B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 44-6861

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 44-6861

Manufacturer:
Douglas

MACR: 13817

Werbung/Advertisement

History of
B-17 44-6861

Delivered Lincoln 4/12/44; Grenier 15/12/44; Assigned 840BS/483BG Sterparone 23/1/45; Missing in Action Fortezza 20/4/45 with Eugene Bissinger, Nations, Shead (3 Prisoner of War); MCGinnis, McDaniel, Kelly, Farrell, Mattatall, Filosena (6 Returned to Duty); Bartman (Killed in Action); flak between # 1 & 2, ditched Mediterranean Sea; Missing Air Crew Report 13817.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6861 Details

Statement of witness from MACR 13817

I was flying Airplane #44-6405 which was #6 in the formation. After bombs away just after closing the bomb doors Airplane #44-6861 dropped back and started to lose altitude. I had to drop down and to the side so I could clear and as I pulled up and to the right there appeared to be gas spraying from the left wing of ship 861. I noticed a hole in his left wing behind #1 engine and midwing of about 6 to 8 inches in diameter. There was no fire and the ship was level and skidding when I las saw it but loosing altitude fast. Gunners observed five (5) chutes almost immediately and two more soon afterwards. The ship was level as they lost sight of it behind the mountains.

Howard G. Schmidt
1Lt, AC
Pilot, #44-6405


Immediately after bombs away at the target at the target this day (20 April 1945) Airplane #44-6861 received a hole through the left wing rear #2 engine. Flame flared under #1 engine around the supercharger with a persistent gray smoke trailing. Airplane #44-6861 dropped back being apparently out of good control for a moment. The ship lost considerable altitude rapidly to the left of the formation. Crew of Ship 257 in the formation was alerted and the tail gunner reported ship 861 was turning slight right, and the smoke from #1 engine turning to black. Tail gunner and bombardier of ship 257 reported seven parachutes opened.

Airplane #44-6861 was last seen flying under control but losing altitude over the alps in a northwest direction from target. Crew on ship 257 reported ship 861 cleared one range of mountains before going out of sight due to haze and turning of formation.

It was undecided whether the parachutes were drifting toward the valley or elevated area.

David O. Crump
2nd Lt, AC


While flying as tail gunner on Airplane #44-6405 on a combat mission, I saw another B-17 (44-6861) come out from under our plane, and it was dropping back and loosing altitude very fast. This was approximately a minute or two after “bombs away”. Deciding that he was in trouble I started watching him. After watching for several minutes I called the ball turret gunner ans asked him to watch the plane because the formation has starting to turn to the left and the plane in trouble was about to pass under us and out of my vision. The plane was approximately eight to ten thousand feet below us, and just as the ball gunner said that he had found the plane, I saw a chute open a little distance behind the plan in distress, and just a second or two later I saw four more chutes open out behind the plane. Then it passed on out of my vision still flying upright but seeming to be skidding to the right.

Sgt. Howard E. Hunt
Tail Gunner, Ship 405

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6861 Crew

Position Rank Name Status Note
P 1LT Eugene T. Bissinger POW
CP 2LT Donald W. McGinnis RTD
ENG/TT T/SGT Willie D. McDaniel RTD
RO T/SGT Francis X. Kelly RTD
BT S/SGT Marvin L.. Mattatall RTD
WG CPL Jack Bartman KIA Killed by civilians
WG S/SGT Edmund T. Farrell RTD
TG S/SGT Peter A. Filosena RTD
TOG S/SGT Lee H. Shead POW

Write comment

B-17 Flying Fortress B-17 44-6861

B-17 Bomber Flying Fortress – The Queen Of The Skies 44-6861

Hersteller:
Douglas

MACR: 13817

Werbung/Advertisement

Geschichte der
B-17 44-6861

Delivered Lincoln 4/12/44; Grenier 15/12/44; Assigned 840BS/483BG Sterparone 23/1/45; Missing in Action Fortezza 20/4/45 with Eugene Bissinger, Nations, Shead (3 Prisoner of War); MCGinnis, McDaniel, Kelly, Farrell, Mattatall, Filosena (6 Returned to Duty); Bartman (Killed in Action); flak between # 1 & 2, ditched Mediterranean Sea; Missing Air Crew Report 13817.

