feet thick. We were the third group over and the first two groups disappeared from view in Flak. Informed crew on intercom to check Flak-suits and chutes harness increased rpm to 2350, checked over the engine instruments and CO-2 controls. Started riding into heavy barrage of Flak at 1235 hours.

Bombs away at 1239 hours. Bombardier closed bomb-bay doors; Group-lead started to break to right instead left, as briefed, and thus brought us into heaviest Flak zone. At 1240 a direct hit on #3 engine knocked off #3 prop, which went through the nose of the ship, making large gash. #3 engine was blasing from the cowling; #4 knocked out, prop windmilling, oil all over both engine nacelles. Shut off gasoline to #3 and #4 immediately; Co-pilot, on orders, closed cowl-flaps, pulled CO-2 controls and extinguished flames in #3. Flak hit in pedestal of cockpit, striking me in left shin; knocking out the generator panel, jamming on the alarm bell switch. Direct hit blew all of plexi-glass out of the nose of ship; Bombardier and Nose-gunner left ship at this time, not known if blown out or be bailed out on faulty alarm bell signal. Tail-gunner reported that two chutes opened (at 26000 feet).

Co-pilot’s window smashed, Pilot’s window cracked. Unable to feather #4 as all of oil gone. Prop control cables on #1 and #2 shot away, rpm dropped to 1850. Trim-tab controls shot away, C-1 Autopilot inoperative. Losing altitude rapidly, dropped out of formation, going down about 500 fpm. Compass shot out, headed in general direction of WNW, rest of Crew all at stations. Released excess weight of ship, started to jettison ball-turret, which had been shot out. Realised could not return to base, so decided to get as far away from the target as possible. Half of O-2 shot out, Crew using emergency supplies.

Check on condition of ship showed that half or right stabilizer and elevator gone; top part of rudder gone; large holes in fuselage of ship; Radioman had Flak in left leg, not serious, Crew bandaged him. Right wing-tip gone, all radio out; flaps partially shot away and vibrating in slipstream; right landing gear hanging down; nose of ship starting to buckle and sheets of metal tearing off in the slipstream.

At 10000 feet, more Flak coming up, tried evasive action but unable to shake off the Flak, which was beginning to hit us more frequently. Told crew to stand by to abandon ship. Sent Co-pilot back to waist of ship to check chutes of crew, intercom not operating at this time, and not wishing to take any chance of any of the crew being left in the ship. Co-pilot checked chutes and then lined Crew up in waist compartment, aft. At 6000 feet, I left seat, to give signal to Crew, through the waist tunnel. Ship fell off right wing, throwing me down forward hatch. Climbed back up to flight-deck, gave signal to Crew, and returned to Pilot’s seat to level ship off, again. Crew all left ship from main waist door, at about 4000 feet. Flak very heavy now, #4 engine and wing on fire and ship started to break up.

Headed ship toward open country, feathered #2 engine, put ship in left bank, climbed down through hatch, went forward to nose hatch and stepped out of ship, being hit in the head by Flak at that time. Made a delayed jump, finally pulled rip-cord, was in air about 10 seconds and then landed hard, slightly dizzy, at 1310 hours. Chute canopy dad several holes in it, from ground fire. Ship piled in, about 1500 feet away, and exploded, almost disintegrated. Crew still coming down and landing. Got out of chute and boots, started across the field toward the crew; saw armed civilians had surrounded us, stayed with the crew and surrendered.

Civilians, who had roped, guns, pitchfork, clubs, etc., at that time started knocking the Crew around, and placed a rope in a tree, nearby, making preparations to lynch us. Before this was done, member of Flak battery of the Luftwaffe appeared and took us from civilians.