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6861 Details

Zeugenaussage aus MACR 13817

Ich flog das Flugzeug Nr. 44-6405, das in der Formation die Nummer 6 war. Nach dem Abwurf der Bomben kurz nach dem Schließen der Bombenklappen fiel Flugzeug #44-6861 zurück und begann an Höhe zu verlieren. Ich musste nach unten und zur Seite fallen, damit ich mich freimachen konnte, und als ich nach oben und rechts zog, schien es, als ob Treibstoff aus dem linken Flügel von Flugzeug 861 sprühte. Ich bemerkte ein Loch in seinem linken Flügel hinter dem Motor Nr. 1 und dem Mittelflügel von etwa 6 bis 8 Zoll Durchmesser. Es gab kein Feuer, und das Flugzeug war stabil und gleitete, als ich es zuletzt sah, verlor aber schnell an Höhe. Schützen beobachteten fünf (5) Fallschirme fast sofort und zwei weitere kurz danach. Das Flugzeug war stabil, als sie es hinter den Bergen aus den Augen verloren.

Howard G. Schmidt
1Lt, AC
Pilot, #44-6405


Unmittelbar nach dem Abwurf von Bomben auf das Ziel an diesem Tag (20. April 1945) erhielt Flugzeug Nr. 44-6861 ein Loch durch den linken hinteren Flügel des Triebwerks Nr. 2. Die Flamme loderte unter dem Motor Nr. 1 um den Auflader herum mit einem anhaltenden grauen Rauchschleier. Flugzeug #44-6861 fiel zurück, da es offenbar für einen Moment außer guter Kontrolle war. Das Flugzeug verlor links von der Formation schnell beträchtlich an Höhe. Die Besatzung von Flugzeug 257 in der Formation wurde alarmiert, und der Heckschütze meldete, dass sich Flugzeug 861 leicht nach rechts drehte und der Rauch von Motor Nr. 1 schwarz wurde. Heckschütze und Bombenschütze von Flugzeug 257 meldeten sieben geöffnete Fallschirme.

Flugzeug Nr. 44-6861 wurde zuletzt gesehen, wie es unter Kontrolle flog, aber in nordwestlicher Richtung vom Ziel aus Höhe über den Alpen verlor. Die Besatzung von Flugzeug 257 meldete, dass das Flugzeug 861 eine Bergkette überflog, bevor es aufgrund von Dunst und Formationsumkehr außer Sicht geriet.

Es war unklar, ob die Fallschirme in Richtung Tal oder erhöhtes Gebiet drifteten.

David O. Crump
2nd Lt, AC


Als ich als Heckschütze an Bord des Flugzeugs Nr. 44-6405 bei einem Kampfeinsatz flog, sah ich eine weitere B-17 (44-6861) unter unserem Flugzeug herauskommen, und sie fiel zurück und verlor sehr schnell an Höhe. Dies geschah ungefähr eine oder zwei Minuten nach „Bomben weg“. Ich beschloss, dass er in Schwierigkeiten war und begann, ihn zu beobachten. Nachdem ich ihn einige Minuten lang beobachtet hatte, rief ich den Kugelturmschützen und bat ihn, das Flugzeug zu beobachten, weil die Formation begonnen hatte, sich nach links zu drehen, und das Flugzeug im Begriff war, unter uns und aus meiner Sicht vorbeizufliegen. Das Flugzeug befand sich etwa acht bis zehntausend Meter unter uns, und gerade als der Kugelturmschütze sagte, er habe das Flugzeug gefunden, sah ich einen Fallschirm, der sich in einiger Entfernung hinter dem in Not geratenen Flugzeug öffnete, und nur eine Sekunde oder zwei Sekunden später sah ich vier weitere Schirme hinter dem Flugzeug öffnen. Dann verließ es meine Sicht und flog immer noch aufrecht, schien aber nach rechts zu gleiten.

Sgt. Howard E. Hunt
Heckschütze, Ship 405

Werbung/Advertisement

B-17 44-6861 Crew

Position Rang Name Status Bemerkung
P 1LT Eugene T. Bissinger POW
CP 2LT Donald W. McGinnis RTD
ENG/TT T/SGT Willie D. McDaniel RTD
RO T/SGT Francis X. Kelly RTD
BT S/SGT Marvin L.. Mattatall RTD
WG CPL Jack Bartman KIA Killed by civilians
WG S/SGT Edmund T. Farrell RTD
TG S/SGT Peter A. Filosena RTD
TOG S/SGT Lee H. Shead POW

Kommentar schreiben