Jay J. Hatfield
1Lt, Pilot

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-37805 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Jay J. Hatfield POW
CP 2LT Clarence H. McGinn POW
BOMB 2LT Edward Reichel KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Richard F. Conway POW
RO T/SGT Henry Ong, Jr. POW
BT S/SGT Cecil O. Glover POW
WG S/SGT Charles D. Jamison POW
TG S/SGT Joseph Kazmouz POW
TOG S/SGT John D. Taber POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 43-37805

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 43-37805

Hersteller:
Boeing

  • RCL: 4F-A

MACR: 7892 / KU: 2660

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 43-37805

Delivered Cheyenne 23/5/44; Hunter 3/6/44; Dow Fd 27/6/44; Assigned 837BS/487BG [4F-A] Lavenham 28/6/44; Missing in Action Berlin 6/8/44 with Jay Hatfield, Co-pilot: Clarry McGinn, ntg-John Taber, Flight engineer/top turret gunner: Dick Conway, Radio Operator: Henry Ong, Ball turret gunner: Cecil Glover, Waist gunner: Chas Jamison,Tail gunner: Joe Kazmouz (8 Prisoner of War); Navigator: Ed Reichel (Killed in Action); flak KO’d #3, crashed Zeitz, N of Calbe-East rlwy st, Ger. Missing Air Crew Report 7892.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-37805 Details

Der folgende Bericht wurde kurz nach dem Abschuss und der Gefangennahme durch die Deutschen am 6. August 1944 geschrieben; der Bericht wurde während der Zeit, die in Gefangenenlagern verbracht wurde, verdeckt und kann daher als korrekt angesehen werden:

6 August 1944: Frühes Briefing; eine Stunde Verspätung vor dem üblichen Instrumentenabflug. Normale Versammlung bei bedecktem Himmel. Meine Position in der Formation: Stellvertretender Leiter der Hohen Gruppe. Verließ England in 12000 Fuß Höhe und stieg über die Nordsee auf 20000 Fuß bei Helgoland; 23000 Fuß an der deutschen Küste. Von Zeit zu Zeit leichte, aber präzise Flak. Zwei Geschwader von ME 163 (Jet-Jobs) bei 12 Uhr, hoch, etwa 45000 Fuß, die herumhingen, aber nicht angriffen. Schafften es pünktlich zum I.P. (12:31 Uhr) auf 26100 Fuß. Beobachtete massive Flakwand über dem Ziel, mindestens 10000 Fuß dick. Wir waren die dritte Gruppe über dem Ziel, und die ersten beiden Gruppen verschwanden aus dem Blickfeld der Flak. Informierte die Besatzung über Gegensprechanlage, Flakanzüge und Fallschirmgurte zu überprüfen, erhöhte die Drehzahl auf 2350 Umdrehungen pro Minute und überprüfte die Triebwerksinstrumente und CO-2-Steuerungen. Um 12:35 Uhr flogen wir das schwere Flakfeuer.

Um 12:39 Uhr wurden die Bomben abgeworfen. Der Bombenschütze schloss die Bombenschachttüren; der Gruppenführer begann nach rechts statt nach links zu brechen, wie angekündigt, und brachte uns so in die schwerste Flakzone. Um 12:40 Uhr schlug ein direkter Treffer in das Triebwerk Nr. 3 ein und der Propeller brach ab und flog durch den Bug des Schiffes. Motor Nr. 3 schlug von der Motorhaube ab; Motor Nr. 4 schlug aus, die Windmühle des Propellers, Öl auf beiden Motorgondeln. Sofort Benzin bei Nr. 3 und Nr. 4 abstellen; der Co-Pilot schloss auf Befehl die Klappen der Motorhaube, zog die CO-2-Steuerung und löschte die Flammen in Nr. 3. Flaktreffer im Sockel des Cockpits, der mich im linken Schienbein traf; das Generatorpanel wurde herausgeschlagen, der Schalter der Alarmglocke klemmte. Direkter Treffer sprengte das gesamte Plexiglas aus dem Bug des Schiffes; Bombenschütze und Bugschütze verließen das Schiff zu diesem Zeitpunkt, wobei nicht bekannt ist, ob sie rausgeschleudert wurden oder aufgrund eines fehlerhaften Alarmglockensignals abgesprungen sind. Der Heckschütze berichtete, dass sich zwei Fallschirme öffneten (bei 26000 Fuß).

Das Fenster des Kopiloten zerbrach, das Fenster des Piloten zerbrach. Es war nicht in der Lage, Nr. 4 auszufedern, als das gesamte Öl verschwand. Die Propellersteuerkabel an Nr. 1 und Nr. 2 wurden weggeschossen, die Drehzahl fiel auf 1850. Die Trimmklappen-Steuerungen schossen weg, der C-1-Autopilot funktionierte nicht. Verlor rapide an Höhe, verließ die Formation und fiel um etwa 500 fpm ab. Der Kompass wurde weggeschossen, bewegte sich in Richtung WNW, der Rest der Besatzung befand sich an den Stationen. Löste überschüssiges Gewicht des Schiffes ab und begann mit dem Abwurf des abgeschossenen Kugelturms. Da er nicht zur Basis zurückkehren konnte, beschloss er, sich so weit wie möglich vom Ziel zu entfernen. Die Hälfte der O-2 schoss aus, die Besatzung benutzte Notvorräte.

Die Überprüfung des Zustandes des Schiffes ergab, dass das halbe oder rechte Seitenleitwerk und das Höhenruder weg waren; der obere Teil des Seitenruders war weg; große Löcher im Rumpf des Schiffes; der Radioman hatte Flak im linken Bein, nichts Ernstes, die Besatzung verband ihn. Rechte Flügelspitze weg, alle Funkgeräte ausgefallen; Klappen teilweise weggeschossen und vibrierend im Windschatten; rechtes Fahrwerk hängt herunter; Schiffsnase beginnt sich zu beugen und Bleche reißen im Windschatten ab.

Auf 10000 Fuß, als mehr Flak aufkam, versuchten wir auszuweichen, konnten die Flak aber nicht abschütteln, die uns immer häufiger zu treffen begann. Sagte der Besatzung, sie solle sich bereithalten, das Schiff zu verlassen. Schickte den Co-Piloten zurück zur Hüfte des Schiffes, um die Fallschirme der Besatzung zu überprüfen, wobei die Gegensprechanlage zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht funktionierte, und wollte nicht riskieren, dass jemand von der Besatzung im Schiff zurückgelassen wurde. Der Co-Pilot überprüfte die Schirme und reihte die Besatzung dann im Hüftbereich achtern ein. Bei 6000 Fuß verließ ich den Sitz, um der Besatzung durch den Hüfttunnel ein Signal zu geben. Das Schiff fiel vom rechten Flügel und warf mich durch die vordere Luke nach unten. Ich kletterte wieder auf das Flugdeck, gab der Crew das Signal und kehrte zum Sitz des Piloten zurück, um das Schiff wieder auszugleichen. Die Besatzung verließ das Schiff von der Hüfttür aus in etwa 4000 Fuß Höhe. Die Flak ist jetzt sehr schwer, Triebwerk Nr. 4 und Flügel brennen und das Schiff beginnt zu zerbrechen.

Das Schiff steuerte auf offenes Gelände zu, ließ Motor Nr. 2 ausfallen, setzte das Schiff in das linke Ufer, kletterte durch die Luke hinunter, ging vorwärts zur Bugluke und verließ das Schiff, wobei es zu diesem Zeitpunkt von der Flak am Kopf getroffen wurde. Machte einen verspäteten Sprung, zog schließlich die Reißleine, war etwa 10 Sekunden in der Luft und landete dann hart, leicht schwindelig, um 13:10 Uhr. Die Fallschirmkappe hatte mehrere Löcher vom Bodenfeuer. Das Schiff türmte sich in etwa 1500 Fuß Entfernung auf, explodierte und löste sich fast auf. Die Besatzung kommt immer noch herunter und landet. Wir stiegen aus dem Fallschirm und den Stiefeln aus, gingen über das Feld auf die Besatzung zu, sahen, dass bewaffnete Zivilisten uns umzingelt hatten, blieben bei der Besatzung und ergaben uns.

Zivilisten, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt mit Seilen, Gewehren, Mistgabeln, Knüppeln usw. bewaffnet waren, fingen an, auf die Besatzung einzuschlagen, legten ein Seil in einen Baum in der Nähe und trafen Vorbereitungen, uns zu lynchen. Bevor dies geschah, erschien ein Mitglied der Flakbatterie der Luftwaffe und nahm uns von Zivilisten mit.

Jay J. Hatfield
1Lt, Pilot

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 43-37805 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Jay J. Hatfield POW
CP 2LT Clarence H. McGinn POW
BOMB 2LT Edward Reichel KIA
ENG/TT T/SGT Richard F. Conway POW
RO T/SGT Henry Ong, Jr. POW
BT S/SGT Cecil O. Glover POW
WG S/SGT Charles D. Jamison POW
TG S/SGT Joseph Kazmouz POW
TOG S/SGT John D. Taber POW

Kommentar schreiben